We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Rough Around the Edges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn Medical District
Ranked #30 of 49 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A Little Rough Around the Edges”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have stayed in Sleep Inns before, so when Hotwire revealed this one as our Hot Rate Deal, we were pleased. The staff was nice but not overly warm, the indoor pool was small and cold, the breakfast area was small and crowded. Our room was disappointing, the only plus was it was on the first floor. The bed was hard and the mattress looked like something from an economy motel. Nothing was really wrong with the room, it just needed a little TLC to make it look nice. The view out our window was of another wall about 10 feet away. The A/C unit was the wall type and was hard to control to keep the temperature steady.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carym357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnSGF, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn Medical District, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Hello clubfoot57!

Thank you for taking the time to honestly review our hotel!
I'm sorry you weren't more satisified with your stay in May. We are working toward upgrading more of the property. Hopefully you will be able to return and be pleasantly surprised!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    48
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
52
30
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Excellent location. Close to food, shopping and highway access. Ronnie at the front desk was very helpful and directed me to a fantastic custard place located a short walk away. Will most definitely file this hotel away for my next trip to Springfield.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardsfan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnSGF, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn Medical District, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Hello Cardsfan20!!

We thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor!! And a extra big Thank You for the excellent review! As always, we will do anything we can to make your next stay with us fantastic!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Although my trip here was only for a night, it was pleasant. We were in town for a soccer trip for the weekend. The check-in was quick, room was clean, and the hotel is near everything you would need. The breakfast was nice and the internet was quick. I'm sure we will be back next year for the trip. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jroed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnSGF, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn Medical District, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Hello jroed!

Thank you for taking time to submit an awesome review of our hotel! We're very glad you were here for one of our "Soccer Team" weekends. As always, we do our best to make sure our guests have everything they need as well as a clean, comfortable place to stay. We are looking forward to seeing you on your next trip! Don't wait til soccer, come see us anytime!
Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Although there are more upscale hotels in Springfield, my husband and I like to stay at the Sleep Inn if possible due to the amazing rates we can get and the internet. The staff is always friendly and is more than happy to help with any issues. They even have a happy hour when you can get free snacks and drinks (alcoholic included). They have recently updated, especially the front desk area. The rooms could use extra updating but I do like their showers! HOT HOT water! The beds are really comfortable to me. They just replaced them a few months ago.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnSGF, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn Medical District, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Hello Samantha H!!
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are always competitive with our rates and welcomes guests that are savvy shoppers!! We do want to let you know that the Happy Hour has been discontinued in order to upgrade to our full hot breakfast and add internet bandwidth and more HD channels. So glad you noticed our updates to the hotel... more will be coming this year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The staff was very friendly. The rooms were amazingly clean. The breakfast was very nice with biscuits/gravy, sausage, waffles, cereal, fruit, etc. The indoor pool was really nice for the kids. I will definitely stay here again. The only thing I missed was not having a fridge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnSGF, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn Medical District, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Hi SSFlower!!
Thank you for the great review on TripAdvisor. We're glad to know you'll be coming back to see us again! And we are trying to add fridges and microwaves to the rooms this year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently to take advantage of the Choice Privileges promotion. This is a solid hotel and a good value for the price. Not swanky, but it's a Sleep Inn. Good place! Try it...you will like it.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnSGF, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn Medical District, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Hello Barry H!!
We appreciate the time you took to give us a good review on TripAdvisor! Our business travelers are the backbone of the hotel industry! Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We recently took our family and our German foreign exchange student to Springfield, MO for Spring Break. We had hoped to go camping, but there was a big snowstorm forecasted. Because there were 6 of us, we needed two rooms. We had been assigned our connecting rooms when we made our reservations. Whene we got there, though, there were no connecting rooms. We were then assigned rooms that we were told were across the hall from each other. They weren't, though. It was a bad time, especially when my son became sick in the middle of the night. The next morning, we were told we could move into adjoining rooms if we waited. We wanted to get our sightseeing in, though, so we weren't able to wait. They blocked out the rooms for us, and we were able to move the next morning. I will say that this could have been handled much better. The man on the first night was rude to us and I felt that he wasn't taking our needs into consideration. Everyone else I dealt with, though, was kind, courteous, helpful and friendly.

The breakfast was pretty good, except for the sausages. They were undercooked and soggy. On our last day, though, they were smaller, and cooked better.

We really enjoyed the pool and the hot tub. There were signs posted that said you had to be 18 or under the supervision of an adult to be in the pool room. There were a group of unsupervised teens who were taking control of the pool and making it unsafe for the families. They were warned by staff to behave. After two warnings, they finally got calm. Great job to the staff for taking control of the situation. The pool area is really nice, and the hot tub is great! We spent a lot of time in the pool.

The rooms are cramped, and there aren't a lot of outlets. The lighting was very nice. Lots of different options on how light / dark the room could be. The beds were very small and close to the ground, which made the room feel claustrophobic. You coul hear everything in the hallway, and you could hear conversations and the footsteps of the people in the rooms above you. The doors don't close properly, and leave a space where the light from the hallways seeps into the rooms. We had this with all 4 rooms we were in. The bathrooms are small, but I really liked the shower and the lighting. My husband is tall, and since the shower doors don't go up very high, when he showered, the floor got soaked. It was almost like we were giants in a Lilliputin room.

The hotel itself is really beautiful. It is pet friendly, as well. We loved the proximity of convenience stores within walking distance; it's cheaper to get snacks and drinks at the Casey's rather than the vending machines. There are lots of ice machines. The breakfast room is cheerful, and there are tables in two sections; even though there were a couple of basketball teams there, we had plenty of places to sit.

Although it was't a bad experience, there are simple things that could be done to make it better.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valkgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnSGF, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn Medical District, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Hi Valkgal!!
Thank you for bringing your family to stay with us this year! I'm so glad we were able to get you into connecting rooms... finally! We do apologize for the inconvenience of have to move you the morning after you had already arrived.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#29 of 49 in Springfield
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Medical District
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 49 in Springfield
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Springfield South
1.2 mi away
Arbor Suites Medical Mile
Arbor Suites Medical Mile
#33 of 49 in Springfield
187 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Medical District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Medical District

Property: Sleep Inn Medical District
Address: 233 E Camino Alto, Cnr. S. Campbell & Hwy. 60, Springfield, MO 65810-1782
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Medical District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our newly remodeled hotel featuring the Sleep Inn “Design to Dream” Guest Rooms, just minutes from the Original Bass Pro Shops Outdoor World. We are conveniently located off James River Frwy (Hwy 60) and South Campbell (Hwy 160), our newly remodeled guest rooms and hotel amenities are designed for both the Leisure and Business traveler, and near attractions including America’s Wildlife Museum and Aquarium, plus: • The Medical Mile – Cox Health & Mercy Hospital • Missouri State University and Drury University • JQH Arena • Battlefield Mall • Fantastic Caverns Enjoy our guest rooms featuring new furnishings and decor, bright colors, free Wi-Fi, and ergonomic work stations. Additional amenities include our free Morning Medley breakfast buffet including Southern Style biscuits and gravy, Krispy Kreme donuts, free coffee, and: • Free Wi-Fi • Indoor Heated Pool and Hot Tub • Free Access to Local Health Club • 24 Hour Coffee Service in the Lobby • Free Weekday Newspaper Make yourself at home in our guest rooms – featuring a refrigerator, coffeemaker, premium bedding, hair dryers, and Flat Screen TV. Select rooms come with Sofa Sleeper and Jetted Tub. Exceed your expectations at our newly remodeled Simply Stylish hotel with cozy accommodations, and great rates at our Sleep Inn Medical District – reserve your guest room with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn Medical District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Springfield
Springfield Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing