We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcome Experience”
Review of Walnut Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Walnut Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Springfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcome Experience”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The staff are professional yet warm and welcoming. I stayed in the lovely McCann Room with a large bathroom area and a clay foot bathtub, fireplace and very comfortable bed. In the morning, the freshly cooked breakfast was delicious and consisted of a frittata, hashbrown potatoes,fresh fruit, juice and tea. The chocolate chip cookie in the room was a welcome treat and amazingly good. I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to friends

Room Tip: The McCann room was on the front and can be a bit noisy if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    29
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
90
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crytsal Lake, IL
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I am happy to forego Marriott and Hilton points to stay at a place like Walnut Street Inn. The Inn owners are so welcoming and attentive that it will feel like "home" each time you return. I have stayed there twice, but wish that my work brought me to Springfield more often.

They have good, strong Wi-Fi, which is imperative to business travelers. Couple that with a breakfast that is delicious and filling enough to keep you fueled for the entire day. That helps save a little money and is important...as it is 1/2 Bed and 1/2 Breakfast. Walnut Street Inn's breakfast is very nice, but it isn't overboard, which is just fine with me. When I stay at places that have 5 course breakfasts I am impressed and STUFFED, but much of that overeating is because I feel like I MUST eat what they worked so hard to make. That wasn't the case here. It was a perfect amount.

The only negative is that the main house is on a corner with a stop sign. The charming, Victorian construction is NOT very soundproof, and the residents of Springfield apparently like to show off their hot rod's engine power (any time of day or night.) Are these sounds any louder or more annoying than teenage sports teams or drunken conventioneers spilling out of hotel elevators?...absolutely not. I'll choose the street noise. The only other suggestion I have for the owners is to put 2 firm/overstuffed pillows and 2 down or loosely filled pillows in each room. This gives guests a choice and is a technique hotels are starting to employ. My room had 4 highly stuffed, firm pillows. I like a flat, soft and squishy pillow. I'm sure if I had asked they would have done everything in their power to get me a softer, squishier pillow. I just wish it had been there at the outset.

Lastly, I thank the owners for extending a favorable price to me and my colleague. Business travelers really need to keep their costs down and our bosses would not like to see typical B&B prices on their expense reports.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Inn is lovingly shared with the public. The rooms are thoughtfully appointed, some with jetted tub and fireplace. The innkeeper is gracious and generous, with well-stocked mini-fridge and fresh cookies. We enjoyed champagne and chocolate as part of a sweetheart package. Breakfast included homemade pear jelly syrup for the apple pancakes.In addition to its cozy rooms, the Inn is convenient to the restaurants and theaters of downtown Springfield, perfect for walking on a balmy day. The only detail that would have made our stay more enjoyable would have been to have time for another day there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We surprised my girlfriend's visiting parents with a one-night stay in the McCann Room. Gary, Lisa, and staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We added +5 for breakfast on Sunday morning, and we felt pampered. We had a nice large table in the den all to ourselves, and it was truly a pleasant way to introduce my mom to her family. The breakfast was delicious and changes daily. They graciously gave us 5 separate historical tours of the property. The geographic location is also perfect for a stay in Springfield with its proximity to downtown and the MSU campus. We will definitely be back and will be sending others that way!

Room Tip: The carriage house is equipped with Jacuzzis and would be great for a romantic getaway or "stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is a really quaint bed and breakfast located in the middle of Walnut Street. It's always very clean, the staff is extremely helpful and friendly, and the accommodations are wonderful. We generally stay here on New Year's Eve. My only suggestion: Invest in new pillows. The beds have all been very comfortable, but the pillows are lacking. Our breakfast was amazing.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Each is very unique in its own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed here during a business trip and really enjoyed it! The accommodations were very comfortable, with lots of thoughtful touches. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was very courteous! Location is near lots of great restaurants downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Walnut Inn has been a treasure that my girlfriend and I have enjoyed for the past few years. It is a great place to consider for spending quality time with your loved one. The innkeepers are all very friendly and really make you feel at home. The house carries an impressive amount of history with it, having each room dedicated to a famous individual from around the Springfield area. This year, we stayed in the O'neill Room which had a jacuzzi tub, a gas fire place, and was beautifully decorated to create a cozy atmosphere. My favorite part of staying in this particular room was the sunrise and the sunset through the windows lighting up the room as well as the king size bed. I would recommend this Inn to anyone who is looking for a great B&B experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwg741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.1 mi away
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vandivort
Hotel Vandivort
#2 of 49 in Springfield
973 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 49 in Springfield
774 reviews
3.0 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Springfield
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Street Inn

Property: Walnut Street Inn
Address: 900 E Walnut St, Springfield, MO 65806-2603
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Walnut Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring at the Walnut Street Inn. This is the Main House, front. There are two other 100+ year old buildings on the property with guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Walnut Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing