We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“steak salad not nearly as good as Lone Star; quantity over quality philosophy”

Colton's Steak House & Grill
Ranked #16 of 50 Restaurants in Sikeston
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
680 reviews
517 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“steak salad not nearly as good as Lone Star; quantity over quality philosophy”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My experience at this Colton's was almost identical to what I experienced in Poplar Bluff, which is not surprising given how close these two cities are. I was hoping my experience in Poplar Bluff was an aberrant one, but it was not. This place emphasizes quantity over quality apparently. My steak salad was simply not in the same universe as the steak salad at Lone Star. Likewise, Longhorn has much better food than this place does. The steak in the salad in particular was not nearly as good as the steak at Lone Star and neither was the dressing or anything else. The salad here was larger, however, than Lone Star, but I prefer quality over quantity. Having given this place 2 chances, I won't be returning. The place was quite crowded and noisy and there are peanut shells all over the place as usual. Service was fairly slow, especially when it came time to deliver the check, which frustrates me quite a bit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    29
    10
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lapeer, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steak and shrimp”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I joined to friends at Colton's for a good meal before we set out on a week long bicycle trip out of Sikeston. They recommended it so it sounded good to me. The steak was cooked perfect!! Not to often do I order a steak rare and its cooked that way but it was and it was great!! The shrimp that came along were fantastic as well. I also enjoyed a beer with there bread.

I would go back to this restaurant any day it was wonderful!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clockweights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia MO
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great steak”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Had the small sirloin cooked rare and it was perfect! Had sweet potato fries and the caesar salad. They also bring fresh rolls to the table which were delicious as well. Good food and service!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank COMO1ColumbiaMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Bad service. They seemed to be overwhelmed...but I just think the real problem is bad management. Waitresses kept saying all the help was cut to go home. But the restaurant was pretty full for 3:30. Food was not good. Burger made us sick. Tables remained unbussed the entire time we were there....the restaurant was a mess. Only good point was rolls... But they were pretty late. Different wait staff kept coming to our table, but they did not communicate: asked for unsweetened tea, got sweet. Asked for one ticket, got 2. It was just a mess. Don't waste your time. And believe me, it took a long time...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank texastravler77302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant, portiions are just HUGE !”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Went there with a group of friends from Canada and we were all impressed with the portions. Every thing was fresh, good salads and I ordered the ribs, well I NEVER had such a big portions in my life Had to bring half of my plate home. Very good service, amicable, serviceable, very enthusiastic, and the staff was quick on their feet to serve our drinks etc. Excellent all and all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colton's Steak House & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Colton's Steak House & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing