We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our three night stay here on a trip to Springfield. The wide open atrium was lovely and it was nice to have the bar there for a convenient drink. The glass elevators were nice and fast. Our king bed room was huge and nicely furnished for the low price we were able to find online. It was quiet and we didn't have any problems sleeping. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful and arranged for the shuttle take us downtown one night it was raining. Otherwise, the hotel is only a few block walk to the downtown area so in nice weather it is very convenient. We didn't use the pool but the gym equipment was nice with 2 treadmills and 2 ellipticals. The free breakfast was pretty basic and some of it was not hot anymore by the time we got there but the make-your-own waffles were great.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flonlolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
What a pleasure it was having you stay with us at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center. Located in the heart of downtown Springfield, we are just steps from popular destinations including MSU and Hammons Field.

We look forward to welcoming your return the next time you are visiting Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    229
    124
    65
    49
See reviews for
244
133
38
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We first stayed here because of the proximity to the convention center. Our family loves everything about this hotel - especially the helpful staff and yummy breakfast. The downfall is that it's always crowded. Having a free shuttle makes that less of a hassle. The goldfish in our room is an unexpected bonus!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p44girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Many thanks for your warm words regarding your experience. We take pride in providing service unlike any other which we feel sets us apart from other hotels in Springfield.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Springfield and the University Plaza very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
493 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel is near downtown with plenty of parking. Check-in was convenient, and the staff was nice enough to promptly move us to a different room when we discovered our room had a noisy heating/cooling system. Our suite was clean, tastefully decorated, roomy. I did notice a paucity of outlets in the bedroom though, but we were able to make do. The free hot breakfast buffet was delicious and convenient. The gym had modern equipment. The hotel also has free fish (possibly betta) that you can keep in your room, but they were all checked out when I asked. I was really pleased with this hotel stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank interviewtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
It makes us very pleased to hear that you were very happy with your stay. All of the features that you mentioned — including the location, Gold Fish, staff, and breakfast — are why many people choose to stay with us and we are glad that these made the difference in your experience here.

We do hope that you find the time to return again to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Our granddaughter recently was married in Springfield, Mo. This hotel was a perfect choice! We had all ages, from 1 to 72 years. Could not have had nicer staff or better accommodations. Perfect for visiting with each other and still being able to watch the children. Everyone commented that it was the perfect place! Kathy and Heidi made us feel so welcome and were very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with other guests and for pointing out the quality that our hotel offers as compared to all others in the area as well as mentioning Heidi and Kathy.

We definitely do our best to show guests high ratio quality for the value and we are thrilled that you experienced this during your visit to University Plaza Hotel. Congrats to your Granddaughter, we are happy to have made this a memorable stay.

We appreciate that you have stayed with us on more than one occasion and we thank you for continuing to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I recently stayed at the University Plaza Hotel for a conference and I was very impressed with the accommodations and the friendliness of the staff. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the time I spent hanging out in the atrium was very relaxing. Katelin and her trainer, Susan, were very helpful and welcoming. Can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us at the University Plaza Hotel. Your comments reflect the kind of service we strive to give each of our guest’s everyday, from the moment you pull up to the hotel to the time of check out and driving away, we give 110% luxury service.

Thank you again for your stay and your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed with hotel recently on a personal trip to Springfield. All of the staff were very pleasant, kind, and accommodating. I do have to say that the front desk staff mainly Susan and Katelin were very kind and made me feel at home. The rooms were very clean with no issues, not to mention the bed was super comfortable. I do think the hotel could use some renovations, but overall this stay was perfect. I will recommend all of my friends to this deal of a hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwboomer2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Our Team highly appreciates your fantastic review. Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to provide your comments, our renovations have recently started and we look forward to you experiencing them soon. We look forward to your next visit to wonderful Springfield and the University Plaza.

Best wishes for continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

During my extended stay at university plaza hotel, the evening staff was very welcoming and friendly especially the bar staff ( Kevin, Anna, Sara and Daniel Paine) were very entertaining, knowledgeable and helpful. The Bell men during my stay were equally as helpful specifically Jordan and Gitano. They were always on time and friendly. Although I ran into zero problems on my vacation and loved staying at this hotel, it could use some updating including the bar lounge area and the beds in the rooms. All in all I had a wonderful time and would recommend anyone to stay here on vacation or business ventures.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleenivazes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We do hope that you will find your way back to Springfield and to the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center sometime soon. Thank you very much for your review which mentions Kevin, Anna, Sara, Jordan, Gitano and Daniel Paine. I will be sure to pass your comments to them.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vandivort
Hotel Vandivort
#3 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Springfield
TownePlace Suites Springfield
#2 of 49 in Springfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including the full-service Grove Spa, Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing