We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed one night here while in Springfield for a wedding. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Arrangement suggests hotel could have been an Embassy Suites at one time (nine floors of rooms overlooking a large atrium) but the facility clearly has been updated in recent years. Did not have the opportunity to enjoy the complimentary breakfast, but it smelled great.

Room Tip: Downtown location probably attractive to people attending functions at Missouri State University.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retirees09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to provide us feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your patronage!

Our location in downtown Springfield is truly a great selling feature of our hotel and clean, comfortable and quiet rooms is always our goal. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with a wonderful overnight stay.

We know you have many choices when staying in downtown Springfield and we hope you will continue to visit us each time you are in town!

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,060)
There are newer reviews for University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

784 - 790 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed three nights at the University Plaza and it was a perfect stay. Plenty of complimentary parking, staff was friendly and accommodating, room was spacious and clean, wireless connection quick and easy. Complimentary breakfast had scrambled eggs, waffles, sausage, fresh fruit, something for every taste. Facility has plenty of common space to sit and visit and it is well kept and attractive.

Room Tip: King bed room was spacious and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us at the University Plaza Hotel. Your comments reflect the kind of service we strive to give each of our guest’s everyday, from the moment you pull up to the hotel to the time of check out and driving away, we give 110% luxury service.

Thank you again for your stay and your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

When I stayed at the hotel I had a great exprenice all of the workers were really thoughtful and up beat about asking if there was anything I could do to help me I was very impressed with Sara Riggs when I ordered room service she brought it up and greeted me with a big smile and was willing to actually have a conversation with me and not just want get back to her job she was a very sweet young lady who made my stay very enjoyable

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andywestfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Our Team highly appreciates your fantastic review. Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to provide your comments. We look forward to your next visit to wonderful Springfield and the University Plaza. Best wishes for continued safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Staff was nice enough, but air conditioner vent smelled and despite the high outside temperatures, the room never got old enough. Also scrapped my leg on a pole that held up the mattress. It was fixed immediately and was accompanied by a bag of ice sent to me for my swollen ankle. Food was okay, but I will not be returning....for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoshoesWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

It is disappointing when a guest leaves and feels they did not have their expectations met nor does it reflect the high standards of customer service that we set. While we never like to read that one of our guests has experienced poor service, we are always grateful for the feedback so that we may address the issues with our managers.

Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

While attending an event at Drury University we were given a choice in hotels. I went with University Plaza due to the proximity to the campus. I was happily surprised with the offer of a goldfish for my room upon check-in, an extremely friendly staff all around, a spa (always needed while traveling and so convenient), an offer of a free shuttle to a yoga class and legit complimentary wifi and full hot breakfast. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmWizzle33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us at the University Plaza Hotel. Your comments reflect the kind of service we strive to give each of our guest’s everyday, from the moment you pull up to the hotel, check out the goldfish and to the time of check out and driving away, we give 110% luxury service.

Thank you again for your stay and your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Have stayed here several times. Clean rooms, pretty good breakfast (needs small yogurt cartons, rather than a tub of yogurt), free internet (if Apple user, need to call internet support to connect), nice staff. Only complaint-was in a connecting room while the football team was there. Very loud, could hear all conversation in adjoining room (even restroom-TMI). I now know which rooms to request to not have rooms on either side. If there is a group being loud in the lobby, you will hear that, but seems to quiet down by 11 or midnight. Football team was unusually loud. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: when making reservation tell them what you want.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizzoumom001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Many thanks for your warm words regarding your experience. We take pride in providing service unlike any other which we feel sets us apart from other hotels in Springfield.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Springfield and the University Plaza very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The breakfast is awesome, they've got great mixed fruit yogurt, muffins, coffee cakes, and fruit along with the nessecities like sausage, bacon, and eggs. The waitresses are really nice especially Heidi and Kathy. They kept everything up to speed and always kept the tables clean and ready for you to eat even if there were a couple hundred people eating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kendall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel and the service Kathy and Heidi provided. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as humanly possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honored that you choose University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center while you were in Springfield. And we’re extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it and know that Kathy and Heidi will as well when I share it with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town. If I can do anything for you during your next visit to our hotel, please do not hesitate to call me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#11 of 49 in Springfield
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Springfield I-44
2.8 mi away
Oasis Hotel and Convention Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vandivort
Hotel Vandivort
#2 of 49 in Springfield
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: £81 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing