We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonewater Cove Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stonewater Cove Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Shell Knob B&B and Inns
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our family of 4 enjoyed the beautiful resort with all of its water features and the peaceful surroundings during our 5 nt stay. Cameo, Guest Services Mgr, was helpful in assisting with our reservation prior to arrival, returning calls and emails promptly. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite (King size bed in the bedroom and Queen size pullout sofa) which we found to be clean, comfortable, spacious, and well decorated. The unit had an attached deck overlooking the lake and a large bathroom complete with rainfall shower and soaking tub. We received a welcome plate of chocolate chip cookies and chocolates at nightly turndown service. James, the owner, as well as the rest of the staff, Cameo, Adam, and Joe were friendly, gracious, courteous and always available to answer our questions. We enjoyed hiking the two marked trails, canoeing, ATV ranger tour, and fishing off the boat dock and with a professional guide on the lake. The food was fantastic with Joe creating some delicious meals for us, including fish we caught ourselves and the morel mushrooms he harvested from the forest. Breakfast always started off with a fresh fruit plate followed by our choice of a full menu consisting of french toast, pancakes, and multiple egg dishes. Lunch options included sandwiches and salads all prepared fresh and to order. Dinners were 4-course themed affairs such as Island Night, Italian, and BBQ. We were able to enjoy our meals inside the dining room with its hand carved furniture and panoramic view as well as out on the patio. The kids especially enjoyed the game room (chess, checkers, board games), theater room with the oversized beanbags and the bonfire, complete with fixings for s'mores. We didn't have a chance to use the pool, hot tub or bocce ball court. We had a fantastic vacation and would highly recommend Stonewater Cove as a peaceful, relaxing getaway. James and his family found a great location and designed a beautiful resort to go in it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vacation1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I didn't get to stay here because my two phone calls where never returned. I was attempting to gather more information on activities at the resort and left two detailed messages requesting a return phone call. Since no one returned my calls, I chose to spend my money at a different resort in the the Table Rock area. When a resort is charging $535/ night, I would expect extrordinary customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewaterCove, Guest Relations Manager at Stonewater Cove Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Margaret,

We are sincerely sorry that this has happened. Our reservation team returned the only message we received from you on 4/28 and attempted to leave you a voicemail, but it appears as though our attempt to contact you was never received. Please, please accept our apologies and know that we always strive to provide exceptional, extraordinary customer service to every guest and inquiry we receive. I do hope that you will consider returning the call you received today or emailing us at info@stonewatercove.com to let us do our best to change your mind and make up for all of this.

Thank you.

Kindest regards,
Randi Bond & The Staff at Stonewater Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We wanted to get away for a photography weekend and we picked the right place to do it at! We had more than enough landscape, water and nature shots along with being able to do a lot of macro photography along the trails! Everywhere you walked around the resort you could take in the water features and listening to the running water was so relaxing! The food was fantastic and the portions were more than enough! Our room was amazing! The rain shower, the bed, the view! We slept like a king and queen as they were so comfortable. I can’t think of the last time I had such a restful night! The owner took us out on a boat ride and made sure we had more than enough photo opportunities as well as the next morning on an ATV ride showing us all the hidden jewels! The staff was very helpful with our luggage and getting it to our room and making sure our stay was a TEN on a scale of 1 to 10! We are already planning a return trip next year and this time will bring our children, their spouses and our grandkids. If you are planning a vacation or trip to the Table Rock Area – you won’t be disappointed with your stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MORTS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman, Kansas, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Very nice place. The rooms, pool, hot tub, and of course bar, were all very nice. Up until we were ready to check out, the service was great. When checking out it was very difficult to find someone to help with luggage, etc.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Tucked away on a private cove of Tablerock Lake, this luxurious resort offers all the amenities and attention to detail you would expect combined with excellent meals and fantastic activities for all plus a staff whose service is exceptional! You truly have to experience it to believe it!!! We were so blown away that we've already scheduled a vacation for 8 next Labor Day weekend. It is lake vacationing at its absolute finest in a environment where you are totally at peace with nature. For those of you who seek "glamping", search no more!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pondercp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed this past Labor Day long weekend and we must say this resort lived up to it's reputation! The staff was amazing, so friendly and accommodating, my son who is 4yrs even ended up with a man crush on the Owner, James! EVERYONE was awesome! The food was terrific and we ate like Kings! The resort is gorgeous and the landscaping and scenery will blow you away. We went on ATV's and went zip lining! Soooo much fun! Rented a boat and spent the day on the lake, so much fun. The rooms were awesome too, comfy beds and great bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs and wonderful rain shower. Cant say enough, definitely going back with a big group next time! Thanks again!

Room Tip: There is no Fitness center; however, all the outdoor activities you can imagine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLM201304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed for labor day weekend with our two kids. All the other reviews are correct. The resort is a tranquil oasis with beautiful landscaping and fantastic views. We were trying to escape the noise of the city and found that Stonewater Cove truly provided a very quiet retreat. They have put a lot of thought into their grounds and making you feel like you are alone even though there are other resort guests. For instance, there are many small water features which drown out the noise of anyone talking nearby. It truly felt very intimate.

The food was very good. Stonewater Cove has the best all-inclusive food our family has ever eaten. There was plenty of selection. The sunset view from the dining room is staggeringly beautiful. As with the rest of the resort, the service in the dining room was intimate and friendly. The first night for dinner the chef served a blackened catfish salad and a BBQ sampler, both of which were delectable. The second night there was a spinach artichoke dip with crostini, a grilled shrimp caesar salad, and a choice of bacon wrapped filet, hanger steak (? maybe), a third item, and a chicken fried pork chop. Each night also offered a wonderful assortment of desserts, but we chose to make smores at the bonfire and that was really fun! Breakfast included options like chocolate chip pancakes, frittatas, sausage gravy and biscuits, fresh fruit, etc. Lunch items ranged from burgers and fries, to large salads, to quesadillas. The menu for each meal changed each day and items were cooked to order. No lukewarm buffets here! No. The food was fresh and delicious.

Our children had a blast. The pool is very family friendly, although it could use some umbrellas or other shade structures. There is a zero entry area with little water fountains and a small swim-in cave with a waterfall. They also had a small movie theater-like room. When it rained the second day, our kids got to pick a DVD and watch it while we relaxed outside the room (it has windows so you can still see your kids) and read while often gazing at the lake.

My husband got a massage and said it was one of the best he has ever had!

We stayed in a 3-bedroom unit, which was lovely. The beds were very comfortable and the staff made sure we had everything we needed. By the time we left, we were feeling very much "at home." We plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbtravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shell Knob
9.2 mi away
Still Waters Resort
Still Waters Resort
#25 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
13.1 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
5.5 mi away
Port of Kimberling Marina & Resort
Port of Kimberling Marina & Reso...
#1 of 8 in Kimberling City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
The Keeter Center at College of the Ozarks - Lodging
14.6 mi away
The Wilderness Club at Big Cedar
11.5 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewater Cove Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewater Cove Resort and Spa

Property: Stonewater Cove Resort and Spa
Address: 1257 Sunset Timbers Trl, Shell Knob, MO 65747-8213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Shell Knob
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shell Knob
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury lake and wilderness retreat of nearly 500 acres forested foothills. Nestled on the shores of Table Rock Lake, surrounded by Mark Twain National Forest, Stonewater Cove combines tremendous natural beauty and outdoor fun with unbeatable indoor luxury, infused with the natural surrounding environment every step of the way. Book your all inclusive stay (all meals, non-alcoholic beverages, valet parking, wireless Internet, and all non-guided activities) at this remote, boutique getaway for romantic trips, family vacations, corporate retreats, weddings, and family reunions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Stonewater Cove Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing