We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi”
Review of Mijuri

Mijuri
Ranked #82 of 680 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Republic, Missouri
Level Contributor
149 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Whenever I get a chance to take out my daughter, this is where she picks. She loves the tempura shrimp roll. And we always ask our server for recommendations. Everything we've tried has been great. Our server today was excellent. We've always had good service and have enjoyed the sushi.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joewilk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    15
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolivar, MO
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I've eaten here multiple times. The sushi is great. The service is terrible. My most recent visit was on 8/2/13 because our 10 year-old daughter loves the lunch bento boxes.

My daughter and I ate at Mijuri in the spring. The restaurant was short-staffed. Our waiter informed me that I really should have made a reservation because of the Groupon offer they were (and still are) running. This confused me because the restaurant wasn't full, just busy, and I didn't have to wait for a table. He was extremely rude and the service was very slow.

On my most recent visit in August, we ended up leaving. We went to Mijuri at lunch time and were seated in less than 5 minutes. There seemed to only be two waiters for the two rooms of the very busy restaurant. There were at least 5 empty tables sitting unbussed.
We were given menus and promptly ignored for 15 minutes. No wait staff ever approached our table. However, the two waiters did bicker between themselves in front of the customers and attempt to bus tables in between half-way attending to their customers. About 10 minutes in, I noticed a waiter finally take the order of a table that had no drinks. I thought that surely we were next to be acknowledged. Five minutes later, the waiter appeared (still without drinks for the table that had just ordered) and began bussing a table.

At that point, I informed my family that we were leaving. I'm not going to pay that kind of money and be expected to tip to be ignored.

As we walked past the hostess stand, the two waiters were bickering with the hostess. None seemed to notice that we were leaving without being served. Perturbed, I waited until the hostess was free to tell her that no one ever acknowledged us. She just stared at me with her mouth agape and then turned her back on me.

And, thus, I would not give Mijuri another try if it were the last restaurant on earth.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best sushi and service in Springfield”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

I absolutely love this place! Moving to Springfield, I had to find sushi and this was the best place

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wereontheroadagain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food and Atmosphere A++++”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Yummy yummy food and a wonderful atmosphere. We loved the Samurai roll. There are also some unusual sushi rolls that I had never had that are very good! Will definitely be back ( :

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wereontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Nice little sushi joint on the south side of town. Competitively priced and fresh fish! Can't go wrong stopping here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taylor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mijuri also viewed

 

Been to Mijuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing