We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old lady not so grand any more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Springfield
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We upgraded to a suite. The door was hard to open, both the handle was messed up at the door itself was hard to open. The room smelled like it had been wet, my daughter said it smelled like a dirty wet sock. Breakfast included in price was decent, swimming pool nice. Front desk staff were nice but not overly friendly. What once was a great property is now pretty average.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeyr599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We are always delighted to hear from our returning guests and are honored to be considered one of your favorite hotels in Springfield. We are so pleased you experienced excellent and accommodating service from our staff, and found our guestrooms to be spacious and comfortable. We look forward to continuing to exceed your expectations during your future visits with University Plaza Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

The service for breakfast was amazing! The food was good and the staff was great. Our server Kathy really took care of us. There were a lot of options on the breakfast bar for cold and hot choices. There were also several drink choices. The lobby area is very nice and I lived the waterfall.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sativa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

University Plaza Hotel, is delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere, people and food at the Terrace Grille We will be sure to share your kind feedback with the chef!

We can’t wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were very pleased with our stay here! The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The lobby is absolutely gorgeous and the views from the top were really awesome. We felt as if we were staying in a high end hotel, but paid a very affordable price for our one night stay. The breakfast is better than most places and we were surprised that it was included because of how much it included. It feels as if you are eating in a real restaurant and not a hotel lobby. Both the indoor and outdoor pool areas are very clean and well kept. I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a good view and less noise form the open floor plan of the establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Our Team highly appreciates your fantastic review. Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to provide your comments. We look forward to your next visit to wonderful Springfield and the University Plaza. Best wishes for continued safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I travel here every week for work. I love the location of the hotel as well as the hotel offerings. The restaurant and the spa are wonderful, I have used both. I love the coffee and the free breakfast as well. I love the room service. Tate, Mike and Aaron made a wonderful meal for me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for all your kind remarks about our team and our hotel! Our team works hard to create a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere and it's great to hear you enjoyed it.

Thank you, again, for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

From the moment we drive up we knew our stay would be great! Sam the bellhop helped with our luggage and placed it in our room. Sam was smiling and pleasant the whole time! We learned the next day he took an employee to the ER who was ill! How awesome was that!! I hope I don't miss anyone from the Desk because each of them were friendly and crazy polite! Susan checked us in quickly, Emily gave us directions, Jen called for maintenance when we had a tub issue and was so apologetic about it, Katelin told us about an amazing pizza place Pappos! Gitano drove us there in the spotless van (we travel a bunch and most vans ARE NOT CLEAN!!) Amelia told us about a great breakfast place, which Sam drove us to. I I am not sure if it was Chad or Aaron who made my steak I had the second night we were there....but let me say was the most amazing piece of beef I have ever shoved in my mouth! Not often you get to meet the chef but we did because they were visible in the dining area and spoke to us at our table! A very sweet young man named George brought us some extra towels because we had walked all over downtown and was very sweaty when Gitano picked us up (poor guy I hope we didn't stink too bad!) I really hope I didn't leave anyone out! Whew! To say the least we will be back again! Only downside to our stay the rooms are a little outdated, but the well trained friendly staff makes up for it!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tankatesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

I can’t begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel. The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as humanly possible. When we accomplish that goal we’ve done our job. I am so honored that you choose University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center while you were in Springfield. And we’re extremely grateful that you took the time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback and recognize our amazing staff. I really appreciate it and know the team will as well when I share it with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town, we are starting renovations of the interior in August, I am sure you will be pleased. If I can do anything for you during your next visit to our hotel, please do not hesitate to call me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Quiet hotel tho it is a large hotel., staff at registration desk and on phone for reservations very calm and pleasant. Beds were very comfortable. Hotel was very clean. Great complimentary full ( hot ) breakfast. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rndeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We do hope that you will find your way back to Springfield and to the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center sometime soon. Thank you very much for your review we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We are here with a group of car enthusiests for an Antique Car show and meeting our experience at this hotel has been very good. The rooms are very neat and tidy. The staff are courteous and efficient and the restaurant facilities are very good. We were looked after by Tate from the restaurant and found him to be very friendly and helpful which made our experience all the more enjoyable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Our Team highly appreciates your fantastic review. Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to provide your comments. We look forward to your next visit to wonderful Springfield and the University Plaza. Best wishes for continued safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
2.8 mi away
Oasis Hotel and Convention Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#13 of 52 in Springfield
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#9 of 52 in Springfield
726 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coach House
Best Western Plus Coach House
#10 of 52 in Springfield
911 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: £77 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing