We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 out of 2 rooms had a "moldy" smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The price was high for what we were given especially considering that we were slapped in the face, twice, with rooms that had an odor. We cancelled our stay and checked in at a LaQuinta for $70 less per night without a considerable loss in quality. We expected more from the Hilton brand.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Brandi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry to see that you had such a poor experience during the time you were here. We are, of course, inspecting those rooms to see what might have caused them to have the problem you mentioned. I would love to speak with you a bit about your experience so we can make sure it is addressed properly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

A mere 50 yard walk to the premier Farmer's market of the Ozarks, this HGI is the bar for other hotels in this area. Experienced, stable staff means you feel Welcome every time. Easy access from I-44, 65, 360. The nature center is a jewel for the novice walker or experienced trail boss.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank MARK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm happy to see that you had a great time during your stay with us. The Nature Center is an amazing place to go visit, and it is only about a mile down the road from our front doors. You should see it in the spring when all of the Dogwood trees are in full bloom. I hope the next time you visit the area you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Situation: I moved my family (wife and three small children, to include an infant, and pet cat) from Ft. Lewis, WA, to Ft. Benning, GA. I stayed at 10 hotels during this move, looking for a pet-friendly suite w/kitchenette and a separate bedroom whenever possible.

Pros: Mattress, room cleanliness, room size, décor/construction of the hotel
Cons: Showers, room lighting, value, "green" friendly policies that put guests second.

Out of all the hotels we stayed at, this was the most expensive per night, and had the least free amenities. Many of the less expensive hotels we stayed at offered free washers/dryers and breakfast, this one did not. They were quick to point out their environmentally-friendly policies, apparently to explain why you needed to pay through the nose while also sacrificing your comfort for the evening to save the planet (see below).

The mattress was firm (which I like) and was the best of the trip and the highlight of this stay. I believe it was memory foam or similar. The pool was indoor and average, and had the cloudiest water of the pools we used during the trip. The décor and construction, esp. of the lobby area, was beautiful, but you're paying for it, trust me.

The showerheads and sink worked poorly (less water, but it takes longer to get clean or fill a glass). When I first entered the room and turned on the ceiling light, it was as though I had only lit a candle. The toilets seemed to be the only 'green' fixtures that still worked at the level of 'non-green' fixtures. They certainly didn't pass their energy savings on to you the guest either, this was an expensive hotel that had no free laundry rooms or complimentary breakfast. Their numerous "hybrid vehicle" parking spaces were insulting and discriminatory. Sorry my big family full of small children, who want to bathe, defecate, and see in the dark, is unfriendly to the environment and also doesn't warrant a parking space close to the door. I didn't have the time to discuss my dislike of this hotel w/ the front desk clerk (and really, what good would it have done?), so I only mentioned my dislike of the showers to her when checking out. She replied it was to get some sort of 'green' certification. The Hilton Garden Inn can have it's certification, but they certainly won't get my business again.

Room Tip: Pick a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We do take a lot of pride in our Gold LEED certification, but we sincerely do everything in our power to keep those features from impacting our guests. I would love to discuss the features you mentioned in greater detail with you. I look forward speaking with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stopped here during our route 66 tour. Really clean and staff welcoming.
The room was a lot better than we expected, as was the managers reception where free food and wine is on offer between 5 and 7.
Laundry room available as well as lots of shops within easy reach.

Thank you for having us

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm happy to see that you had a great time during your stay with us. I hope you had a great time on your trip down Route 66. If you ever pass through the area again we hope you will choose to stay with us a second time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Hilton Garden provided a nice oasis in south Springfield. The staff were friendly and professional and the building clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the room quiet. The location was just a few minutes from shopping with two restaurants within walking distance. Nice pool, though I didn't use it. In-room internet was good as was the food pantry just off the lobby. All in all a very nice home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm happy to see that you had a great time during your stay with us. I hope the next time you visit the area you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is new but is nothing special. For the money I would not stay, $179. There is no continental breakfast. For that price the made to order breakfast should be included. The hotel is very noisey, doors are loud and you can hear people above you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm sorry to see that we failed to meet your expectations. I would love to talk to you about your experience and some options that include breakfast in the room rate. Please feel free to contact me when you have a little bit of time. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in a suite that had a King-size bed and full bathroom separated by a door from a living room (pull-out sofa) and half bath. The full bath was completely accessible to our son who uses a wheelchair. Probably the best we've seen. The hotel is very nice and the staff goes out of their way to make your stay comfortable. My husband stays there probably 3-6 nights a month on business and I've stayed there twice before and we've always been impressed. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Hilton has a pretty good rewards program if you find yourself staying often. Not just from an earni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripleh8298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Springfield, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our hotel. I'm happy to see that you had a great time during your stay. Our Accessible King Suites are huge, and the bathrooms are designed to be easy and convinent to use. I hope the next time you visit the area you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
7.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
7.4 mi away
Oasis Hotel and Convention Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Springfield
Residence Inn Springfield
#15 of 51 in Springfield
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#12 of 51 in Springfield
766 reviews
5.2 mi away
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Medical District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Springfield

Address: 4155 S Nature Center Way, Springfield, MO 65804-4287
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Springfield
#2 Business Hotel in Springfield
#9 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#10 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: £78 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Springfield 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing