We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Walnut Street Inn
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Springfield Airport Inn(Springfield)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven(Springfield)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Vandivort(Springfield)
US$165
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
139
30
4
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
139
30
4
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcarriage housebed and breakfastthe main housebreakfast was delicioussteam showernice gas fireplaceprivate porchlovely homevictorian charmebbets fieldeach room has its owncookiesother guestsmy favorite thingwithin walking distanceevery evening
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Victorian bed and breakfast that focuses on customer service. Stayed there 5 nights total; 3 nights in the Carver Room on the first floor tucked behind the front desk. It is very quiet and has a jacuzzi bath tub and room has fireplace; 2 nights in the McCann Room on the second floor which is a little larger room. The second floor has its own parlor. Each room has its own bathroom. Home made cookies are in every room. If you don't like what Rita is serving for breakfast you can request scrambled eggs, eggs over hard, or homemade granola. Gary, Rita and their staff make you feel right at home. Gary even answers the phone when you call in to the Walnut Street Inn. A gem in the world of Bed and Breakfasts.

Room Tip: Choose the Carver Room on the first floor because it is behind the front desk and is convenient and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibrarymOm1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Walnut Street Inn was a charming house, with a huge front wrap around porch with a porch swing on it. Our room was lovely, as was the entire house. Breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee or tea, and a wonderful poached egg on english muffins with a light cheese sauce and fresh advcados ... all very nice. We only stay the one night, but will go back if ever in the area again. Gardens looked like they would be lovely in the summer, with tables to sit outside and enjoy the view.
p.s. great little sports bar right down the street about 6 houses away ..

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Danzero Room which was in the Carriage House for our honeymoon. We also booked them for a private dining party. We had a small wedding at sunrise prior to our stay at the Walnut Street Inn B&B. We had arranged with the owners for a breakfast reception. They served ham and egg quiche and orange juice for around 17-19 friends and family. The owner and staff were very helpful and made it a very enjoyable celebration. That was the only meal we ate at the house. The rest of the time my husband and I had our breakfast brought to our room on a tray. Our room had a small breakfast table with two chairs.

The bed in the Danzero room was large and comfortable with four posters, and the two-person whirlpool tub in our room was great! The bathroom was very small with a toilet and a shower, however the sink and mirror was across from the whirlpool in our room. Our room had a small fridge. The room was mostly quiet although the location of the B&B is near the state university, downtown and Walnut Street occasionally is used for street festivals (art festivals, etc.)

I paid extra to add the romance package to surprise my spouse and it was a big hit with him! While we were out to dinner, the staff set up chocolates, sparkling cider with two champagne glasses, tea-light candles around the room, turned down the lights to dim, and rose petals around the room. We enjoy using the 2 champagne glasses that we got to keep and thinking back to our special day!

We plan to stay at the Walnut Street Inn bed and breakfast again!

Room Tip: Some rooms have two-person whirlpool tubs and fireplaces, and different styles of decorations. The prices and amenities vary. I used their website to decide which room decoration and which amenities I preferred. I also recommend adding the Romance package!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linzpieper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

My wife and I discovered this Inn as when we were preciously in Springfield doing the "Making Strides" Walk for Breast Cancer and the Inn was along the route. We were in Springfield and decided to stay at the inn since it looked so nice from the outside.

Check in was smooth and we were given a brief tour of the inn; to include the various parking areas. The inn itself is very nice. It's old, which you can probably imagine after you step inside, but it's very quaint. We stayed in the Rosen Room, which has a lot of character to it. Everything about the stay started off great, what caused us to lower our opinion of the inn was everything after the first impressions. The room itself was nice, but the bed was extremely uncomfortable and the sheets were laundered in either a detergent or fabric softener which caused my wife and I extreme skin irritation. The room is located on a busy 4-way intersection and we heard the traffic from the intersection all night. The blinds did a less than stellar job at keeping the light out as well. The Rosen Room is located on the second floor and you can hear every step of the guests room above you from the creaking wood. Needless to say, both my wife and I slept very little. The inn keepers offered a mini-fridge outside the room that was stocked with coke products and bottled water; which was a nice touch.

We elected to have our breakfast in the morning at the dining room table and they offered an option to bring you breakfast in bed. The breakfast was alright, nothing to write home about. The breakfast our morning was scrambled eggs with ham and spinach, cheese grit cakes, and wheat toast with orange juice and coffee. It was, indeed, better than a name brand hotel; but we've had better breakfasts at other B&Bs that we've stayed at. The staff was all very nice. My wife and I are well traveled in B&Bs and overall, it was average compared to other inns we've stayed in previously. We would consider staying there in the future, but we would try a room in either their carriage house or a top floor room.

Room Tip: Avoid the Rosen Room; it's on a noisy corner
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We loved the Walnut Street Inn. The room was so nice and very clean. Each room is unique. The breakfast was very good too. You can eat in the dining room, or your own room. They even have complimentary beverages in fridge in your room and cookies by the bed.

Room Tip: Rooms are different prices, so choose which amenities you want.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aporch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews