We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great chef and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Adamson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Adamson Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crossford
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great chef and staff”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My hubby and I visited this pub/restaurant at the end of November whilst staying at a nearby hotel. There was a lovely friendly welcome and the service was excellent. We ordered the special offer they had on - 2 sirloin steaks and a bottle of wine for £25 - a bargain! The chef really knew his way around a steak - it was, in a word, superb! Perfectly cooked to order and high quality meat. The meal was so good we ended going back again the following night as well!
The staff were lovely, happy to engage in a bit of friendly banter and we chatted with the manager (Emma?) on the Saturday night about the new ideas she has having only taken over earlier this year.
Would we recommend it - absolutely.
Would we go again - absolutely. In fact we are back in the area in February and fully intend to return for another wonderful steak.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KooRuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Pitfirrane, Manager at The Adamson Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear KooRuu,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback following your recent visit to our restaurant.

As a family business we really understand the importance of customer satisfaction and take great pleasure in receiving such positive comments.

Your feedback on both our cuisine and also our customer service has been relayed back to the staff members concerned. It was Nikala, our Restaurant & Bar Supervisor who served you, and she was thrilled to learn of your feedback on the Trip Advisor website.

We really look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area,

Kind regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    58
    32
    24
    14
See reviews for
29
60
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Went to a gig at the Glen Pavilion in Dunfermline and stayed here literally 5 mins in a taxi. Does what it say on the tin really. Cheap, has a bar and a restaurant and you get breakfast too. Cant argue on the value/cost really. Would stay here again if going to another gig in Dunfermline!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Binhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Pitfirrane, Manager at The Adamson Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Binhawk,

Thanks very much for leaving feedback following your recent stay.

We appreciate the time taken to relay your experiences, and obviously love to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

The hotel is not totally bad. The staff is nice but the rooms are dirty. Prices are not so high and Edinburgh is very close, just 30 minutes by car. The restaurant is not bad; I tied few dinners and the food was good. If you can try to avoid the breakfast

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nybosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Pitfirrane, Manager at The Adamson Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Nybosco,

Thank you for leaving feedback for us following your recent stay.

It is with disappointment that we learn you were not entirely satisfied and have made reference to standards of cleanliness. We have passed your comments back to housekeeping staff but would have loved to have had more specific details of what was not right so we could work at improving things for future guests. As a family run business we set ourselves very high standards and understand the importance of customer satisfaction.

Regardless of this thank you for your kind comments about our friendly staff and also your feedback on the meals you enjoyed in our restaurant.

We hope that should you be in the area again we might welcome you back.

Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The atmosphere is very comfortable at this Hotel just outside of Dunfermline, evening meal was very enjoyable especially the starters of - Haggis Parcels ! The only drawback was my room was situated above the function room. . . .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B-HNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel for couple of nights,it's a warm friendly place. My room was really clean and fresh and breakfast was a treat really tasty.can't fault this hotel in any way.great place,great staff and will recommend to friends and family.value great aswell.thanks for great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We booked four nights whilst attending the BSB at Knockhill. The accommodation was disapointing and I feel housekeeping needs a wake up call, our bathroom could have been cleaner I actually ran some tissue behind the bathroom door need I say more! Everthing room related seemed a bit hap hazard beds not made properly, plastic cups in bathroom day one none after that, biscuits in room 2 packets day one, one packet day 2 none after that. Agree with a previous review high windows not ideal would ask for a room overlooking car park if we stay again. Yes I could have complained but it was a reasonable price and I suppose you get what you pay for. All that said the reception and restaurant staff were very hard working and friendly and the food in the Restaurant was all of a good standard well presented and plenty of it. Not sure if I would stay again may book up the road but wander down to dine in the Restaurant. Thanks to our waitresses Nicola and Leanne who were outstanding.

Room Tip: One that doesn't have high windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

When we checked in, a woman was complaining about the water which had been dripping through her bathroom light fitting and the fact that the bathroom was dirty - that should have been our cue to leave. Our room looked OK but when I went into the bathroom, there was a dirty cloth by the sink - I took it along to Reception. The room was very dusty - the lid of the kettle was really thick with dust. I looked at the shower head and it was full of black mould. I cleaned the shower with tissues so that I could use it. In the restaurant after waiting an hour, we finally got our fish and chips and a burger and chips, The meal was OK, but the Espresso coffee I ordered after the meal was so bad that I complained and was given another - which was still undrinkable. The waitress then chose to "blank" us as she could clearly see that I was unable to drink it.

On our way back to the room after breakfast, my husband and I were almost hit with dirty sheets being thrown into the corridor by the cleaning staff. When we left our room, we had to carry our wheeled luggage as the corridor was covered in dirty linen and piles of clean linen lying outside each room on the carpet. When I went to check out, I had to ask for the coffee to be removed from the bill and I complained about our experience, The receptionist was very pleasant (as were all the staff) but just said she would pass our comments on. I will not stay in this hotel again - nor will the gentleman we met in the restaurant complaining about his rib eye steak (they had given him a sirloin but charged £17 for rib eye) and the toenail cuttings in his bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crossford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crossford
0.7 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
2.3 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
365 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
1.1 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adamson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adamson Hotel

Property: The Adamson Hotel
Address: 27 Main Street, Crossford, Dunfermline KY12 8NJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline > Crossford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crossford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adamson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adamson Hotel, based in Crossford, Fife is a family run hotel, which was fully refurbished to a high standard and re-launched in May 2016. We place a big emphasis on the importance of customer satisfaction and strive to offer the best possible experience to our guests whilst still keeping our prices very competitive. Our guests can expect comfortable and modern, light, bright rooms, with en-suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs. Our team of staff are all trained to the highest standard and enjoy offering our guests great customer service. With our all new restaurant and bar on site you are sure to find everything you need for a relaxing and enjoyable stay in Fife. We have excellent transport links to Edinburgh and through out Fife, with the convenience of a bus stop right outside our front door so what ever the purpose of your visit you have it all at the Adamson Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Adamson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing