We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Springfield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend convention and had a good experience. Our bed was fairly comfortable, but the pillows could have been better (and bigger.) The room was clean and updated and a good size for the money. The breakfast was probably one of the best buffets I've EVER had in a hotel. Fresh fruit, yogurt, sausage, bacon, muffins, donuts, and good scrambled eggs! I know, it's pretty hard to find good eggs on a buffet. I usually avoid them! Also the usual things including cold cereals, breads, etc. I liked having a selection of fruit juices and good coffee. We would return for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a corner or just away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and positive rating from your recent convention stay at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center! It was our pleasure to host you and we are thrilled to hear that everything from the location, breakfast and the amenities exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to your return in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

944 - 950 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2012

The entrance through massive revolving doors leads into the 9 story tall, sprawling grand lobby, it is awesome. I was greeted with a warm welcome, went through the check-in process in very short order, informed about amenities and in my room within minutes. All very appreciated after a long travel/business day. The convention center is located in the heart of "Old Town" with plenty of sights, shopping and restaurants within walking distance.

The room was well decorated, very comfy bed, flat screen TV, perfect heating/cooling, a great shower, wifi and accessible 120v plug-ins, these are my simple priorities. On this trip I took advantage of the in-door pool, Jacuzzi, work-out room, business center, breakfast buffet and happy hour offerings. Wish I was till there.

Room Tip: My corner room was very quiet, the upper rooms provide a grand view of the metro vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geotreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the University Plaza Hotel Springfield. All of our team members work hard every day to make each guest feels special and by the sounds of your review, we accomplished our goal.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We have a large family and travel to homecoming each year in springfield. We love the hotels amenities and the lovely breakfast. The hotel still has that great family trip feel. Everyone on the staff is fun and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irma2cocoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and positive rating from your recent stay at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center! It was our pleasure to host you and we are thrilled to hear that everything from the location to the amenities exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to your return for future homecomings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We checked into our room and checked the mattress for bed bugs like we do at every hotel. We have travel across the country and this is our first experience with bed bugs. Lucky I assume. I have as a board member of a homeless shelter had to become an expert on bed bugs.
The hotel moved us to another floor and there were many dead bed bugs in the mattress seems and some dead ones on the white blanket. We also discovered a used bottle of lotion on the vanity in the bath. We booked through a third party so we are stuck with the hotel and no $$ compensation. The offered a free meal however, that is not acceptable. Do not stay here!!!!! If you ever find bed bugs do not put anything on the floor or furniture with cloth. Bed bugs are nocturnal and will bite at night. They can be carried home in your bags and its almost impossible to get rid of them.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

We empathize with the circumstance that you endured recently. Here at the University Plaza Hotel, we are committed to offering both personalized service and a clean and comfortable environment for all of our guests.

Our staff immediately investigated the highly unusual situation by conducting an internal inspection of the guest room that you utilized. To further examine, we asked our service partner, a global provider of hygiene technologies and services to conduct a separate inspection. Upon completion, both tests indicated our guest rooms were completely free of any type of infestation and of optimal cleanliness.

Due to your concern, we welcome the opportunity to speak with you further feel free to contact us at 417-864-7333.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and thank you for addressing your concern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Although the it is an older hotel, it is maintained in pristine condition and offers great value. The staff was very friendly, and the breakfast served was fresh and worth staying for. My family enjoyed the stay and we will definitely stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms face the outside and the inner atrium so there doesn't seem to be a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Herbert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center in the heart of downtown Springfield, MO. We are in a perfect location whether your trip brings you to Springfield for business or pleasure. We will be sure to pass the kind words about our staff on to them. Again we are glad you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Thanks for taking the time post your experience on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I've attended the annual Skepticon event for the last three years and have had the privilege of staying at this hotel each of those years.

Everything is exceptional about this hotel. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating, the rooms are comfortable and clean, the noise level is at a minimum to ensure good sleeping conditions and the food served is very tasty - room service, restaurant service or the delicious breakfast buffet!

Staying here is just one of the highlights of my annual trek to Springfield! I appreciate the service and personal touch every time. Looking forward to next year already! :)

Room Tip: corner rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the University Plaza Hotel Springfield. All of our team members work hard every day to make each guest feels special and by the sounds of your review, we accomplished our goal.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers and we look forward to having you stay with us again next year during your conference!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed just one night for an event held for the Marching Band at MSU. This hotel is very conveniently located to the campus as well as Downtown Springfield which has a lot of very neat restaraunts. There was a delay in being able to check in to the room but completely understandable given the house was full the night before and again the night of our stay. We were told 30 minutes and that we would be called on our cell phones and it was exactly 30 minutes when I received the call. The staff was very apologetic for the inconvenience. We took it as a gift of time and sat in the hotel lobby lounge and enjoyed a drink and our surroundings, gave us a chance to breathe as we had rushed all day. The room, spotless! The breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhenley9, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the University Plaza Hotel Springfield. All of our team members work hard every day to make each guest feels special and by the sounds of your review, we accomplished our goal.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
2.8 mi away
Oasis Hotel and Convention Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#12 of 51 in Springfield
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#7 of 51 in Springfield
719 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coach House
Best Western Plus Coach House
#9 of 51 in Springfield
905 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: £79 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing