We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a jewel”
Review of Auberge du Centre

Auberge du Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a jewel”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stumbled on this delightful restaurant while cruising on the Canal du Nivernais. It was totally unexpected which made the experience even more memorable. The proprietress who served us was so charming and welcoming.

Every course of the five course meal was outstanding with the dessert "over the top."

On our next trip to Burgundy we will go out of our way to dine here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in a lovely small village”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Staying at our friends in their summerhouse in Assars we invited them for an evening dinner. This place was recommanded.
We we're pleasantly surprised. fantastic 7 course dinner, every dish perfect, great service. Pleasant and friendly. A great deal for under € 40,-. This place deserves a star.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zad75455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I was invited to dinner at this restaurant during a recent visit to friends in Burgundy. The whole experience was faultless. The service was impeccable and the cuisine was a perfect balance of traditional Burgundian ingredients and flashes of innovation, exemplified by the house apéritif based on Crémant de Bourgogne and lemon. I was especially impressed by the freshness of the seared scallops, given the distance from the coast. The wine list is strong, with red and white Burgundies well represented. We took advantage of Madame's sommelier advice to ensure perfect wine and food pairings.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenSussexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“At last!”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Our local wine merchant Raoul Gerbault in Clamecy recommended this charming and welcoming restaurant and we were not disappointed. In an area that's strangely bereft of good restaurants, here's one with excellent food with charming and friendly service - parfait ?
Although we are 45mins away we now count this restaurant as our 'local'. Go there !

Peter & Madelaine Stimpson. Le 25 janvier 2012

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Peckarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Everything You'd Imagine in a French County Restaurant”
Reviewed 20 October 2009

This is the home of one of the best meals I've ever had in France. Everything about this restaurant is exactly how you imagine a French country restaurant should be. It's in an extremely small but charming village called Monceaux le Comte near the Nivernais canal. Guests are greeted warmly by the owners (she speaks at least 5 languages fluently, he's the chef) as they enter a beautifully restored building. There is a beautiful fire burning in the corner, ancient beams in the ceiling, and a warm and friendly atmosphere.

The food on the menu is classic French country cooking, featuring such favorites from Burgundy as Beef Bourguignon, Veal Kidney, and Duck Breast with Figs and Honey. The charming twist is that the chef will play around with flavors and experiment with new combinations in his winsome amuse bouche (little between-course palate-cleansers created at the chef's discretion). It is possible to have the best of both worlds, traditional cooking and new flavors and tastes all in the same meal. The wine list complements the menu well and stars many local Burgundy favorites. Not sure? Ask Madame for some help.

The creme brulee and cheese platter were great. The creme brulee's custard had been caramelized during the making, so the rich caramel flavors pervaded not only the delicious crust, but the entire dish. The cheese was prepared carefully as a tasting flight that complimented the wine we'd purchased with the meal.

Well worth the drive -- lots and lots of French folks drive in from the countryside to enjoy this place. If you're on a canal boat, it's a short walk from the town mooring spot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HT3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge du Centre also viewed

Corbigny, Nievre
Corbigny, Nievre
 

Been to Auberge du Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing