We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Since I booked on Hotwire, I was a skeptical on what I was getting into. All my fears were quickly dashed upon my arrival. We were about 2 hours before the stated check in time. I asked Andrew if it was possible to check in early and he apologized and said the soonest he could have something was about 30 minutes. We left and returned and checked in to the cleanest room I have ever stayed in. The bathroom and the room was immaculate. One of the first things that caught my eye was the sentiment card on the bed. Truly a stellar appointment! As we were leaving to meet up with friends, I asked the Housekeeper if she could give us some extra shampoo and conditioner, since I was traveling with my daughter and 2 granddaughters I explained with 4 girls 1 each would not be enough. When we returned there were 3 extras along with extra wash cloths and towels. The indoor and outdoor pools were enjoyed. The hot/cold breakfast bar was a real standout. The selections were fresh and well stocked. The customer attention provided by all the staff was amazing. Andrew and Brandon at the front desk were standout. Wait staff was attentive without being overbearing. The only "bad" part............my girls wanted to stay longer!!! Go and be amazed!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as humanly possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honored that you choose University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center while you were in Springfield. We are extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Kevin Klein
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    224
    119
    63
    48
See reviews for
238
132
36
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are visiting a Missouri State student or if you want to be close to the downtown area.

We stayed 4 nights in an executive suite -- king bed room and a parlor with sofa, chairs and another tv. We had family gatherings here and it worked out well. The room was clean and comfortable. (Although the first one we stayed in we called "the onion suite" - room 700 - because of the smell. They moved us promptly with no issues). The big bed was very nice and even the furniture in the parlor was extremely comfortable.

This is an atrium hotel like the old Hyatts and Embassy Suites. If you have any vertigo or height issues, make sure and stay on the lower floors. The hotel is getting a little worn in spots but not too bad. Each time I used the luggage cart my wife made me scrub down because it was nasty. They need to work on those. I requested a goldfish 3 times but never got one :( They should probably just take down the sign if they don't have them. Not a big deal, but I thought it would be fun for my wife who was missing her doggies and fish.

Breakfast is fantastic. The staff is working their butts off, so please be nice! We were a bit taken aback by the nasty way some fellow travellers were treating the breakfast staff. Food was great, team of workers excellent.

Downtown Springfield is full of great shops, bars and restaurants. Really a great place to spend a weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center in the heart of downtown Springfield, MO. We are in a perfect location whether your trip brings you to Springfield for business or pleasure. We will be sure to pass the kind words about our staff on to them. Again we are glad you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks for taking the time post your experience on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,

Kevin Klein
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perryville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We got our room on priceline for 53 dollars... Had a fish brought to our room...we had a very nice room... Thank you to the staff for providing a comfortable stay...I would recemend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to springfield..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beansPerryville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Many thanks for your warm words regarding your experience. We take pride in providing service unlike any other which we feel sets us apart from other hotels in Springfield.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Springfield and the University Plaza very soon.

Sincerely,

Kevin Klein
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great price and value. breakfast was good and complimentary. Pillows were not clean. Everything else was great. Nice pools. Location was ideal. Across from science museum which was great. Room service was not great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank micksonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Receiving feedback from our guest enables us to improve while being able to accommodate all of our guests a little better upon each visit. Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center. We are glad that the location was ideal and that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet and pools. Also, cleanliness and service are always top of mind with our staff and we are committed to delivering these items at an exceptional level.

Sincerely,

Kevin Klein
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a very clean hotel that has great service. It has two pools, indoor and outdoor and a nice fitness room. The daily free breakfast is amazing with four different kinds of juices, scrambled eggs with cheese, waffles, french toast, bacon and sausage, and hashbrowns. They also serve yogurt, fruit, and muffins. They are a pet friendly hotel and they even provide a free fish for you to keep in your room during your stay if you are missing your pet at home.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cdixon713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Exceptional guest service is the ultimate goal and top priority of all of us here at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center. Thank you so very much for acknowledging the efforts of our staff! We’re glad you had a great stay during your recent trip and hope that whether it’s for business or leisure; you will allow us to welcome you back the next time you are in Springfield. We are glad you enjoyed the gold fish.

Sincerely,

Kevin Klein
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed here for a conference. The room was fine and the daily breakfast buffet was convenient and tasty. However, they were having some issues while I was there. During one of my meetings the roof started leaking. Then the day I was leaving, the electricity went out twice and only one elevator worked. I understand problems arise, but it seemed a little out dated.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Receiving feedback from our guest enables us to improve while being able to accommodate all of our guests a little better upon each visit. Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Regards,

Kevin Klein
Assistant General Manager
(417)864-7333
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Descent hotel for Springfield. I stayed for work...very close to Missouri State University and the Springfield Cardinals are across the street. Clean room and good breakfast. They have food and a bar at the hotel. Plenty of parking and a large open atrium...would stay again as it is near MSU.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank beek83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
We do hope that you will find your way back to Springfield and to the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center sometime soon. Thank you very much for your review which mentions our convenient proximity to Missouri State University and the Downtown Entertainment District with its many dining and entertainment options. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Kevin Klein
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vandivort
Hotel Vandivort
#2 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Springfield
TownePlace Suites Springfield
#3 of 49 in Springfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including the full-service Grove Spa, Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing