We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice stay for the money”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very clean room which is most important to me when I choose a hotel! Large bathroom which is also a plus! Loved having a fridge/freezer in our room, didn't have to make so many trips to the ice machine! Nice views of the courtyard which had lots of cozy tables to relax and have a drink at. Did not use the restaurant downstairs, but liked it's location and setup.
The only thing I can complain about is there was not an outlet on the nightstand to charge your phone, the walls were a bit thin (tv next door was actually keeping us awake close to midnight),and housekeeping needs to double check their bed making skills, the sheets weren't even close to being tucked in at the end of both beds...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
On behalf of the entire team at University Plaza Hotel, we would like to thank you for your kind review.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    240
    128
    68
    50
See reviews for
254
134
38
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Last minute reservation and I am so glad we chose this property! Beautiful lobby, EXCELLENT HOT BREAKFAST. Room was very clean and comfortable.
Kathy and Heidi were so accommodating and helpful.
Ordered room service and it arrived quickly and was delicious.
We will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiemlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and positive rating from your recent stay at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center! It was our pleasure to host you and we are thrilled to hear that everything exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to your return, perhaps for future vacations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this property a few times. The staff gets better with each visit the rooms are large and clean. I wanted to stay in and relax for the evening I was able to place my dinner order in advance and it arrived as promised at 630pm that evening. Thank you to the chiefs Aaron and Chad the moment I lifted the covers off my plate to the last bite of key lime cheesecake I was in food heaven. In room or in the restaurant you will not be disappointed with the level of service and quality of food.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Charity A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are always delighted to hear from our returning guests and are honored to be considered your favorite hotel in Springfield. We are so pleased you experienced excellent and accommodating service from our staff.

We look forward to continuing to exceed your expectations during your future visits with University Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights for our 35th anniversary. We were close enough to the Springfield Cardinals to walk, which we loved! The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great, plenty of foods to choose from and we had more than enough. Thanks to Chef Jerry, as well as Kathy and Heidi! We will stay here again! !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for selecting University Plaza Hotel for your recent conference stay. We could not be happier that you enjoyed our helpful team, convenient location and luxurious guestroom accommodations. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Went there for dinner for something new and was very surprised! The food was excellent and the service was superb! We even had a few drinks with dinner that were great. Thank you Dan and the cooks Mike and Chad. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank polopolopol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
University Plaza Hotel, is delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere, people and food at the Terrace Grille We will be sure to share your kind feedback with the chef! We can’t wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Fantastic hotel in Springfield, walking distance from Hammons Field and close to downtown. Very open and scenic lobby with a great hot breakfast. For a buffet style breakfast, the waiter Tate was very friendly and courteous. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sportsguru7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
University Plaza Hotel is delighted to receive your praises and hear that we exceeded your expectations. It is our mission to truly delight and satisfy our guests. Thank you so much for your kind comments about Tate as well, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Our stay at University Plaza was fantastic. Clean rooms and great breakfast. Tate really took care of us and went above and beyond to make sure all our needs were met. Will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footballmom69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for selecting University Plaza Hotel for your recent conference stay. We could not be happier that you enjoyed our helpful team, convenient location and luxurious guestroom accommodations. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#11 of 49 in Springfield
698 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Route 66 Rail Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vandivort
Hotel Vandivort
#2 of 49 in Springfield
936 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
2.8 mi away
Oasis Hotel and Convention Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including the full-service Grove Spa, Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing