We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
Nearby Hotels
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Medical District(Springfield)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greenstay Hotel & Suites(Springfield)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Springfield)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Coach House(Springfield)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,313)
Filter reviews
1,313 results
Traveller rating
769
415
89
30
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
769
415
89
30
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas pumpsold carsclassic carsthe mother roadhistoric motelstep back in timeblast from the pastmotor courtrooms are smallfamily suiteroom was cleanyogurtstayed here for one nightthe breakfast areagreat place to stayoutdoor poolup to date
Filter
Updating list...
966 - 971 of 1,313 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Yep it's a classic motel room, not fancy, not large and price was cheaper than expected! Stayed here as part of our Route 66 journey so almost mandatory. Free wifi across the motel without password although quite weak in room. Room was clean, comfortable and adequate with coffee etc but a bit small when compared to the more modern hotel. Visited Mother's Brewing Co where a dedication was taking place to the R66. They have tastings on a regular basis. Also tried the frozen custard down the road for a luxury treat, yummy! Good breakfast given the limited area although the self serve chilled egg and sausage breakfast biscuits warmed in a microwave were not that appetising but probably my fault on timing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moneyfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Moneyfools: Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven. We love our Route 66 travelers as we get many that stay while traveling along their way. Sounds like you visited some good local spots here in Springfield. I hope the rest of your travels went well for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed on 29 Sep 13 and it was our first time in a motel, I don't think I would choose to do so again; having just stayed at the Omni Majestic in St Louis perhaps we were expecting too much. The bed was too small for us and the decor was somewhat tatty, additionally the passing of people by the window meant we had to have the curtains drawn even in daylight. The upside, if you are an Elvis fan is that you can stay in the room he used for an additional $120. The breakfast was very hearty even if the room was somewhat cramped for the number of people there.

Room Tip: Make sure that you understand that the beds are not the size most have at home.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Peter A: Thank you for your review of the hotel. Some of our rooms are smaller than others, since the hotel is 75 years old. I apologize that you weren't satisfied with the size of the room. We appreciate the compliments on breakfast and hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed one night. Room was mostly clean however we found a small clump of hair in the shower. Bed was comfortable. However two of us in the King was a problem when one got up night and easily disturbed the other. Our bed at home allows one to move without disturbing the other. We stayed in room 2xx. Although hotel is on rather busy street we slept fine. There are many well known restaurants a couple miles further south from hotel such as Chilies, Olive Garden, Cheddars, etc. The breakfast room was very small. I was looking forward to a egg/cheese/muffin in the microwave. It did NOT taste good. I tossed half of it and I don't normally waste food. Maybe the sausage one would have been better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charger1970rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

charger1970rt:

I sincerely apologize about the condition of your shower. This is not typical here, but I have passed this review on to my head housekeeper anyway so that she is aware of the situation. I hope you give us another chance to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We've stayed at the other Best Western in town in the past and decided, based on price and good reviews to try this one. This one isn't as convenient for someone traveling west on 1-44 like we were but we weren't in a hurry so that was fine. Got to the motel and checked in quickly but found they had given us a room with no refrigerator. Plus it was very close to the street and the traffic noise was quite noticeable. The staff quickly changed the room and apologized, saying that the website reservations didn't tell them that we wanted a refrig. Whatever. The new room was farther from the street and we had no problems with traffic noise.

Our room, a king, was quite small compared to what we are used to. But it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We were disappointed that there were no restaurants very close since we had been on the road for many hours and didn't relish driving again. But it was only a couple of miles so it didn't take long.

Breakfast was a typical continental. We were there early so had no problems with seating but we could see that it would get crowded very quickly due to the size.

In the future, we'd stay at the other BW. A little more money but more convenient and more room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kglen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

kglen1:

I am sorry to hear that you have decided not to stay with us again. We obviously can't do much about our location within town, but we do have rooms that are larger than our standard king rooms. They cost a little more because they come with a whirpool tub, but it sounds like the extra cost wouldn't be an issue for you.
We do have restaurants located very close to the hotel, so I'm not sure why you had to drive a few miles unless you just weren't in the mood for the selection close in proximity. George's Restaurant (Variety) is less than 100 yards from our parking lot and they offer a discounted meal to Rail Haven guests. Many of our guests walk there from their room. El Maguey, Mexican Villa, and Jose Loco's (all Mexican), Hong Kong Garden and Pacific Kitchen (both Chinese) are all less than a quarter mile. Also within a quarter mile are McDonalds, Taco Bell, Steak 'n' Shake, Mr. Goodcents, Burger King, Hardee's, Chipotle, Domino's, and Braums; but I understand if you'd prefer something other than fast food for dinner.
We hope you reconsider staying with us. Next time we can get you a bigger room and some directions to restaurants nearby. Regardless, thank you for reviewing your stay and for rating us four stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

THe hotel was very clean for the price, the air unit was a bit tricky, the room was either very cool or warm but overall room experience was great. However in this hotel the breakfast room is way to small and as you will have happen their were other quest that forget everyone else is trying to do the samething getting their breakfast also. Had a family that would not let anyone else use the waffle maker nor did the seem to care that others might want to use it. Overall though I do recommend this hotel for the price

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank cmchaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nate K, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! I'm sorry that the breakfast area was crowded. It can be a bit cramped when we sell all or most of our rooms. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews