We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Route 66”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Neat, clean room. Very friendly staff. A step back to the 50's with the decor. Very well kept grounds. The breakfast area would be nicer if it were a bit larger. For being on a busy street, it was relatively quiet during the night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi H, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Mary T:Thank you for your wonderful comments on the hotel. I agree with you it would be nice if there was a bit more space in the breakfast area. However when it is nice the pavilion is a great place to gather in the morning to have breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We live 60 miles away from Springfield MO. We stayed at this hotel over the weekend for the first time and we will definitely stay there when we travel to Springfield. The rooms are extremely nice with very comfortable bed! We were surprised that it was so nice because the rates are very low compared to the majority of hotels in Springfield. Outdoor pool is beautiful and you also get a very nice free breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms are not like a usual hotel. Each room has their own area and are all ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi H, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Libby B: Thank you for your review. I am pleased to her that you were a first time customer with us and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I made a huge mistake and booked this hotel thorough Priceline. When I arrived I was told that I'm stuck with a smoking room. Upon checking the room out I found that besides the fact that it reeks of smoke and is the size of a closet, I'm stuck with it (no refunds or changes allowed). I've stayed in about 12 different hotels in Springfield and this is probably the worst. For $80 a night I could have and should have stayed in a much nicer place. Live and learn.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Landshark78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi H, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Landshark78: I apologize that you were not satisfied with your accommodations. When you book through Priceline using the "name your own price" they guarantee a room that will accommodate the number of individuals that you enter but they unfortunately can't guarantee smoking or non-smoking rooms. If you do decide in the future that you would like to stay again, you can call the hotel directly and I will set up a reservation for you and ensure that it will be non-smoking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

It is a great Hotel. Rooms are clean, They look great. Have eggs and gravy for breakfast. But by room number 411 they have a wood bee problem. They freaked me out. There was 8 to 10 wood bees flying around and the door keep sticking and would not open up. Which made it harder to get away from them.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank denisel275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi H, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

denisel275: I am pleased to hear that you thought our hotel was great and the rooms were clean. I apologize that your door was sticky and I will pass that along to our maintenance department to have that fixed. We do in the spring get carpenter bees on the property and they characteristically do not sting they just fly around, but I can understand that seeing a bee can make someone uncomfortable. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We come to visit relatives twice a year, and the Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven is our choice when staying in Springfield. It's close to downtown and a variety of restaurants and attractions. Keep in mind, this is a historic property, so the rooms are smaller than conventional hotels, but clean comfortable and well appointed. My only recommendation for the hotel is to add a little more shelf space in the bathroom. The front desk staff is always friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet helps us to save on dining costs. Economical, comfortable and clean. What more could you ask for? Thank you for another pleasant and comfortable stay in Springfield!

Room Tip: There is some traffic noise off Glenstone, so ask for a quiet room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi H, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Jon N: Thank you for your review. I am excited to hear that we are your choice hotel when you are visiting Springfield. Thank you for your compliments on our hotel. I will pass on the suggestion to our General Manager. We look forward to continuing to serve you in your lodging needs when you visit Springfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a true historical MOTEL. Very clean inside and out, very nice staff. Breakfast was pretty standard stuff. No hard boiled eggs which I like. They claim to have hot items but they are only self made waffles and microwaveable breakfast sandwiches. We reserved a room with a single bed and it was a full size not queen and the room was tiny. We were glad that we only had our duffle bags as a bigger suitcase would have made the room uncomfortably small and it was close to that anyway. The location is good geographically but is on a busy street so be sure to ask for a room in the back....I did not and was sorry. Great spot for a one knight stop over or if you are traveling alone. Other rooms may be bigge.

Room Tip: Ask for one far away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi H, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Rosebud: Thank you for your review. We appreciate the compliments on cleanliness and we strive to keep it that way. We recently have changed our breakfast menu adding more hot items such as biscuits and gravy, as well as scrambled eggs instead of the breakfast sandwiches. Our rooms with 1 double bed are smaller rooms but if you do return to Springfield I would be more than happy to get you in a larger room if you would prefer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

What a fun time! Historic motel on Route 66. Great breakfast, clean rooms, great value! We would stay here again in a heartbeat! Decorations add to the overall experience. The kids loved the bunk beds in the family suite.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi H, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Jana B: Thank you for reviewing the Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven. I am glad to hear that your children enjoyed the bunk beds in the family suite. I am also pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be a great value. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
1.9 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#12 of 51 in Springfield
768 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coach House
Best Western Plus Coach House
#9 of 51 in Springfield
906 reviews
6 mi away
Best Western Plus Springfield Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Springfield I-44
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
#20 of 51 in Springfield
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven

Address: 203 S Glenstone Ave, Springfield, MO 65802-3102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#3 Business Hotel in Springfield
#7 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#13 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: £54 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven is a top-rated TripAdvisor hotel where you can experience a classic piece of Historic Route 66 Americana. Eight sandstone cottages built in 1938, known as the Rail Haven Motor Court, evolved into what is today BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven. Proud recipient of the Best Western Director's Award and the National Registry of Historic Places. Be our guest at this historic hotel nestled on acres of beautifully landscaped grounds in Springfield, Missouri - birthplace of Route 66. Enjoy a classic nod to the past without sacrificing any modern day amenities! We offer corporate rooms, a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi, seasonal swimming pool, 24-hour lobby and business center. Whether traversing the Main Street of America, stopping over on your way to Branson, or conducting business, our Springfield hotel location is just minutes from the Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and many national and local businesses, such as Kraft Foods, Bass Pro Shops(R) Headquarters, O'Reilly Auto Parts(R), 3M(R), Great Southern Bank Headquarters, just to name a few. BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven also offers guests easy access to Missouri State University, Wilson's Creek National Battlefield, Fantastic Caverns, Springfield Cardinals, Shrine Mosque and the historic Gillioz Theatre. Business travel or pleasure, whatever reason brings you to town, don't just stay at a hotel experience a hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven Hotel Springfield
Best Western Hotel Springfield
Best Western Springfield
Springfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing