We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see!”
Review of Fantastic Caverns

Fantastic Caverns
Ranked #3 of 82 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover the timeless beauty of Fantastic Caverns, one of the earth's rarest treasures. There are only four of its' kind in the entire world, and only one in North America. Here, you'll discover one of the world's most beautiful natural wonders; giant columns stretching from floor to ceiling, delicate soda straws glistening with minerals, tiny cave pearls hidden in crystal-clear water. And best of all, you'll see it close-up from the comfort of a Jeep-drawn tram!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Springfield, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must see!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you want to see whats going on you simply must go underground! These caverns are besutiful snd still natural not glitzed up like so many touristy caves. You tide through but they take plenty of time so you can really see it. Everyone is downhome friendly. Ask about teacher discounts!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leone656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    346
    146
    33
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool way to spend a hot day.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic way to spend a hot day. Ride-thru, handicap-accessible cave discovered by WOMEN. Neat gift store for the kids to browse while waiting for your tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GmaRuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fun way to see caverns!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our family has enjoyed caverns before, but going through in the trailer of a jeep was definitely unique! My kids loved watching their heads for the low hanging formations and laughed when they would "rain" on us. There were some beautiful areas, and I enjoyed hearing the history of the cavern itself - how it was discovered, how it has been used since, etc.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kinda cool but tight squeeze at times”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

If I didn't know better, I swear that the tour guide tried to hit our heads on the rocks on purpose! Otherwise it's just kind of a cool cave tour but not the first cave I've been in.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank blackstarryskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“LOVED IT! TOTALLY WILL GO AGAIN!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

WE LOVED IT!!!! Cave was cool, beautiful, interesting and our tour guide was awesome! A must visit if visiting in MO. If you get cold easy, bring a light jacket.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaylean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fantastic Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Fantastic Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing