We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be careful at the Homestay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge I-44

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge I-44
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Seligman
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Be careful at the Homestay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

To start with if you are a smoker stay away from this place. The owner and manager of this property relegate smokers as 3rd class people and put them in the last building with the small crowded rooms that they put the homeless people in in the winter and the truck drivers and the dopers in. I guess they don't think a smoker deserves a nice clean room. Also there is no security at this building and they can not see it from the desk. The police are called there pretty often so if you have kids you can let them out when they are there. I have talked to the owner and was told he would nmake more smoking rooms but that was about 1 1/2 or 2 years ago and nothing has happened yet. Any time we used to go to Springfield we would stay there because it was always very clean and the people were nice. That has all changed. There are only 2 of the old people there and the new people could care less. We have just about quit going to Springfield because of this. The owner tries to tell everyone that the smoking ordinance in Sprinefield will not let him do anything about the problem but that is not entirely ture. As far as non smokers take you'r chances. The rooms are not as clean as they used to be because the new maids don't care like the old staff did. This manager has the same problem as the staff. She doesn't care. To sum it all up this used to be a great place to stay and could be again if the owner wanted it to be, but he thinks a little paint can cover up all the problems. A very sad end to what used to be great.

Room Tip: Rooms in the first building are the nicest and the quietest but they are all non smoking. These are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebrasssalesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestayinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge I-44, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Brasssalesman
Thank you for your review, we are always interested in the opinions of our guests. I am very sorry that you were left with the impression that the management and staff do not care about the hotel or the needs of the guest.
I can assure you that we do in fact take our guests concerns seriously. The entire staff here at Homestay Inn takes pride in our property and feel that we have come a long way in improvements over the past year.
We do not treat smokers or any of our guests as anything but the most important people in Springfield. Unfortunately; due to the smoking ban that is in effect in Springfield, we have to limit the number of rooms and location of the rooms that are designated “smoking.” The smoking ban states that “all of the rooms designated as smoking rooms, have to be in the same building and cannot be more than 25% of the hotels total number of rooms.” We are currently at that number, and the smoking rooms have been in the same building for the past several years. The rooms are all the same size; however, we do have different size beds available in queen and double beds. We have currently renovated most of the hotel but still have some rooms that are under renovation and we do expect this to be completed soon.
Our location, amenities and rates make us very popular with the trucking industry as well as overnight travelers, families and corporate business clients. No one is put in a smoking room unless that is their preference. We try to accommodate special requests whenever possible. We do not feel that safety is an issue. The entire property is camera monitored and the Springfield police department can be seen patrolling all businesses in the area. We feel that the hotel is very safe and families are welcomed and encouraged. The cleanliness of our rooms is indeed important to all of us here and we are sorry if you had issues with your room. When ever an issue is reported to our front desk staff, it is resolved immediately. We have had some changes in our staff as some have moved on to pursue other careers.
The staff at The Homestay Inn will continue to provide clean, quality rooms and friendly customer service for a great price and we hope that you will continue to visit Springfield and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    31
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
35
15
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I'm a truck driver that happened to have my truck repaired in town and needed a place to stay for a few days. At the repair facility, there was a brochure from this establishment. I called the phone number and was greeted pleasantly by the front desk employee. This was early p.m. and was told I could check-in early and check-out late. The room has a microwave, refrigerator & coffee maker. This really helped save money, since Walmart is accross the street. The staff was very friendly & helpful. I really enjoyed the included breakfast. Since I was their guest due to truck issues, I really liked the computer in the lobby that allowed me access to my facebook account. I was able to see a new picture of my 1 mo. old grandson:)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1KDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestayinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge I-44, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Allen
Thank you for giving us feedback on how our hotel is doing. We value your comments and opinion as we do our best to see that all our guests are comfortable and happy. We look forward to being your hotel whenever you are in Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Story City, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I have been staying at this location for nearly 4 years, the usual stay is every other month for at least three days and as long as two weeks. I have had no complaints until now. Recently there has been a management change, at that time I began noticeing the rooms stank, yes they are smokers rooms but I am a smoker and am used to that kind of stink, these smelled unclean. I have found used ash trays under beds, flood flung on a wall behind the fridge cabinet , it was out in the open, easily seen by anyone cleaning the top of the cabinet and coffee pot, dirty handprinted sticky head boards, filthy window sills, bugs, cob webs with spider eggs, dirty legdes around sink area, dusty lamp shades, cracked lamp shades from age, not abuse. All I can say is, no excuse... lets clean the rooms like they should be. I dont want to be living with other peoples dirt, body fluids and bugs. Thanks

Room Tip: try to select a room on the top floor, the beds are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestayinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge I-44, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Ldydriver
I am so very sorry that you encountered issues with your room during your last stay here at the Homestay Inn. I spoke to you before you left our property and was under the impression that all was taken care of. We have underwent many changes, all of them positive and do hope that you will stay with us again. I believe you will be pleasantly surprised with your next visit. If i can be of any assistance please call me and i will gladly help in any way I can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPRINGFIELD
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel on our way back from Phoenix. The rooms were very clean, the staff was very friendly and the breakfast was delicious. Will stay here again on another trip. Thank you :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHARON C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestayinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge I-44, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Sharon
Thank you for taking the time to let us and others know how we are doing, we take pride in pleasing our guests and are happy to hear that you will be staying with us in the future. We look forward to being your hotel while in you are in Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
339 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This location provides rooms for many of the CDL drivers with terminals in the area, and there is limited parking for large rigs behind the close by Bob Evans restaurant. It is 2 minutes off I-44 at exit 80, with many restaurants south of the hotel, although we did not hear any highway noise.

Our 2nd floor room was OK ... clean, but simple. Beds were OK, not luxurious linens. The room had a small frig/freezer and microwave. Breakfast was the typical carbs - no protein - self-served on styro plates.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestayinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge I-44, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
RVingFt
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We wanted to let you know that we have recently added several new items to the breakfast bar and have upgraded many of our rooms. Your opinion is valued here at Homestay Inn and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We picked this hotel because we were traveling to MO for a weekend getaway and wanted somewhere inexpensive to stay. I was nervous because this hotel was EXTREMELY inexpensive and I generally equate cost to quality. I was very wrong and I'm glad. The hotel was amazing! It wasn't a 4 star of course, but it was very clean and very comfortable. The staff was VERY friendly, and even though I saw complaints about the shower being short, I'm 5'11, I lifted the shower head up and was able to shower just fine. The breakfast was very good for the price and overall I think this is an excellent establishment.

Room Tip: There are no hair dryers, so bring your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melaney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestayinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge I-44, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Melaney G
Thank you for taking the time to tell us and others about your stay at The Homestay Inn. We are glad you had a wonderful experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampden, Maine
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We always stop at state visitor centers to pick up the hotel discount coupon books. We normally get a good deal, this time we fell into a great deal. Very inexpensive and a large, clean room with lots of extras. This one goes on the list to stay here again the next time we are in the area. Several restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Walmart just down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestayinn, General Manager at Econo Lodge I-44, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Hobarth
I would like to thank you for your review of our property. The management and staff take pride in our hotel and do our best to see that each guest is happy. We are pleased that you had a great experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#42 of 49 in Springfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Springfield - North
Motel 6 Springfield - North
#44 of 49 in Springfield
2.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Springfield East
La Quinta Inn Springfield East
#29 of 49 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Coach House
BEST WESTERN Plus Coach House
#13 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Springfield
Candlewood Suites Springfield
#25 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge I-44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge I-44

Property: Econo Lodge I-44
Address: 2611 North Glenstone Avenue, Springfield, MO 65803 (Formerly Eagle's Lodge Springfield)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge I-44 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge East hotel in Springfield, MO near Fantastic Caverns Located near Interstate 44, the Econo Lodge(R) I-40, Exit 80 hotel in Springfield, Missouri offers easy access to Fantastic Caverns, America's only ride-through cave. Additional points of interest nearby include: Dickerson Park Zoo Ozark Empire Fairgrounds Discovery Center of Springfield If here on business, you'll also appreciate our proximity to Bass Pro Shops headquarters and the Loren Cook Company manufacturing facilities. Amenities and features offered at the Econo Lodge include: Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free hot breakfast and coffee Seasonal outdoor pool Business center with computer, copy and fax services Pet-friendly hotel; fees apply All guest rooms include a hair dryer and coffee maker. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper, iron and ironing board. This Econo Lodge I-40, Exit 80 hotel cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices. Whether traveling on business or leisure, the Econo Lodge hotel provides valuable accommodations in Springfield, MO. Book your stay with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge I-44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestay Hotel Springfield
Eagles Hotel Springfield
Econo Lodge Springfield
Springfield Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing