We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“affordable clean quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
High Ridge, Missouri
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“affordable clean quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

It more than met our needs. The breakfast was great...sausage gravy & biscuits, waffles, scrambled eggs, hash brown along with the typical cereal, bagels, coffee & OJ. The pool was sparkling clean as were the sheets and towels! If you have problems with the internet connection in your room, let the front desk know and they will reboot the system for you! The location was convenient to so much of what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdelbruegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily B, Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
I am so delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable! Our staff takes pride in providing the best possible service to our guests. We look forward to see you on your next visit to the Springfield area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    36
    15
    15
    20
See reviews for
42
26
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lamplighter for 3 nights. We had a family member in CCU at Mercy Hospital. When I went in to rent the room the desk clerk was very pleasant. So asked me if there anything she could do. I told her my situation and food and a bed for us to sleep in. Next morning the desk clerk wished us good luck. This is how they were the whole stay. Very concerned and helpful. The restaurant thats there is great to. They breakfast at the hotel was excellent. I mean it was just as good as my favorite restaurant in my home town. I will definately stay again. I cant say enough good things about this place. Everything was PERFECT. Its a 5 star at a affordable price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alj1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily B, Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a glowing review during such a tough time for your family! We hope things have turned around for the better. We strive to make everyones stay as hospitable as possible. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Springfield, but hopeful on different circumstances. Let us know if there is anything else we can do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here on a weekend. Front desk service was very good. The rooms and furnishings are a are little dated. The public areas could use an update as well. Room was clean and comfortable overall. Decent value. Would stay again for the rate, but would not want to pay much more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norsemenboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily B, Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and giving us useful feedback on how we can improve. We are currently making improvements to the property and will continue to do so throughout the year. We will be installing flat screen televisions, adding an outdoor jacuzzi by the courtyard pool, and renovating the entryway to the lobby! We hope to see you again during your next visit to the Springfield area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catawissa, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Rooms are nice, the staff is great. Better than several hotels in Springfield that charge twice the price. 24 hour restaurant on site, pool, great location. Convenient for bowlers going to the Ozark Open

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STLCardsFan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily B, Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
We are glad that you had a wonderful experience during your last stay at our property! We strive to give the best service possible, and maintain affordable rates while providing great amenities like our 24 hour restaurant and courtyard pool. Our location is centrally located giving easy access for the Ozark Open competitors. Thanks for your excellent review of our property and we can't wait to see you again on your return to the Springfield area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We came here for a business trip and my co-workers, and I, were put in a smoking room which was great because we all smoke anyways. When we got to our first room it was great, but didn't have a TV that was able to hook up to any devices. Alexis and Lindsay were very happy to help us. They found us another room on the same floor with a better TV, and it was only 2 doors down from our room! It was great! The staff here is very friendly, but Lindsay and Alexis helped make our stay a better experience with their hard work!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anewman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily B, Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
I am very pleased that the customer service my staff provided went above and beyond to make your stay at our property enjoyable. We are currently in the process of updating several areas within the hotel. In the near future we will be putting flat screen televisions in all the rooms, and we will have an outdoor jacuzzi by the courtyard pool! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property, and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Springfield area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I have stayed at other motels in Springfield before, all of which were associated with a big named chain. The problem with these places is that they are all overpriced: you pay 4-star rates for a 3-star room. My room at the Lamplighter was just as clean, just as quiet, just as comfortable, and had just as many amenities (if not more) than the others, but the rate was only about 60% of what I paid at the other places. The staff is outstanding: friendly, professional, and caring. They strive to make your stay there perfect. The complementary breakfast puts those found at the competition to shame. There's an extensive variety of breakfast items, and the hot items are truly hot, not lukewarm. Most important, there is plenty of seating in the large breakfast area, which is not always the case in other properties. The next time I visit Springfield, I will definitely stay at the Lamplighter instead of staying at the places with the much higher rates.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the courtyard/pool. Soom rooms face the parking areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear John C.

My staff and I want to thank you for your wonderful review. Having wonderful guests like you helping us spread the word about our property and our "service with a smile" helps us tremendously. We are glad that you chose us for your lodging needs and will welcome you back anytime you are in Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a Memorial of Life gathering for a very special classmate that died in November. The Lamplighter was the perfect place due to the location and friendly staff. We had stayed before while visiting Springfield.I called months ago reserving the banquet room and explained why i needed it. The management was so kind and supportive. They set the room with the tables exactly how we wanted offering suggestion and kitchen supplies we forgot. They were right there answering any question that came up. The day went perfect thanks to everyone helping. The lamplighter has been on the corner for years with a wonderful reputation for their service.It may not be the newest place to stay but you can not beat the staff or the famous cafe next door open 24 hours a day. They even gave us a discount on the banquet room. thank you again for the perfect day. Diana T.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexanderandmarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry T, General Manager at Lamplighter Inn & Suites South, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Diana,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We were honored to host your event. As always, we feel the way to our guests hearts is to provide excellent customer service. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
4.5 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites North
Lamplighter Inn & Suites North
#36 of 49 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arbor Suites Medical Mile
Arbor Suites Medical Mile
#32 of 49 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.6 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arbor Suites At The Mall
Arbor Suites At The Mall
#39 of 49 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Coach House
BEST WESTERN Plus Coach House
#13 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 49 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplighter Inn & Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Inn & Suites South

Property: Lamplighter Inn & Suites South
Address: 1772 S Glenstone Ave, Springfield, MO 65804
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamplighter Inn & Suites South 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South is conveniently located in the heart of Springfield. Our hotel offers quality accommodations at an affordable price. All rooms come furnished with a firm king or two queen size beds. We offer a free hot breakfast, free wi-fi, free local calls and free parking. All rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. Ziggy's Restaurant & Lounge is located on our property and is open 24 hours and provides room service till 10 p.m. ADA rooms are also available for guests. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, Lamplighter Inn & Suites South will always welcome you with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lamplighter Inn & Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing