We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accomodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamplighter Inn & Suites South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South
Ranked #40 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent an evening in Springfield recently and overnight at the Lamplighter Inn and Suites South. The facility is very pleasant, kept clean and is easy to get to. While we didn't use the pool I noticed that they have a handicap lift for accessing the pool, which is a very nice touch.

Our room, a king, non-smoking, was very comfortable and exceptionally clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    35
    15
    15
    18
See reviews for
40
26
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Smola Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst travelling through Springfield.
As we were not going to spend much time in our room, we chose what was affordable and had great reviews regarding cleanliness.

Pros:
-Clean
-Comfy beds
-Easy access
-Welcoming FO staff
- Free parking, wifi and breakfast
-Affordable
-Even though our room faced the streets, we slept well.
-Not smelly like other similar hotels we have stayed in.



Cons:
-Looks a bit outdated
-Noisy A/C


In other words, it met our criterias: It's affordable and clean!

Make sure to visit Jimm's Steakhouse up the street. It'll be one of the best steaks you've ever had.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LindamariH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The room was clean. The hotel is going through some remodeling, but it was fairly easy to negotiate around the areas being remodeled. The hotel has a central location so getting around is easy. The check-in process went fairly quickly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Todd V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

While the outside looks new, the inside is grimy and worn with obvious dirt ground into the carpets in all corners and on the steps in the stairwells and along baseboards also in the rooms. The rooms are suitable only for a quick overnight stay and not for the enjoyment of the room itself. While the bedding seemed clean, the overwhelming "dirtyness" of the walls and floors did not inspire confidence. The other factor in a less than positive experience was the neighbor business less than 20' away on the same lot sharing a parking lot also was a "Cabaret" that was not much more than a slightly prettied up strip club. The "clients" coming and going from the club made a trip to the parking lot at night quite uncomfortable for a woman and kids. Had we known this neighboring business was so close, we would have chosen a hotel in a different location. While the staff was friendly, the environment of the hotel and close area was not. Will not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoJeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Springfield hotels

Arkansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

The motel was clean in all public areas as well as our room. Check in was quickly handled by a friendly desk clerk. The lobby, public rooms, and our room were all quiet and we heard no noise coming from anywhere the entire time we stayed. The room was standard was roomy with two comfortable beds. A big plus for me was the beds were a normal height and not on huge frames which make it difficult for those in wheelchairs to transfer onto. (One bed rooms would make it easier for those of us in wheelchairs, but the hotel did not have any). The room was equipped with a refrigerator, coffeepot and hairdryer. The bathroom was large enough to maneuver a power wheelchair throughout. There is just a standard pedestal sink with no cabinet top to lay anything down. There is a free basic breakfast of eggs, sausage, gravy, cinnamon rolls, toast, fruits and pastries in the lobby. There is also an adjoined café which served reasonable good meals also.
If you are looking for a basic, clean room with everything you need at a very good price this is the place to stay. We were not disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I'll stay here once a week and I could not be happier with the service convenience and location I recommend anyone coming through Springfield MO

the restaurant downstairs is very good too.

-Richard C.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

WARNING!! This hotel practices classic 'BAIT and SWITCH' tactics! We agreed to an 'Express Deal' on Priceline for a 2 STAR room, but were instead shown a room that was '1 STAR' (if even that). Staff told us that Priceline customers always get this treatment because "They pay so little".

Yes, the price of the Express Deal was low, but if we knew that we were going to have to sleep in a sub-standard 1 Star room we would have NEVER taken the deal. By the way, we had spent the weekend before in Richardson, TX, in a 2 Star room (also a Priceline Express Deal). It was very nice and we only paid a few dollars more than for the Lamplighter.

We only got assigned to a partially renovated room (it met the standard of a 2 Star room) after we insisted that management talk to us (that took a lot of doing). We were repeatedly told that this treatment of Priceline customers (treating them as second class) was a directive handed down from 'corporate management'. This is WRONG! We have used Priceline to book hotels dozens of times and have never encountered this kind of discrimination before. BEWARE!

Room Tip: If you are coming from Priceline you will be put into an old, dated room. INSIST that management kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
4.6 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites North
Lamplighter Inn & Suites North
#36 of 49 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
#19 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arbor Suites At The Mall
Arbor Suites At The Mall
#42 of 49 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 49 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arbor Suites Medical Mile
Arbor Suites Medical Mile
#33 of 49 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplighter Inn & Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Inn & Suites South

Property: Lamplighter Inn & Suites South
Address: 1772 S Glenstone Ave, Springfield, MO 65804
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamplighter Inn & Suites South 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamplighter Inn & Suites South is conveniently located in the heart of Springfield. Our hotel offers quality accommodations at an affordable price. All rooms come furnished with a firm king or two queen size beds. We offer a free hot breakfast, free wi-fi, free local calls and free parking. All rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. Ziggy's Restaurant & Lounge is located on our property and is open 24 hours and provides room service till 10 p.m. ADA rooms are also available for guests. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, Lamplighter Inn & Suites South will always welcome you with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Lamplighter Inn & Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing