We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is a nice hotel with friendly staff. Upon booking this hotel, I like others read the numerous reviews previous lodgers had written. It is amazing how nit picky people can be, if you want a four star stay at a four star. We booked at $109 a night but when the clerk noticed that my husband was a fireman he gave us a lower rate. The room was clean. We do not go on vacation to stay in the room. Love that Hammon Field is right across the street because the reason we went to Springfield was to go to the game. Did not eat breakfast there, plenty of very delicious restaurant in the area. Don't complain of the food there because it is free.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear LaraF:

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! Thank you for such a wonderful review!

We hope you come back and see us soon! Next time you make a reservation, be sure to ask for the same rate you had during your recent stay. We will be happy to honor that for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

This facility is beautiful and well maintained. The rooms are nice and comfortable. The two issues that we had were one, that there was NO parking due to a Cardinal ballgame going on in close proximity and they allowed the game goers to use said parking lot. The game was in 16 innings at midnight when we returned to Motel, and finally one or two spaces available. Second, the breakfast was not good at all. The biscuits and gravy were not even warm and the wasn't any fruit at all. The person maintaining the breakfast was nice and friendly but swept something off the floor with her hands and they went about cleaning up around the food area. So, that being said. I love the fact that this hotel is downtown and there's lots to do, however, these two things could put a damper if you cannot park when arriving and you are counting on eating the breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Kelly1639:

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us! We have since solved the parking problem and we do apologize for that incovenience. We know that was frustrating to our guests..

We are sorry our breakfast wasn't up to our standards. We have spoken with our breakfast attendant regarding these issues.

We hope you do come back and see us! Thank you again! We do take the feedback we get seriously and appreciate it very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed here on the first weekend in May when I brought my son from Texas to attend a prom at MSU. The lobby area of the hotel is nice. Our room was as specified; however, there was a towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door that appeared to have been left behind by housekeeping from a previous guest. Hotel is walking distance to a couple of fast food restaurants and a Walgreens. The complimentary breakfast was typical for Holiday Inn Express and included cinnamon rolls, sausage, eggs, cold cereal, instant oatmeal, breads, and juice. I try to eat healthy and I had a boiled egg with a piece of toast

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear CindyP:

Glad to hear you had a good stay with us! We apologize for the towel hanging on the door and I did address that with housekeeping.

We hope you come back and see us soon! Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This Holiday Inn had wonderful decor. The room was clean, and quiet. No refrigerator. The first night we did not have any airconditioning. The maintence man fixed it the next morning, then it was just perfect. The breakfast was ok. Would like to have had fresh fruit and more choices, but at least it was free. The location was perfect for the weekend we had planned. I am glad we still had a room when we arrived because the woman before me did not get her suite and had to settle on 2 rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisters2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Sisters2012-12:

Thank you for staying with us on Memorial Weekend. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nites on business. The location was perfect and the room looked really good. However, during that time my bed was made one time because I REQUESTED IT. I did get fresh towels every day but only one day did they take out my trash. Never did they clean floor, replace "paper" cups, the pool and spa were closed, the one and only luggage cart had a flat tire (however a very nice young lady helped my in with my stuff) The topper was on my last day, as I was packing I picked up a pillow and there was a roach in my bed!!!!! Did anyone really act like they cared??? Did they try to make amends??? Yes I did mention some of these things during the stay but didn't seem to matter. There are other nice hotels in Springfield. Try one of them.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear SusanT:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are so sorry you experienced issues while you were here. I have spoken to my General Manager and Head of Housekeeping regarding this.

I am glad you got assistance with your bags. We do want to talk with you regarding these issues. If you could contact the hotel, that would be wonderful. I would love to resolve this with you.

Thank you again! Hope to talk to you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

When we checked in for a four day conference we found out the pool and hot tub were out of service. It ended up being that way our entire stay even though several maintenance people led us to believe it was fixed on the second day. Pretty bad if you bring your family. Ordinary maintenance was being done inside and out over the weekend so it was very noisy. My guess is the reason the pool was closed is because they were changing out the plant beds. One room had no maid service the entire stay. Another one had a clogged toilet. When we called for maintenance. (The first time) they brought up a plunger 20 minutes later and handed it to my husband. He plunged the toilet and had to return it to the front desk. It stopped again and I found out several on our floor had the same problem. On the plus side the bed was comfortable and it was a clean room.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1020reb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear 1020reb:

I am so sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with your recent stay. I sincerely apologize about our pool and I understand your disappoinment.

I do hope you give us another try in the future. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here one night and had a fast easy check in. Rooms were very nice and clean. Nice size bathroom and comfy king beds. Breakfast was great... Cereal, big warm cinnamon rolls, sausage patties, eggs and cheese, biscuits and gravy, and pastry times. The pool and outdoor area looked great but doesn't open until June 3rd! Check out was so fast and easy as well! Overall great trip to Springfield and stay at this hotel, located near the big city and main road!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, room 200 and it was lovely. On the corner with a great view of the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear KareyC:

Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay!

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Springfield - I-44
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Medical District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Springfield I-44
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown

Address: 1117 E Saint Louis St, Springfield, MO 65806-2527
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Springfield
#9 Green Hotel in Springfield
#18 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: £78 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Springfield, MO. Located in the heart of downtown Springfield, MO on Historic Route 66 with Jordan Valley Park and across from Hammons Baseball Field; home of the Springfield Cardinals. You will be amazed at our convenient locations which is within walking distance to Missouri State University, Shrine Mosque, Drury University, and the U.S. Federal Court House. Located on a few minutes from Bass Pro Outdoor World and Wonders of Wildlife Aquarium, Kraft/Altria, 3M, Turblex/Siemens, Ozark Technical Community College, O'Reilly Auto Parts, General Council of the Assemblies of God World Headquarters, Mercy Hospital, Cox Hospital and Battlefield Mall. The oversize rooms and suites are tastefully decorated in Mission Style furnishings featuring flat screen TVs, well-lit ergonomic work area, complimentary wireless high speed internet and the SIMPLY SMART Bath experience. Feel at home in the Great Room where you can enjoy our complimentary breakfast or unwind with friends after a long day overlooking the courtyard and pool or checking emails on our complimentary WiFi. Relax and enjoy with our outdoor pool, fitness center and guest laundry facilities. Most importantly, this hotel features the best staff in Springfield, just waiting to meet you and help create a memorable experience ..Perhaps, you would agree that when in Springfield, the Express is the only SMART place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Mo
Springfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing