We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience at the Inn St Gemme Beauvais”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sainte Genevieve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn St Gemme Beauvais
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice experience at the Inn St Gemme Beauvais”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Enjoyed my recent one-night stay at this historic house while touring the area. Stayed in the Marie Louise Room on the 2nd floor - nicely furnished, very comfortable, reasonably priced. Janet, the innkeeper, made me feel most welcome. Didn't try out the wine and cheese hour, but breakfast was delicious -- a number of choices, and you make your selection the night before. The second floor kitchenette was a nice addition, with a full-size refrigerator where I could store items from my cooler. The owners have done a simply awesome job of restoring and updating this house, which had been damaged by fire some years ago. It is beautifully furnished and decorated. It would be nice if the first floor had a general use parlor - the dining area and second floor kitchenette seem to be the only spots for that purpose.

Be sure to tour the old houses in Ste. Genevieve, as the town is rich in pre-1800s history -- also check out the cemetery, where many of the original settlers are buried (French inscriptions on the tombstones). However, the dining options in the small downtown historic area are somewhat limited.

Oh, and a couple of small vases of fresh flowers in the room, too. A nice welcoming touch.

Room Tip: Marie Louise Room is a corner room, large and airy feel. Not sure about other rooms - the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruisin_4_BBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    26
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
93
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lees Summit
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for just one night since the room we wanted was already booked. We stayed in Hunter's Glen which was on the 3rd floor. It was two long flights of stairs to get up there, and it was noticeably warmer than the rest of the house, but the room had it's own air conditioning unit. The room was decent sized, almost like a normal hotel room and the bathroom was big enough. It had a good sized shower but the showerhead didn't move at all, so you couldn't adjust it. I'm 5'4 and it just sprayed in my face. My other complaint about the bathroom was the mirror over the sink was so tiny it was really hard to put on makeup and the mirror in the bedroom was too dark. The bed was very comfortable though and the tv had a built in dvd player. The room was fairly warm, but once you turned the a/c all the way down it got really cool after a while.
The Inn provided a happy hour with wine and cream cheese with jezebel jelly and crackers. They had several different wines to choose from, but neither of us were wine drinkers. The wine was alright the snack was delicious, I've never had jezebel jelly. They also had a little kitchenette area located on the 2nd floor where they had coffee and a fridge and snacks and pop you could purchase for 50 cents. They also had a very big movie selection, lots of brand new movies and older ones. You also got to pick out your breakfast in the morning and they had several options, like stuffed french toast, quiche Lorraine, biscuits and gravy, etc. I picked the quiche Lorraine which was very delicious and you got to pick a bread they made every morning. That day it was apple bread I think with apple butter, it was really good. My boyfriend got the stuffed french toast that had strawberry jam on it. The french toast was stuffed with cream cheese and pecans, and the strawberry jam was just spread on top. It was really rich and the strawberry jam very overwhelming, the french toast was cooked perfectly though.
Over all it was a very nice inn if you're looking for a romantic getaway. Be warned though that St Genevieve doesn't have that many things to do there. There are a bunch of wineries, the little shops they advertise and the art walk were nothing. There were like 6 shops that were open for the art walk and so spread out, not at all what we had imagined. There's only like 3 restaurants in historic downtown including the Inn St Gemme Beauvais.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Charles
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent room it was very clean. The bathroom was updated. The shower big enough for two. The breakfast was excellent. The coffee was also great. The owners were very accommodating. Only downside is the train whistle several times a night and the garden needs some weeds pulled. The location is about 30 minutes from Crown Valley and Chaumette and The Cave wineries. It's worth the drive for the cost savings on the room. Approximately $110. The shops on Main St are fun to browse through

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Heights, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I had an excellent stay at this Inn. We enjoyed how close it was to downtown and the room was very comfortable. I would recommend this to a friend, you will not be disappointed. I'm so glad we choose this inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perryville, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I had an incredible dinner with friends here last weekend. Fantastic French-inspired entrees, salad, dessert and wine/champagne. The atmosphere was perfect!!! It's just the right size for intimate dinners with warmth and charm. We will absolutely be back!!!! If you're looking for something special, this cannot be beat!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Harmony, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Using Trip Advisor ratings, we selected this inn and were not disappointed. Originally the home of a prominent local family (1848) , it is now operated as a B&B. Our midweek experience was fabulous, partially due to the fact that we had the entire inn to ourselves as the only guests that evening and due to the lovely housekeeper/innkeeper/cook (she wears many hats and has been at the inn for years) being a wonderful hostess.

We had fun selecting our room by peeking in at all of them! Each is different, all beautifully decorated. We selected a room on the 2nd floor (Marie Louise) at the front of the house. Being midweek, there was a discount offered. Cheese and wine in the afternoon and breakfast (delicious) in the morning were included. Also on the 2nd floor is a huge DVD library and each room is equipped with a DVD player. Borrow to your hearts content. Back to breakfast - outstanding! 4 courses served in the elegant Victorian dining room, it was a real treat.

The house had a huge fire and burned a few years back, but was restored to perfection on the interior. You cannot tell there was a fire. In September when we stayed, the gardens and exterior of the inn were not "pristine" but were still lovely. ( May be due to the time of year of our visit.)

OTHER COMMENTS: - The inn has a very large parking lot. Across the street is another property also owned and operated by the inn that has beautifully decorated large suites available. Down the street are some nice shops to poke in and out of. The car ferry is an interesting way to arrive into the town, although it is not inexpensive. Ate dinner at The Anvil Restaurant & Saloon. Great casual place, friendly staff. Also visited the historic sites.

Room Tip: All appear to all be lovely. Suites cost more and are larger than regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandoval, IL
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The "tea" was great. The room was wonderful. The wine was good. The one thing I didn't care for but you don't gave to do was supper. Only Fri and Sat nights but it was not very good. I would stay again but eat elsewhere for supper.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebSandoval_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte Genevieve
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sainte Genevieve
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in Sainte Genevieve
390 reviews
13.4 mi away
Best Western Chester Hotel
20.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Perryville
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Crown Pointe Lodge
Crown Pointe Lodge
#3 of 6 in Farmington
72 reviews
21.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sparta
19.8 mi away
Corner George Inn
Corner George Inn
#1 of 1 in Maeystown
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn St Gemme Beauvais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn St Gemme Beauvais

Property: Inn St Gemme Beauvais
Address: 78 N Main St, Sainte Genevieve, MO 63670-1336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Sainte Genevieve
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sainte Genevieve
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Inn St Gemme Beauvais Hotel Sainte Genevieve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing