We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Salsas and Tacos in St. Louis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flaco's Cocina

Flaco's Cocina
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Salsas and Tacos in St. Louis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Everytime I go to The Pageant or Vintage Vinyl I eat at this restaurant. All the taco selections are great. They offer a great menu at a fair price. I will be back the next time I'm in the city. Every dish I've seen come out of the kitchen looked gourmet.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dewclaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    6
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

This is probably the highest-quality Mexican restaurant in the St. Louis area, and its prices are excellent for what you get.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WTTSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Flaco's has a interesting mix of menu selections - something to satisfy every palate. The food is seasoned very well and the portions were generous, not to mention the pricing is very fair. When you visit, you will enjoy first the chips and salsa made in-house. My recommendation is the shrimp taco or shrimp burrito. I've only visited twice but each experience was delightful and I will definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stcpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Try Flaco's! You'll enjoy it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Flaco's is an interesting restaurant...you wouldn't necessarily notice it in the strip mall, but they have a great covered patio to enjoy the outdoors. Very vibrant, positive atmosphere. Their chips and salsa (try the various kinds!) are some of the best I've had! They make their own chips, excellent! Food style is a blend of Mexican and Caribbean in my opinion. Wonderful, fresh flavors and a wide array of seafood items to choose from. Their fish tacos are out of this world, we especially love the tuna! Ceviche is great, especially with a carafe of house-made sangria. Stop in for dinner, it will be a treat!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmBeAbZo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eclectic Mex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stopped by early on a Saturday evening with another couple (family) who are locals and had eaten here before. It's located at the end of a strip mall, but don't let that fool you. We soon laid into some margarita pitchers and tried a bunch of different salsas with our chips. The homemade guac is killer. The queso dip was good too. We tried a variety of entrees, including The Axis of Evil (3 different taco versions) and grilled mahi burritos. Tasty. This is not necessarily traditional Mexican, but more of place that expermentsm with modern twists on Mexican staples. Service was pretty good at the start, but we were abandoned later as things got busier in the restaurant and waited a while to close out our check. My wife asked if the chef was native Mexican and the server said "No, she's Russian." That certainly fit with the eclectic theme of the place. I'd go back for more.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johngaltisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flaco's Cocina also viewed

University City, Saint Louis
University City, Saint Louis
 
University City, Saint Louis
University City, Saint Louis
 
University City, Saint Louis
University City, Saint Louis
 

Been to Flaco's Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing