We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice theme”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice theme”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here as part of our route 66 trip.

The hotel has an intentional 60's route 66 theme to it and it worked well. Our room was spacious and clean, all the staff were friendly.

The location of the hotel is good for route 66 travellers, there's not too much in the area though.

Staff were great, breakfast was also good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi H, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Chris P: Thank you for your review. We do have a classic look and feel to our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The location of the property is near downtown Springfield, which is not right off an interstate like most hotels these days. But we aren't far from most attractions and restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    371
    79
    26
    9
See reviews for
336
461
65
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cuba
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We enjoyed the decor of the 50's and 60's was fun to see. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was almost as good as at home. The employees were very friendly and helpful.. Will stay there the next time we are in Springfield.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi H, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Brenda H: I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a refurbished 1938 motel which is a favourite stop along Route 66. Typical and compact this is a clean and comfortable place to stay...quite popular with the organised motor bike groups doing 66, but they tend to be well-off European tourists, not Hell's Angels, so no need to worry.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandLesley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi H, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
PeterandLesley2013: Thank you for your review. You are correct in saying that the hotel was originally opened in 1938 and has been expanded/renovated since then. We do get Route 66 tour groups that stop here while on their journey. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in the states.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great experience, took us back to the days of old Route 66. Motel was renovated to 50's era, neon lighting and all. Room was clean and you parked your car directly in front of your room. Only complaint was the double beds, but appropriate to era. Met travelers from all over the world. Would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gkeenum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi H, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Gkeenum: I am glad to hear that your experience at our property was good. You are correct on the décor being from back in 50s, most don't expect that when you enter a Best Western motel. Parking is conveniently near the guest rooms without having to walk too far. We do get travelers from around the world travelling along Route 66.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Had to at least look at it being a Route 66 hotel. After looking at the Trip Advisor ratings I decided to book a room. The rooms are a bit dated but it had everything we needed. Staff was great and check in was quick and easy

Besides, you have to stay in hotel that Elvis stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi H, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
paul l: Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I am glad you decided to stay with us and letting us know that you decided to book because of Trip Advisor reviews. I am proud of my staff at the desk and glad to hear that they were efficient at check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here and was very pleased with the Route 66 Memorabilia all over the property. They have an Elvis Suite ..... ask to see it. They have an old gas station outside, and lots of photos. Elvis stayed here with his Mom before he was famous.

Room Tip: Try the Elvis Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi H, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Joseph Y: Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Many guests do enjoy looking at the Elvis suite and hearing the history of when Elvis was in Springfield. We enjoy sharing that with our customers and most are amazed with the décor of the suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

First of all, the location is everything, and being in a Route 66 icon is a blast. The lobby with it's old gas pumps and vintage cars is the main attraction of this hotel/motel. The rooms are somewhat old, need upgrades, but also bring back that nostalgic feeling. That should be your most important reason to be here. Don't expect more, and don't compare it to other BW or BW+ hotels, but just go there for the Rt 66 feeling, then it's okay. Sprinfield itself is a bit of a boring town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ta2Gerrit4664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi H, Front Office Manager at Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Ta2Gerrit4664: Thank you for your comments on the hotel. The Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven is listed on the National Registry of Historic Places in the United States, which we try to preserve the feeling for our travelers who travel along Route 66. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the states and have many wonderful memories of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
1.9 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#11 of 49 in Springfield
698 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 49 in Springfield
737 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Coach House
Best Western Plus Coach House
#12 of 49 in Springfield
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Springfield Airport Inn
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
Days Inn Battlefield Rd/Hwy 65
#20 of 49 in Springfield
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven

Property: Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
Address: 203 South Glenstone Avenue, Springfield, MO 65802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Springfield
#3 Business Hotel in Springfield
#7 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#13 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven is a top-rated TripAdvisor hotel where you can experience a classic piece of Historic Route 66 Americana. Eight sandstone cottages built in 1938, known as the Rail Haven Motor Court, evolved into what is today BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven. Proud recipient of the Best Western Director's Award and the National Registry of Historic Places. Be our guest at this historic hotel nestled on acres of beautifully landscaped grounds in Springfield, Missouri - birthplace of Route 66. Enjoy a classic nod to the past without sacrificing any modern day amenities! We offer corporate rooms, a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, free Wi-Fi, seasonal swimming pool, 24-hour lobby and business center. Whether traversing the Main Street of America, stopping over on your way to Branson, or conducting business, our Springfield hotel location is just minutes from the Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and many national and local businesses, such as Kraft Foods, Bass Pro Shops(R) Headquarters, O'Reilly Auto Parts(R), 3M(R), Great Southern Bank Headquarters, just to name a few. BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven also offers guests easy access to Missouri State University, Wilson's Creek National Battlefield, Fantastic Caverns, Springfield Cardinals, Shrine Mosque and the historic Gillioz Theatre. Business travel or pleasure, whatever reason brings you to town, don't just stay at a hotel experience a hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven Hotel Springfield
Best Western Hotel Springfield
Best Western Springfield
Springfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing