We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll overpay for a very rustic experience.”
Review of Southern Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sainte Genevieve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southern Hotel
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Room lacked shower. Even though we knew that in advance, it didn't work out well for us. Plus toilet just in the corner of the room.

Noisy a/c in the room. Loud staircases. Thin walls. Knick knack central.

Breakfasts were fine but no options... You get what you get. Wine and cheese happy hour lacked creativity and quality.

Owners nice.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dino201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Southern Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

This charming hotel/B&B is located quite centrally in the charming, quaint town of St Genevieve. The innkeepers are very friendly, relaxed and welcoming. The hotel itself is much nicer in reality than their website suggests. We were very positively surprised. The building is very charming, as are the rooms. Nicely decorated with a lot of emphasis on details, including a family of yellow plastic ducks in the bathtub. The cooked breakfast was delicious, cooked southern-style to perfection. Would highly recommend this place if you are in the area.

There appeared to be no WiFi which is a slight drawback but everything else was great. We could easily park on the street, free of charge.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexanderGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Great stay. Superb innkeepers, gourmet breakfast, wonderful historic rooms right in the historic district. The only thing missing is wi-fi.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthPotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We stayed at the Southern Hotel and enjoyed it very much. Very friendly innkeepers, neat historic hotel, and good food for breakfast. No TV, phones or Internet, which made for a wonderful escape. A beautiful garden behind the hotel, too. The town is quaint, with a couple of good restaurants and an old fashioned ice cream shop within a block or two. A nice, quiet, romantic weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhhoffmann2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Genevieve
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sainte Genevieve
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in Sainte Genevieve
415 reviews
13.5 mi away
Best Western Chester Hotel
24.4 mi away
Crown Pointe Lodge
Crown Pointe Lodge
#3 of 6 in Farmington
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Super 8 Perryville
Super 8 Perryville
#1 of 3 in Perryville
360 reviews
19.9 mi away
Corner George Inn
Corner George Inn
#1 of 1 in Maeystown
30 reviews
20.4 mi away
Days Inn Perryville
Days Inn Perryville
#3 of 3 in Perryville
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Hotel

Address: 146 S 3rd St, Sainte Genevieve, MO 63670-1667
Region: United States > Missouri > Sainte Genevieve
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sainte Genevieve
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing