We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nathanael Greene/Close Memorial Park

Nathanael Greene/Close Memorial Park
Ranked #1 of 78 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I love this place. I try to get there spring summer and fall because its always different. They are always adding specimans and it's so beautiful. Its fun for kids becuase there are places to play all through the park. It's great for old and young alike because they have a tram on weekends with a narrated tour so everone can enjoy if they are not up to walking. The only thing missing they really should add is a coffee shop or a place to buy sandwiches.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    41
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southwestern MO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful facility and grounds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went to the kite festival here where there was ample room for vendors, activity tables, and kite-flying. A beautiful open field area with lots of room for the kids to run and launch their kites. The building houses a gift shop, clean restrooms, and has an open roof where the activity tables were located. There were beautiful displays of art inside the building. A tram took us from this area down to the Mizumoto Japanese Stroll Garden.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy2Rove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ava, MO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great park for all ages & all seasons.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I love this park! There is a gorgeous mosaic on the path to the lake. The flowers are lovely. There are pavilions, picnic tables, wide open spaces & intimate nooks. Peaceful sums it up.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank swimswthefishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice park for younger kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We visited this park with our 3 and 6 year olds. They had a great time on the playgrounds. The park is fairly barren in the winter but the botanical center building is open. The gardens are brown. The butterfly house is warm weather only. The pond was even drained. I'm sure it is pretty in the summer. The big kids would be bored.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank darylreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a beautiful park. Walk around the lake with the kids or run/bike on the Greenway trails that connect. It's a great place to spend a few hours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yonni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nathanael Greene/Close Memorial Park also viewed

 

Been to Nathanael Greene/Close Memorial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing