We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I was expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Springfield - South
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Springfield
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My parents booked the room for us through Priceline. We walked in on Friday, and had to call for the desk clerk to come check us in. Fine. No problem. I understand security concerns. We were put on the smoking floor. Immediately off the elevator, the smell of smoke was overwhelming. Our room smelled heavily of stale smoke.
The room seemed a bit run down, the carpet had burn holes in it, the recliner in the room was filthy, there were stains on the door to the bathroom. I also have to say the lack of silverware, and dishware is disappointing. Also, our bed was hard as a rock, and some of the outlets in the room did not work.
Another complaint, no shampoo, or lotion. And no pens or paper in the room.
Saturday, our room was never touched or made up even though I saw the housekeeping staff working across the hallway from our room. We walked to the gas station down the road, and upon returning to the third floor, were met with the overwhelming smell of marijuana.
The clientele of this hotel seems to be on the trashy side which is a bit unnerving when you walk around after dark. The only redeeming quality of this hotel was the front desk staff was very pleasant to deal with. I don't think I'd stay here again. The hotel looks nice on the outside, but those looks are deceiving.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tempus-fugit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Region39, Manager at Extended Stay America - Springfield - South, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

"Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us your feedback. It is appreciated and we will utilize it by continuing to focus on making each guests stay the best it can be. We apologize for not offering shampoo, lotion, etc. in the rooms, however we do provide an amenity basket located at the front desk, to take what you would need for your stay. We realize you came in after hours and apologize for our staff member not making you aware of this. In regards to the daily housekeeping, we do not clean rooms on a daily basis. Our housekeeping services are based on your length of stay, but we are more than happy to exchange your linens at the front desk. We wanted to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we do hope we can of service to you again in the future. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times this year and have found the staff always courteous and accomodating; rooms clean and the surrounding area is nice. It is only a short distance from a large shopping area and is convenient to freeways.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to Kingsley street were best for me because the other side has residents with dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Region39, Manager at Extended Stay America - Springfield - South, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Evelyn, I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I Travel alot all over the USA and havn't stayed at any motel with A nicer staff.Each and every one there always will smile and say Good Morning or Afternoon.The room was nice and clean great flatscreen tv. YFI was verry good inital loggin for two week stay only one logg.Great resteraunt choices near serveral in walking distance. YOU WILL NOT GET A BETTER DEAL FOR YOUR BUCK My home away from home Family was Great Is good when you know can come home from work and half your host family all wave and ask if i need anything Haley Anna Ashley Shey Tammy Ramona Kaila Stephaine Evie And Jeff the maint guy. Each and ever one of the weill help you with motel needs all you have too do is ask Makes staying away from my beautifull wife easier James Spicer

Room Tip: Excelent resteraunts within walking distance of room fast food too TRY BRAMS
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Region39, Manager at Extended Stay America - Springfield - South, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

James- Thank you so very much for your nice review of our property. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I've visited Springfield, MO several times through the years and have stayed at several different motels each time. I have to say this was the best motel yet. First of all, Springfield has grown quite a bit over the last 50 years. The population is now 160,000. Most of the older motels are along Route 66 and I-44 on the north side of Springfield. A lot of new growth is on the south side of the city, along the James River Freeway or US 60. Extended Stay America is a new motel in this new, fast growing part of the city. It was easy to reach. I took the National Ave. exit off of the James River Freeway, turned south on National Ave. and then east on Kingsley St. Several other large multi story motels, and businesses, with landscaped grounds, are in this area. Just north of the James River Freeway is a large hospital complex. The south side of Springfield may not be the best location if you are traveling along I-44, and don't want to detour a long distance off of the interstate just to spend the night. But if you are heading south towards Branson, MO the next morning, and want to be near shops and restaurants, the south side of Springfield is a great location to stay. The motel itself was fine. Very good value, and I got a good night's sleep. I would definitely stay here the next time I'm in Springfield. One more thing I'd like to point out. The overpass of National Avenue over the James River Freeway is very unusual. Traffic turns to the left side of the overpass as you are heading north, and to the right side as you are heading south. It is almost as if you are suddenly in England where you drive on the left side of the road. It seems confusing at first, but follow the signs and do as the natives do, and you will be okay. The reason behind this unusual overpass is that it is supposed to help with the flow of traffic, especially for those who are turning onto the James River Freeway.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallTexWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Springfield - South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay America Springfield - South. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I don't think you could ever find a better staff at any hotel. They were working on renovations, new TV's, new beds. Everything we needed was immediately attended to by a very friendly and quick staff. Price was very good.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor. Used their elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Springfield - South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you so very much for your glowing review of our hotel. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. We know you have many lodging options in the area, which is why providing you and every guest with professional, friendly service is our priority.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I am in the room right now. 1) door handles upon entry to the lobby are very worn and look very dirty - very first clue something was amiss 2) upon check-in was told that WiFi did not require a passcode - but it does - indicates that staff are uninformed 3) the staff is very friendly and helpful 4) no complimentary toiletry items at front desk 5) room reeked of cigarette smoked, elected to keep room since it was so convenient to first floor entrance - bought Lysol spray and fumagated the room and have both full sized windows open for fresh air circulation 6) no utensils, not one fork, which is okay, think I wouldn't use it anyway 7) full sized refrigerator w/ freezer including 2 ice trays - full too, wont' use of course 8) Large screen HD TV woot 9) shower is fixed to wall - no undercarriage cleaning - do not know yet if during showing it backs up or stand in ankle deep water 10) can't change hotels, this was gov't contracted - good location though - Zio's Italian next door/ Texas Roadhouse 1/2 mi. 11) no coffee pot, not even a little 4 cupper 12) microwave heats Hot Pockets very well 13) have not pulled back spread or sat/lay on bed - can't say about the mattress yet 14) internet can support GW2!

Well that's it so far, had to fumagate and place lysol spray on all common use areas/knobs/handles/ tv remote/refrigerator/toilet/floor of bathtub etc.

I'm won't come back - if they enforced the no smoking policy and cleaned the worn accoutraments first, that would be a start.

Room Tip: first floor, near the lobby has the best wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Springfield - South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

I recently received a copy of your review of our hotel. Our company prides itself on excellent guest service, so it was gratifying to read your feedback about our staff. We are glad you liked the new flat screen tv's in your room too. I would like to give you my most heartfelt apology regarding the part of your stay that was not satisfactory.

I do appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns about the condition of your room. Please know that we have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent a situation like yours from occurring. Only certain rooms are designated as smoking rooms, the rest as non-smoking. It should never be the case that a guest who requests a non-smoking room is placed in a smoking room or even one which smells like smoke.

As well, our housekeeping staff strives to provide clean rooms and an overall property for our guests to enjoy. I apologize if this was not evident in your room and will speak with my staff to ensure we correct this moving forward. We also will work to ensure our complimentary amenties behind the front desk are fully stocked so they can be given to guests as needed.

Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other brand location in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I am presently typing from this very room. The carpet in the lobby tells the story of the entire hotel...Dirty, smelly and disgusting...we are in town for 1 night in order to take a test tomorrow for our ministry class...we booked on Expedia and unfortunately no refunds are allowed this late in the game....
The elevator smelled like sweaty socks, the hallway smells like an ashtray, and the stairway is gross.
Our room had a good air conditioner. The desk was clean, the lights worked and the wi-fi has been good.
The bed is a very small queen if it is even a queen. It is hard as a rock and again the carpet is disgusting. The frig in our room has a very musty smell too.
Sorry to say, even with the price I will mark this one off the list of possibilities from now on...its just too horrible to contemplate staying again...

Room Tip: buy a tent its nicer....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay America Springfield - South. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Springfield South
0.2 mi away
Arbor Suites Medical Mile
Arbor Suites Medical Mile
#32 of 51 in Springfield
189 reviews
24.0 mi away
Value Place Springfield
Value Place Springfield
#38 of 51 in Springfield
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Medical District
Sleep Inn Medical District
#29 of 51 in Springfield
134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arbor Suites At The Mall
Arbor Suites At The Mall
#36 of 51 in Springfield
120 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 51 in Springfield
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Springfield - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Springfield - South

Address: 1333 E Kingsley St, Springfield, MO 65804-7216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Springfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range: £45 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Springfield - South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Extended Stay America - Springfield - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Springfield
Springfield Extended Stay
Extended Stay Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing