We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of New York City in the midwest”

Justus Drugstore A Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Smithville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A piece of New York City in the midwest”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Justus drugstore is the only 5 star restaurant in the Kansas City area. The chef has an incredible talent for combining ingredients, flavors and textures to make fabulous dishes. It is not a place to go to eat then see a movie. The dining experience IS the movie. You will be there for several hours. There is no rushing nor attempts to turn over the tables. It is a great place to go with good friends and you will enjoy being able to leisurely converse. Reservations are required unless you are eating on the patio which has a completely different vibe and much more casual menu. If you are fortunate enough to live in Kansas City or travel there, this is a must!

Helpful?
Thank cjess1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    25
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting reservation policy”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

For parties of more than 4 you can only choose between a 5:30 and 8:30pm for reservation times, which wouldn't work for most people. I think for the price you should be able to eat (their delicious food) when you choose!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Justus Drugs can be a little slow but the food is generally good.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The title says it all. The restaurant does a good job of offering local products that are well prepared to order. Mark and Michelle.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markbryants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I've had the pleasure of dining here three times. Service is awesome, food is even better. While I have never before knowingly ingested many of the ingredients mentioned on the menu, they work incredibly well together. I've also read the KC Star's reviews and they seem to share my opinion. This is what I would call a destination dinner - worth a two hour drive each way just for dinner out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia MO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Back for another visit, and we'll be back again”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We've made it a point to go there occasionally for several years. It just keeps getting better.

The chicken "sausage" on the menu now is brilliant. It still emphasizes local ingredients, creatively prepared. A destination to be sure.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gus43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Justus Drugstore A Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Justus Drugstore A Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing