We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping with the Family was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Montauk State Park

Montauk State Park
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wet a line at one of the Midwest’s premier trout-fishing destinations at Montauk State Park. Located an easy ride from St. Louis, the park’s waters are stocked each night from an on-site hatchery. Want more than day of fishing? Stay overnight at the park’s motel, campground or cabins. Want to do something other than fish? Montauk State Park’s hiking trails will take you in and around the scenic Pigeon Creek basin.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Camping with the Family was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had a family site right on the river! It was beautiful and peaceful until a huge group started setting up across from us. They partied and slammed camper doors till 3am when finally a ranger made them stop. We really didn't know who to call about it either. After that the peace was returned. We where tent camping and had a great time catching trout with our kids and grilling them! Fishing was great!
I do feel like the rangers should make rounds at night to make sure there are no issues like we had.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Cupcaketravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    21
    2
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great trout fishing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I had a great time fishing for trout at Montauk. It is another of the many natural gems and a highlight in a 3 day trip where we enjoyed rivers, springs, shut-ins, small mountains, waterfalls and huge areas of national forest.

The only cost was a daily fishing license with trout tag. We caught 7 Rainbow trout in about 2 hours. Taught a 1st timer how to catch trout and she is hooked on it. The lodge fishing supply store provided great assistance in understanding what bait was meeting with success.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Where memories are made!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I remember coming here when I was a child. Every other weekend, every Easter, it was spent here. I returned here for the first time in 20 years and have been back 10-15 times in the last year! It is exactly as I remember it as a kid! Nothing has changed really except the lodge food not being good at all, but that's ok, we rather cook our own food....and the fact that the staff in the lodge shop and unhelpful and unfriendly. Besides for those 2 things, we would be here every single weekend if we could!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VetTech1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Been there many times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Wonderful scenery and great accomadations. Almost always cool near the river and the camping area is always clean and orderly. The river is usually clean and refreshing to just stand and watch.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean & Cheap Campgrounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

We took our toddler camping for the first time and I was so impressed how clean the place was. The people are super nice & the value was excellent! There's a small restaurant with great food &thy have cheap ice cream for the kiddos! Fishing was fun and right there by our camp. Will go again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandeenben5203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montauk State Park also viewed

 

Been to Montauk State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing