We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical, clean, and quaint hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2011

For starters: get a room with a jacuzzi -- it is so worth it! I did not have one complaint with my room: it was clean, historic with the 1960s art, spacious (enough), comfortable bed, and the jacuzzi was wonderful after a cold November day. The staff was super friendly and the continental breakfast was good. I will definitely stay here again. HELPFUL HINT: we were quoted $99.00 as the cheapest we could get the room per night by the front desk. We found a lower rate of $71.00 online. Look around online or ask for a lower rate before paying full price.

Room Tip: Look online for the cheapest room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cre8ivegals8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Cre8ivegals8282:

Thank you for the awesome rating and review. It is a cold November day today as well, and I must admit that a jacuzzi does sound wonderful! I'm happy to hear that your stay went well and that you plan to return. If I may expand on your "helpful hint," I would just like to add that it is important to pay close attention when booking through 3rd party websites. There are some good deals out there, for sure, but some websites offer substantial discounts only because they are reserving a "run of the house" room for you. This means you are guaranteed a room, but no specific room type (in such situations, they usually reserve the hotel's cheapest room and add that the customer requests such-and-such room type if it is available and if the hotel wishes to upgrade the guest). Be sure and read the fine print before booking this way or you could end up with a less suitable room than what you had hoped to reserve. Of course, you are always welcome to contact us directly and discuss any 3rd party/promotional rates you might find online. Thanks again. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed here for just an over night October 14th after along flight. The place is very nice and the whirlepool tub was really great. The room was clean and the staff helpful. You kind of drift off in the 1960's staying there. I know the wife liked the place as she said next time we are in town we will stay agian (that don't happen much). Wish the pool had been open the weather was great for a swim, about 48 degrees, and also wish the free breakfast was a little bigger but the B&G over biscuts was good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxfl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Jaxfl1:

I must say, you're tougher than I am if you think 48 degree weather is great for swimming! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Rail Haven and that you plan to return next time you visit Springfield. Thanks for taking the time to review and rate our hotel. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The staff was cheerful and friendly, the room was sparkling clean, the bed was comfortable, and the complementary breakfast was the best we've ever had! Besides the usual cereal, waffles, bagels, coffee, bananas, etc. they also offered egg/cheese/biscuit sandwiches that you could heat in the microwave, yogurt & applesauce in individual containers, and these great mini-cinnamon buns that were the perfect end to a nice well-balanced breakfast. The ONLY downside was that the breakfast area is tiny, but it is so cutely furnished as a 1950's-style diner that we can easily overlook that. The whole place is very charming.
The hotel is located on a busy strip with a wide variety of businesses, but it was very close to MO State University (which we were visiting), and many places to dine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarthaAndMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

MarthaAndMary:

Thank you for the amazing review and rating! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay enough to share your story with the world, and I hope to see you next time you visit Missouri State University. In case you are unaware, we do offer special rates for college students and family members visiting college students. Be sure and mention this when you make your next reservation. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed for just one night in a double bed room. Adequate space for us. Clean, comfortable room. Old style motel but everything in good shape and modern in room features. Nice selection at the breakfast area and they restocked items promptly. Only problem was with a couple of people, not sure if they were guest or not hanging out in the parking lot talking very loudly at 2am. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Datman96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Datman96:

I'm sorry that your sleep was disturbed by whoever was chatting in the parking lot. Sometimes other guests can be inconsiderate, but our security usually responds promptly once notified of a noise disturbance. This is rare, but it does happen. I hope the issue was addressed in a timely manner. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay other than that. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for taking the time to review and rate your stay at the Rail Haven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Arriving exhausted after a 16 hour trip from the UK..reception checked us in speedily..the room was adequate rather than sumptuous..but this was the least expensive hotel we stayed in during our visit. .Continental breakfast offered one of the best choices.
two weeks later we stayed again at the end of our vacation..we were immediately remembered ( a nice feeling) .Later my wife was taken ill and required emergency hospital treatment..the desk called 911 and later helped when we needed to vacate quicly in order to catch our flight.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Terry187047:

16 hours! That definitely sounds trying. I hope your visit to the States was all you'd expected it to be. I'm glad we were able to get you right into your room after such an ordeal. Thank you for staying with us again on your way back home. I hope your wife is doing better now. Maybe we'll see you again sometime. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Good value for money and Best Western always has the best beds.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Sheila E: Thank you for taking the time to rate and review the Rail Haven. We appreciate your patronage and loyalty to the Best Western brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I didn't want to write a review because I didn't want the secret to get out how GREAT this hotel is for the GREAT price!! But I have to give kudos to the hotel and staff!! This place is clean, cozy, quaint, classy and just down right adorable!! The staff is super nice (especially Jason) and accommodating!! We stay here every time we come to Springfield!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missouri_Peacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2011

Missouri_Peacock:

You ruined our secret! But that's a good thing. We want everyone to know. "Clean, cozy, quaint, classy . . . " is a bit of a tongue-twister, but I can't think of a more rewarding string of adjectives to describe our hotel. Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coach House
Best Western Plus Coach House
#10 of 52 in Springfield
911 reviews
1.9 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#12 of 52 in Springfield
769 reviews
6 mi away
Best Western Plus Springfield Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Springfield I-44
1.1 mi away
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
#20 of 52 in Springfield
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven

Address: 203 S Glenstone Ave, Springfield, MO 65802-3102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#3 Business Hotel in Springfield
#7 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#13 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: £52 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven is a top-rated TripAdvisor hotel where you can experience a classic piece of Historic Route 66 Americana. Eight sandstone cottages built in 1938, known as the Rail Haven Motor Court, evolved into what is today BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven. Proud recipient of the Best Western Director's Award and the National Registry of Historic Places. Be our guest at this historic hotel nestled on acres of beautifully landscaped grounds in Springfield, Missouri - birthplace of Route 66. Enjoy a classic nod to the past without sacrificing any modern day amenities! We offer corporate rooms, a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi, seasonal swimming pool, 24-hour lobby and business center. Whether traversing the Main Street of America, stopping over on your way to Branson, or conducting business, our Springfield hotel location is just minutes from the Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and many national and local businesses, such as Kraft Foods, Bass Pro Shops(R) Headquarters, O'Reilly Auto Parts(R), 3M(R), Great Southern Bank Headquarters, just to name a few. BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven also offers guests easy access to Missouri State University, Wilson's Creek National Battlefield, Fantastic Caverns, Springfield Cardinals, Shrine Mosque and the historic Gillioz Theatre. Business travel or pleasure, whatever reason brings you to town, don't just stay at a hotel experience a hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven Hotel Springfield
Best Western Hotel Springfield
Best Western Springfield
Springfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing