We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TREAT YOURSELF IN SPRINGFIELD”
Review of Walnut Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Walnut Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Springfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

A BEAUTIFUL experience in Springfield. The room, breakfast, staff, and amenities were all excellent. We definitely utilized the gas fireplace in the room. The staff made us feel right at home, and we utilized their recommendation for dinner at the Springfield Brewing Company. The innkeeper's friend, John, even gave us a great driving route to see the gorgeous fall colors. Highly recommended, we definitely will stay here again!!

Room Tip: carriage house rooms are only a few steps away from the main house and breakfast room. our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roncoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

My daughter recently stayed in the Rosen Room at Walnut Inn and we loved it. The room was large and everything was clean. Gary was a great host. We had cookies in our room and breakfast was plentiful & yummy. The neighborhood is charming as well. There were lots of places in walking distance. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kcjmiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I'll return next month for my fourth stay at Walnut Street Inn. Our son is a student at nearby Drury University. Our first night at this inn was the day we dropped him off for his Freshman year of college. The Rosie O'Neill room's hot tub and fireplace helped warm our spirits on an unseasonably cold and rainy August afternoon. Wine on our private balcony helped ease our separation anxiety and remember what it was like once upon a time before kids. Two months later, we reserved the Benton room upstairs, which easily accommodated myself, husband and teenage daughter when we visited for a weekend. I loved the interesting angles and hide-aways created by the roof line. It was a great space to relish our family time. This past weekend my daughter and I returned, and stayed in the Rosen room, a cozy small room with a comfortable bed and seating, great lights for reading and lounging. The rooms and bath amenities have without exception been clean and inviting. Each visit, our breakfast was splendid, and the service and roomkeeping personnel were kind and helpful. One visit, in an effort to save about $20, we stayed at a hotel recommended to us by another parent. Never again. The charm of the Walnut Street Inn and the hospitality of its innkeepers are just too compelling. My kudos to Gary and Paula for investing their time and treasure into maintaining this beautiful old home so the rest of us can enjoy it. By the way, each of the rooms has information about the familes who'd lived there in the past, and/or the historicial figures that the rooms are named after. Make sure to allow time during your visit to look at those books, it makes you appreciate the house and the setting even more.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ideal_Maker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We love the location. Close to busy town. but yet in a quiet neighborhood. beautiful trees and lovely house. Room was just great. Nice. spacious. Everything we needed.I recommend to anyone Staying in Springfield. Oh and breakfast was out of this world. thank you Gary.

Room Tip: Ours was up stairs and quiet. we loved. it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My first impression when we pulled up was simply beautiful . Things got better from there. We were greeted by two amazing people Gary and Star who welcomed us like long lost friends . They offered to do anything to make checking in and settling in more comfortable . We came there for our honeymoon and were taking photos and Gary offered up his time to take photos for us on our special day . The many things they did that followed made our stay wonderful . The food was great and room was beautiful as was the yard and garden . It was a great piece of history and we look forward to coming back for years to come .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This BB is comprised of 3-4 historic buildings on a nice street, just across from the convention center in downtown Sprngfield. It is an easy walk to the beautiful new baseball park and not far from the college. My room was up a narrow inside staircase from a side entrance of one of the less grand houses. The stair led to two separate rooms, so it was very private and quiet. The room was thoughtfully decorated with interesting antiques and had a totally new large bathroom. It had a mini-fridge generously stocked with water and soda. As a previous reviewer indicated, the carpet is probably getting close to retirement, but mine was freshly shampooed. The staff was great in recommending a restaurant. The linens and towels were good quality and the cleaner was professional. They allowed me to save $ and skip breakfast so I can't comment on that. The dining room in the mail house is very pretty. This is a great concept, with thoughtful staff. It could use some refreshing, but is really a good place. I'd return.

Room Tip: question the staff carefully on room selection. They vary significantly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimjade3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

First, I must thank Gary for his willingness to work with us as we arrived a full four hours later than we had hoped. Flooding along the highway created a LONG detour. Still when we arrived, our key was waiting for us with a note of welcome. Our suite was beautifully lit and welcoming. We had the O'Neill suite with a hot tub, king bed, desk and full amenities. It was an old, lovely home and quite enchanting. I loved the front porch with the swing. We were tired but not too tired to enjoy the hot tub and slept beautifully. We had breakfast at nine, and Gary worked with our wheat free diets, serving a lovely omelet. We stayed til the last minute and it was hard to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vandivort
Hotel Vandivort
#2 of 51 in Springfield
1,084 reviews
0.1 mi away
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#13 of 51 in Springfield
771 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Mansion at Elfindale Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Springfield Arts Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Street Inn

Address: 900 E Walnut St, Springfield, MO 65806-2603
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Springfield
Price Range: £95 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Walnut Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 12 room Inn, in the heart of Springfield, Missouri. We have served guests, both pleasure and business, since 1987. Repeat guest make up vast majority of our bookings. Come join our Walnut Street Inn family. We will work hard to make you repeat guest and friend of the Inn as well. We have every modern convenience plus the history and ambience of 130-year-old Victorian Home. There are 55 restaurants, AA baseball, five theaters, MSU sporting events and entertainment, and much more, all within 1/2 mile of our front door. And now open, Wonders of Wildlife National Aquarium and Museum is just 3 miles away. Come let us help plan your stay, whether it be for business or pleasure, to make it the best it can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Walnut Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing