We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Springfield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Visiting our granddaughter at Missouri State - this is walkable to Plaster Field on the campus. Beautiful hotel, great desk staff, breakfast buffet and shuttle service for guests, very large room w/king bed, couch, coffee table, etc. Huge lobby with a bar and a restaurant. Perfect location to Missouri State. Have not one criticism of this hotel and highly recommend it!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

On behalf of the entire team, thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at the University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center. We are so humbled by your feedback and we truly value your loyalty!

Comments like yours truly inspire us to work harder every day to exceed our guests’ expectations always striving for Excellence. We can’t wait till our next opportunity to serve you and your family when your travels next bring you to Springfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Quiet clean and comfortable, this is one of the original Premier Hammonds hotels properties and is in the hometown of the franchise. JQH Arena is a 10 minute walk around the corner. Everything you can think of for breakfast, all items are fresh and taste good except the scrambled eggs. Will stay again.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and everything was fine, quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to provide us feedback on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your return patronage!

Our location in downtown Springfield is truly a great selling feature of our hotel and clean, comfortable and quiet rooms is always our goal. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with a wonderful overnight stay.

We know you have many choices when staying in downtown Springfield and we hope you will continue to visit us each time you are in town!

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I am from this area and have stayed here a lot over the years. They strive to update and keep this updated as it is one of the original Premier Hammonds hotels properties and in the hometown of the franchise. It is currently in one of the best state of repairs that it has been in for years. Breakfast and rates are great at 100.00. Workout facility is lacking and treadmills need to be thrown out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us at the University Plaza Hotel during your convention. Your comments reflect the kind of service we strive to give each of our guest’s everyday, from the moment you pull up to the hotel to the time of check out and driving away, we give 110% luxury service.

Thank you again for your stay and your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

To start, the entire property needs updating. 2) Investors of this hotel have complete disregard for the environment; many rooms are fitted with incandescent bulbs, in the year 2013!!! 3) TV's have HDMI cables but hotel management, in a very patronizing manner, makes sure guests cannot use them by disabling all TV functions, again in 2013 4) rooms are dark and unwelcoming. A " must not stay here again" on my list. By far one of the worst properties I have stayed lately. 5) Chemicals used in the room make nostrils "gag." 6) outlets are a rare commodity in rooms

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flexibleguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

It is disappointing when a guest leaves and feels they did not have their expectations met nor does it reflect the high standards of customer service that we set. While we never like to read that one of our guests has experienced poor service, we are always grateful for the feedback. The hotel has recently started a multi million dollar renovation which will include many of the items you mentioned in your review.

Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here for the Pro Bull Riding Event at the JQH Arena which is a 10 minute walk around the corner. We stayed in one of the suites which was large, clean and comfortable. The only downside was that it smelt a bit musty. The reception and bar staff were friendly and helpful. The service was efficient even though it was very busy with all the cowboys and their entourage. We ate a couple of Kobe beef burgers in the bar area which were tasty. There is a hot buffet breakfast which is nice but with it being so busy there was limited seating. There is an indoor pool and outdoor pool which was pleasant and a bit of a sun trap. There is free on-site parking. Overall it was a good stay and would stay here again if in the area

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peepies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as humanly possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honored that you choose University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center while you were in Springfield, and we’re extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town. If I can do anything for you during your next visit to our hotel, please do not hesitate to call me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Construction currently going on outside on the building. Very loud, making it hard to relax and enjoy the stay. Hopefully they are also planning to replace the AC/Heat unit. Room would not cool down, had it set to 62 and always felt hot. King bed mattress needed to be replaced, it rolled you to the middle it was so worn out. HDTV nice, water hot, & staff friendly.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank misto417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you so much for your review from your recent stay at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center!

We have started a multi million dollar renovation and I appologize for the inconvenience during this process.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Was there recently for a conference. Been the last several years. Staff is great but the hotel needs to invest and update the property to keep peeps coming. Rooms need a little more TLC overall. Noticed they were replacing some old glass in some windows.u h needed. Included hot breakfast is very good and out does most. Banquet food is average. Sad to say our conference will be moving next year in the state due to other newly remodeled hotels a better value. But will miss coming here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the University Plaza Hotel We are currently undergoing a multi million dollar renovation which you mentioned on the exterior of the hotel with interior renovations beginning in 2014.

Receiving feedback from our guest enables us to improve while being able to accommodate all of our guests a little better upon each visit. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review in regards to your stay at the University Plaza Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
2.8 mi away
Oasis Hotel and Convention Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#13 of 52 in Springfield
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#9 of 52 in Springfield
726 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coach House
Best Western Plus Coach House
#10 of 52 in Springfield
911 reviews
2.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Springfield
TownePlace Suites Springfield
#12 of 52 in Springfield
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: £77 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing