We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Winning Move, Inc.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Winning Move, Inc.”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We have stayed at this motel on three different occasions and will NEVER stay again. Each time we stayed we had to be moved from our room to another for some reason. The front desk staff is great and very helpful. However, the housekeeping staff is the worst we have ever encountered. On our last visit both rooms had not been dusted or vacuumed and the bathroom floor was dirty and in the first room the sink drain was broken and the water just ran on the floor. Dirt on the tile floor was there on our check-in date and was still there two days later on check-out. We can certainly understand problems come up, but this was and has been ridiculous. Once burned twice cautious should have been our rule because the third time caused us to be torched. The discount of one night was too little too late.

Room Tip: The Manager changed in October, but I would wait to stay here because changes definitely need to occ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Wayne P,

Thank you for the review of our property. I am highly disapointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are making many different changes here, and training is our number one priority. Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience. I would like to discuss the issues you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    40
    15
    15
    23
See reviews for
45
27
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Wonderful breakfast. Clean, comfortable rooms with expanded cable. The staff was very helpful and attentive to the guest needs. Thank you jerry, jesse, natilie and patricia. You guys are great. I would reccomend booking here anytime.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Jason W.,

Thank you so much for the great review you submitted. The staff and I are trying our hardest to make sure each and every guest is completely satisfied. With your wonderful review we can spread the word to other potential guests. Thank you again, and we look forward to greeting you with a smile the next time you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Plains, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This hotel has been remodeling and is about done. It was very nice and we enjoyed our stay. I was surprised at how handicap friendly the hotel was. It even had a lift chair at the pool. The only disappointment was the breakfast. It needed someone to clean up the mess.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Dear Gloria K,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We here at the Lamplighter Inn and Suites South offer an economical room, and our staff are always available to offer helpful hints concerning our lovely city. We look forward to hosting you on next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clever, Missouri, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This was my first stay here, and my friend and I had a wonderful time! From the moment I spoke to Collen to make the reservation til the time we checked out we were treated well and greeted with smiles. Will be back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review, we here at the Lamplighter South are always glad to provide excellent service to our customers. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is the closest hotel to the Mercy Hospital in Springfield and is conveniently located to restaurants and shopping. It is very inexpensive as they have various discounts including hospital patient visitors, AAA, etc. Although it is dated, it is certainly a great value. The staff was friendly and helpful and having a restaurant with great food connected was a definite plus! We stayed for 10 days and were quite satisfied with both rooms that we were using. There was a fridge, microwave, and coffee pot in each room as well as free wi-fi available. There is also a free washer and dryer on the 2nd floor landing that saved us money during our stay.

Beware however, there is a strip club directly next door. We initially drove on past the hotel for that reason and came back due to its proximity to the hospital, but it was never an issue for us during our 10 day stay.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms in the center overlooking the pool are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodge4x4rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear Valued Patron,
Thank you for superb comments. We here at the Lamplighter Inn and Suites South try to make each guests stay memorable and affordable. We welcome all guest reviews here on Trip Adivsor and hope to provide a good reference point for future guests wishing to stay here at the iconic Lamplighter Inn and Suites. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Located next to one of the worst strip clubs in town, this hole has gotten progressively worse over the years... However, you could always look to the people that do the work. Unless it's the current property manager and General manager. After I tried to explain that the hallway doors, next to the rooms were still slamming at night and in the morning, after two years, they all but asked me to leave. Being woken up at 3am to slamming doors while Mother was in the ICU might have made me a bit cranky...

Bottom line, I've been staying at this location since 1986. I will never return! By the way, we ended up stay at the Residence Inn (More cash) two rooms for 3 weeks!

Sorry to say good bye!

Room Tip: Stay away from the hallways and stairwells!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vince V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Valued Lodger,

Thank you so much for your insightful comments. As you stated we are a tradition here for many people coming to Springfield. As a Springfield icon, located in the heart of the city center, we strive to make each guests stay as pleasant as possible and aim to provide value with comfort. We are currently undergoing an entire renovation to the hotel, and take each guest complaint seriously. If you decide to give us another opportunity to host your next visit, please feel free to contact me directly. Thank you again for taking time out of your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Springfield hotels

Clinton, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I have stayed here about 10 nights over the last year and it has steadily gone down hill. Rooms are not cleaned very well, no TV remote in room. When I sent in the card stating problems I never heard from them. The 1st card I had in the room and the housekeeping staff took it so I filled another out and mailed it from home.

Room Tip: If you do not smoke request a room in the nonsmoking wing as the whole hallway where I stayed smelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norkat87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I hope you can accept my apologies for any inconveniences you experienced. Our ultimate goal is to provide our guests with a comfortable and delightful stay. If there is anything I can do please feel free to contact me at the hotel. We hope that when you are in town again you will decide to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
4.5 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites North
Lamplighter Inn & Suites North
#36 of 49 in Springfield
204 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arbor Suites At The Mall
Arbor Suites At The Mall
#39 of 49 in Springfield
101 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arbor Suites Medical Mile
Arbor Suites Medical Mile
#34 of 49 in Springfield
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Coach House
Best Western Plus Coach House
#12 of 49 in Springfield
786 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
#19 of 49 in Springfield
751 reviews
5.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplighter Inn & Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Inn & Suites South

Property: Lamplighter Inn & Suites South
Address: 1772 S Glenstone Ave, Springfield, MO 65804-1508
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamplighter Inn & Suites South 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South is conveniently located in the heart of Springfield. Our hotel offers quality accommodations at an affordable price. All rooms come furnished with a firm king or two queen size beds. We offer a free hot breakfast, free wi-fi, free local calls and free parking. All rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. Ziggy's Restaurant & Lounge is located on our property and is open 24 hours and provides room service till 10 p.m. ADA rooms are also available for guests. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, Lamplighter Inn & Suites South will always welcome you with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lamplighter Inn & Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing