We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for overnight”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stanton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meramac Caverns Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanton
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice for overnight”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Meramec Caverns Motel mostly because of the location right on the river. The room was clean and big enough. We had a little trouble with one of the beds and the management attended to it immediately. Everything is right there, the entrance to the cave, a restaurant, zip line, riverboat ride, picnicking and camping. We went to the camp grounds, pulled up our chairs and relaxed right on the the river. We slept well. That being said, I had difficulty with not having phone service or a phone in the room. There is a pay phone outside the office. I am a little shy when it comes to being that .... turned off. We had good TV reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelgalMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel, but we did drive here to visit the caverns and take the canoe trip. After we paid $37, we were loaded in a minivan and taken to a location up river and dropped off. They set everything up for us, all we had to do was get in the canoe and start paddling. it took us 3 hours to make it 6 miles (we stopped twice at campgrounds along the way for breaks) Cant wait to do another canoe trip!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
332 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

FIrst of all ..I am not sure what the picture is of with the price on top of the motel..as this looks nothing like where we stayed when there.
The outside is clean and well kept. As are the rooms..some are retro, but have been kept and other rooms have been updated. Our room faced the river and picnic area and just a short walk to the cave. Beds are comfortable and room is spacious.
What a wonderful place to have family reunion! Float the river, fish, play in the water, bonfire, picnic areas... Relax and enjoy!!

Room Tip: If you find it hard to climb stairs, ask for room on lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank makerofdreams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This is a tourist motel associated with the caverns and dates back from the early days of Rt 66. The rooms are old, but very well maintained. The TV is outdated, but It would be a waste to watch TV there anyway because the surroundings are awesome. The motel faces the campground and river which is very picturesque and quiet. It is about 6 miles from the interstate so there is no noise.Really nice for a quiet evening walk. The manager is great, she even stayed late to get us our key since we arrived after the office closed. If you are going to the cave, rafting or any of the other activities in the area, it's right there in the middle of them. Just a warning- the only onsite store is in the campground closes early and the nearest place is about 15 miles away back up the interstate- so buy anything you need before you get there. The price was surprisingly low and worth the 10 minute drive from the interstate.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cavychauffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This review is for the Meramac Caverns, not the motel. I don't understand why there is no review topic here on T/A for the Caverns.

It was a cool 50 degrees in Meramac Caverns. You decsend about 500 feet below the earths surface.The tour lasted about 90 minutes. I got some nice pictures with a digital camera. Sorry Texters and Tweeters there is no Cell Phone signal in the caverns.....HA HA.

Various caverns are lit up and more lights are turned on by the tour guide. One room called the Theater has colored lights on the formations and there are two songs that are played.

Walking may be a problem for some. There are some stairs and inclined surfaces which may be slick at times.There are hand rails along the way.

Large gift shop and snack bar is on sight. Jesse James & his gang hid out here back in the late 1800's.

Well worth the stop. There is a motel adjacent and there is a new Zip Line ride over the parking lot. There is a body of water along the parking lot, but I'l not sure if it was a creek or river. The only discount they take is Military, no AARP or AAA. Adult admission was $22.00 or there abouts..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ParkAvenueMOOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Besides viewing a fantastic cavern, I have floated down this river many times the best family time I have had and loved the camping and swimming. My grandchildren are amazed and they love every minute that we stay and never want to come home it's close and their are so many things to do. I feel this is a great vacation spot if you visit the state of missouri

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rcairjam-Rhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

My two adult daughters and I stayed overnight here because we were going floating the next day and one of my daughters was expecting a baby and didn't want to tent camp. The room was super outdated. It was like walking into 1970. There were a few bugs in the room, some alive, some not. We thoroughly inspected the beds, as we do in any hotel, and found nothing. Cost for the room seemed a little high for what you get, but if you are floating from here, it's very convenient. We only had to go across the park to catch our shuttle. The staff also accommodated us on check in/out procedures. Nothing too special, but okay for a night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank christine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanton
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sullivan
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Sullivan
Comfort Inn Sullivan
#2 of 6 in Sullivan
114 reviews
8.9 mi away
Budget Lodging
Budget Lodging
#1 of 2 in Saint Clair
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 6 in Sullivan
4 reviews
24.7 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
57 reviews
21.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Cuba
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meramac Caverns Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meramac Caverns Motel

Property: Meramac Caverns Motel
Address: 44 Highway W, Stanton, MO 63080
Region: United States > Missouri > Stanton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanton
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Meramac Caverns Hotel Stanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing