We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Springfield, mo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The rooms were dirty and we had mold on our ceiling. The front desk staff was very unprofessional, rude, and not accommodating at all. I have been to a lot of hotels and this was by far the worst experience.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marisafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Please accept our sincere apology for the issues you experienced during your recent stay. We strive every day to make sure our guest enjoy their time with us and have a pleasant night's sleep. Unfortunately this did not happen in your case, and we can offer no excuses.

Your comments have been shared with all of our staff with the hopes of improving our service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    228
    122
    65
    49
See reviews for
242
132
38
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We are on our way to drop our daughter off at college. Spent the night here and loved everything about it. Lovely spacious room, excellent hot and cold breakfast buffet and comfortable beds. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. We were able to walk for 5 minutes and had a dozen choices for supper. Great experience!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for all your kind remarks about our team and our hotel! Our team works hard to create a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere and it's great to hear you enjoyed it.

It sounds like you enjoyed some of the great aspects of our city. Hopefully you'll be back to visit our beautiful city soon!

Thank you, again, for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here this past weekend. Woke up sunday morming with two large itchy bites on my forearm. Got on my ipad and looked up bed bugs. Pictures were identical. A bed bug info web site said they hide when there is light in room and come out at night. Evidence of bed bugs is tiny black dots which is their feces. When I moved the matress away from the box spring, not only were there small black dots but hairs and dirt as well. I then informed the front desk and they moved me to another room. They then sent up 4 people that seemed to be housekeeping and it appeared they started to clean. I asked for some form of compensation for the inconvenience. If you experience bed bugs in a hotel you are supposed to quarantine your clothes and bags when home. I felt that this inconvenience was worthy of some form of compensation. They informed me that they would have an extermination company inspect and get back to me. They contacted me hours later stating the exterminator found no signs of bed bug activity. I wasn't surprised given the fact that housekeeping may have cleaned up any evidence. I then checked trip advisor and found another person who had a bed bug experience as well. This hotel is tired and outdated. The comforters seem to be at least 10 years old and my guess is they are rarely washed. Probably great environment for bed bugs, hair, etc...

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We empathize with the circumstance that you endured recently. Here at the University Plaza Hotel, we are committed to offering both personalized service and a clean and comfortable environment for all of our guests.

After receiving your complaint our staff immediately began investigating by conducting an internal inspection of the guest room by members of management, not the housekeeping team to clean the room. To further examine, we asked our service partner, a global provider of hygiene technologies and services to conduct a separate inspection. Upon completion, both tests indicated our guest rooms were completely free of bed bugs and of optimal cleanliness, this report was sent to you earlier this week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and couldn't have been more pleased. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and the pool was great. The free breakfast was about the best hotel breakfast I've ever had in both selection and quality. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLSmith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Many thanks for your warm words regarding your experience. We take pride in providing service unlike any other which we feel sets us apart from other hotels in Springfield.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Springfield and the University Plaza very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. Public spaces are very attractive. Place is fresh and clean looking and smelling. Room was pretty standard in size, lay out, and amenities provided. Bed was quite comfortable. Room seemed very quiet for a downtown location. I slept well. Staff was very polite and gracious.

Service in the restaurant was slow and expensive. Food was good enough, though not exceptional and a little challenging for my diet restrictions.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay, wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend though I normally choose less expensive options for my travel. This was very convenient for us.

Room Tip: Long walk from elevator to rooms at the back. Request a room nearer the elevator if you have mobili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaMyra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and positive rating from your recent stay at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center! It was our pleasure to host you and we are thrilled to hear that everything exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Point, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Ashley Higginbothem told us about University Plaza and set us up for a wonderful stay there. The rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was great, pools clean and had everything you would need by them down to apples in the workout room. Staff was kind and friendly and always there to help and answer questions. I will be back and would tell anyone I know to stay there if traveling to Missouri !

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room, it was spacious, clean and comfortable. We were on the third floor our f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Our Team highly appreciates your fantastic review. Thank you so very much for staying with us and taking the time to provide your comments. We look forward to your next visit to Springfield and the University Plaza.

Best wishes for continued safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldrich, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The location has always been perfect for a night downtown, or at The Shrine Mosque. The Standard King room was spacious, with a loveseat sized sofa, flat screen TV. Bathroom was a little cramped, and no exhaust fan so showers were a little steamy. The bed was very comfortable. No fridge in the rooms, bring a cooler. The breakfast was typical continental, with fruit, yogurt, eggs, biscuits/gravy and make your own waffles. I'm not a fan of the instant coffee machines that use a liquid concentrate, but it was drinkable. Hey! It was included, so I shouldn't gripe~
All in all, a nice comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Only 2 elevators, side by side-if you have mobility issues, you will need to be close to the elevato...
See more room tips
Green Features: uh....never thought of it. Even though we didn't ask for one, having Goldfish sent to your room for companionship is a neat idea. Maybe next time we'll ask for a fishy friend in our room.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
What a pleasure it was having you stay with us at the University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center. Located in the heart of downtown Springfield, we are just steps from popular destinations including MSU and Hammons Field.

We look forward to welcoming your return the next time you are visiting Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Springfield - Downtown
3.1 mi away
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
Greenstay Hotel & Suites
#10 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vandivort
Hotel Vandivort
#3 of 49 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Springfield
TownePlace Suites Springfield
#2 of 49 in Springfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Springfield
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Route 66 Rail Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center

Property: University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 333 S John Q Hammons Pkwy, Springfield, MO 65806-2543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
#8 Green Hotel in Springfield
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL & CONVENTION CENTER Downtown Lodging at the Top of Its Class! Experience the warm hospitality and personalized service that sets University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center apart. Visitors delight in our first-class accommodations and resort-style amenities. Conveniently located a few short minutes from Springfield-Branson National Airport (SGF) and thirty minutes from Branson, MO our hotel is ideal for both leisure and corporate guests.• Convenient access to Missouri State University, Drury University and Ozark Technical College• Sophisticated meeting and event space both on property and at the adjacent Springfield Expo Center• Breakfast buffet and fine dining at Terrace Grill• Ideal location in the heart of downtown Springfield• Close to area businesses and recreational attractions• Extensive amenities including the full-service Grove Spa, Q Street Perk proudly serving Starbucks, indoor and outdoor pools, and business center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing