We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of The Adamson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Adamson Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crossford
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Pros:

The staff were all lovely, friendly and very helpful and breakfast was substantial and freshly cooked. The restaurant area was cosy and looked well maintained. There were phones in the room and we were offered an iron - but only after my husband had gone hunting for an iroing board. There was free wi-fi in all the rooms, which certainly worked ok for us but that would be the extent of my positive comments.

This hotel has the potential to be a really nice place to stay but is let down by a number of issues:

Cons

The Staircarpet leading up to the rooms on the first floor was threadbare on the edges of the treads and there was a general air of lack of care in the areas leading to the upstairs bedrooms visible in chipped paint and marked woodwork.

We stayed in room 49 on Saturday night and the beds left much to be desired. The bed I was sleeping in nearest the windows had the springs all sticking up through the mattress when you lay on it. There were no mattress covers on either of the beds - just the sheets and unlike the picture of a twin room on the hotels website, there were no bed covers, just the duvet. Pillows were very flat and hard. In fact we had a double room which had been split into a twin and the headboard was glued to the wall so we had no headboard supporting either of our beds. Since we booked well before our friends, one of whom at least had refurbished room, I don't understand why our room was so rubbish

There were other people we knew also staying in the hotel on Saturday night and one of them had what she thought was a recently refurbished room, which she said was nice. The wallpaper in our room was both marked and peeling off the wall, the bedside light wasn't working when we arrived (although the very nice receptionist went to a deal of effort to find a replacement which worked)and we had to take the shower head to bits and rescrew it, in order to get it to work, because one of the ring seals was broken and when we first turned it on it wasn't spraying, just coming out of the shower as if it was a tap! The toiletries it says it supplies consisted of two very small pieces of hand soap and there were no mugs for teeth cleaning purposes in the bathroom. Neither was there a non-slip mat for the shower/bath.

On the Sunday morning at 7.30 am the Fire Alarm went off 3 times. We were told that the sensors in the bedrooms are very sensitive and that someone was having a very hot shower with the bathroom door open, which is why the alarm went off. One of the guests said it was his partner that was having the shower. IF that was the true reason for the alarm going off, then there should have been notices on ALL the bathroom doors advsing guests to close the bathroom door when showering/ running a bath in case of setting off the alarms

The sign outside the hotel says it has an AA 3* rating - but I can't find them on the AA page and the certificate inside the hotel is dated 2010.

Last, but not least, although it didn't affect us in our room, our friends elsewhere in the Hotel were awakened at 6.30 am by hotel staff knocking loudly on the door of the room next to them announcing it was a wake up call. They then came back 10 minutes later to knock again. A Hotel wake up call isn't supposed to wake everyone else in the vicinity up too

I guess you get what you pay for and this is definitely a budget hotel - but for future stays I would prefer to spend a bit more and get a bit more comfort. Very unlikely to stay here again

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a recently refurbished room and one that has proper windows, not 'half win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFunkyGibb0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Pitfirrane, Manager at The Adamson Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear TheFunkyGibb0ns,

Thanks very much for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us in 2013.

As a family business we appreciate all feedback received and take on board our guests comments to constantly strive to make their experience as enjoyable as possible.

As you mentioned in your review, in 2013 we took on a massive refurbishment of the rooms, which has made a huge improvement to the standard of the accommodation we offer our guests. The feedback we have received on these new rooms has been fantastic and we hope that in 2014 we will be able to bring all the remaining rooms up to the same very high standard. Our prices still remain extremely competitive and allow our guests to achieve a real sense of value for money when staying with us.

Whilst this work takes place in the background, it is still business as usual, and as many of our locals and regulars have come to know and expect from us, an excellent standard of customer service is delivered by all our staff.

We would like to close by thanking you for choosing to stay at the Pitfirrane and hope that in the future, should you decide to return, you will see the results of all our hard work.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    67
    32
    25
    15
See reviews for
35
71
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The whole family stayed over for a wedding and found the hotel average. Rooms weren't all clean with Mom having to clean out her own bath and wonder where her hand soap was as the rest of us had that small amenity. After the first night housekeeping tipped out a used coffee cup and put the dirty cup back onto the counter and made up the bed with the remote under the covers. Aunt and uncle were satisfied with their basic room but sis-in-law sharing with her kids had paint literally peeling off the ceiling. Look out for tiny bath/shower with curtain that will stick to you throughout your shower: tip turn off the extractor to stop it blowing the curtain onto you mid shower. Pub patrons are likely to relieve themselves outside your window at night if you are on the ground floor. Breakfast is average. Help yourself to coffee and expect a tepid plateful with elderly toast. More of a one star establishment. Make sure you get a renovated room. There is no lounge area to hang out in as a family in the afternoons.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a renovated room. Try not to stay on ground floor to avoid pub patron noise and tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leoni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Pitfirrane, Manager at The Adamson Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Leoni S,

Thanks very much for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us in 2013.

As a family business we appreciate all feedback received and take on board our guests comments to constantly strive to make their experience as enjoyable as possible.

As you correctly mentioned in your review, in 2013 we took on a massive refurbishment of the rooms, which has made a huge improvement to the standard of the accommodation we offer our guests. The feedback we have received on these new rooms has been fantastic and we hope that in 2014 we will be able to bring all the remaining rooms up to the same very high standard. Our prices still remain extremely competitive and allow our guests to achieve a real sense of value for money when staying with us.

Whilst this work takes place in the background, it is still business as usual, and as many of our locals and regulars have come to know and expect from us, an excellent standard of customer service is delivered by all our staff.

We would like to close by thanking you for choosing to stay at the Pitfirrane and hope that in the future, should you decide to return, you will see the results of all our hard work.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Crossford hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is not my usual hotel when in this area, however it wont be my last visit. I received a friendly welcome on arrival. The room was spacious comfortable and spotless with a large TV and free wifi. There is also a secured car park . The food in the restaurant was very good and reasonable prices,served by friendly and efficient staff. I didn't have breakfast due to my work schedule however they do a breakfast bag if you have to leave before 7am. The only down side was I had no phone signal at all in the building and not much out side, due to the location being a little out of the way.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Pitfirrane, Manager at The Adamson Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Evz68,

Thanks very much for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us in 2013.

As a family business we appreciate all feedback received and take on board our guests comments to constantly strive to make their experience as enjoyable as possible.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your kind comments.

As you may already be aware, in 2013 we took on a massive refurbishment of the rooms, which has made a huge improvement to the standard of the accommodation we offer our guests. The feedback we have received on these new rooms has been fantastic and we hope that in 2014 we will be able to bring all the remaining rooms up to the same very high standard. Our prices still remain extremely competitive and allow our guests to achieve a real sense of value for money when staying with us.

Whilst this work takes place in the background, it is still business as usual, and as many of our locals and regulars have come to know and expect from us, an excellent standard of customer service is delivered by all our staff.

We would like to close by thanking you for choosing to stay at the Pitfirrane and hope that in the future, should you decide to return, you will see the results of all our hard work.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We recently stayed at the Pitfirrane for the 7th time on May 24th & 25th.
With us being a Golfing !!! party of 50 from Newcastle you would expect a bit of noise etc.
But as per normal , our lot were very well behaved ( there is a age range of 21 to 70 )
I felt the need to compliment the staff and everyone for a fantastic welcome, every single member of staff are a credit to you.
The rooms are perfect and your breakfast very plentiful with fantastic and friendly service.
We have already booked for next year and again , all the lads are looking forward to it .
Been meaning to write a review for ages, and can't understand some peoples negative comments.
Once again , thank you Pitfirrane and we'll see you soon.

Michael Baker

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newcastlegolftrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Pitfirrane, Manager at The Adamson Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Mr Baker,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback following your last visit.

We always enjoy welcoming your party back and all the staff look forward to seeing you all on your annual trip.

It is always nice to hear from our regular guests about their experiences so thank you again for leaving us your kind comments.

See you in May!

Kind regards

Hotel Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and efficient check in by the night porter.

Clean room, comfy bed, big telly, nice bathroom with good shower.

£60 per night including breakfast through late rooms for 2 adults.

It's not a 5star hotel but it serves it's purpose very well. I would return anytime and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdul2432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Pitfirrane, Manager at The Adamson Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Abdul2432,

Thanks very much for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us in 2013.

As a family business we appreciate all feedback received and take on board our guests comments to constantly strive to make their experience as enjoyable as possible.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for your kind comments.

As you may already be aware, in 2013 we took on a massive refurbishment of the rooms, which has made a huge improvement to the standard of the accommodation we offer our guests. The feedback we have received on these new rooms has been fantastic and we hope that in 2014 we will be able to bring all the remaining rooms up to the same very high standard. Our prices still remain extremely competitive and allow our guests to achieve a real sense of value for money when staying with us.

Whilst this work takes place in the background, it is still business as usual, and as many of our locals and regulars have come to know and expect from us, an excellent standard of customer service is delivered by all our staff.

We would like to close by thanking you for choosing to stay at the Pitfirrane and hope that in the future, should you decide to return, you will see the results of all our hard work.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed at the Pitfarrane hotel recently on a golfing trip to Dunfermline,the Hotel is a little dated,and tired looking,rooms very basic but comfortable and clean,breakfast was ok not much choice I had the full Scottish breakfast which was good and came hot from the kitchen,evening meals served in the restaurant were average, menu not very extensive but ok, the bar area has a problem at one end of the bar the glass washing machine gives off an horrendous smell we were blaming each other for breaking wind,but the bar staff had a good laugh at us and then owned up to it being the glass washer,which obviously has a problem that needs sorted, staff very friendly and helpful. Would I stay there again if in the area, yes I probably would.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Pitfirrane, Manager at The Adamson Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Stewart O,

Thanks very much for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us in 2013.

As a family business we appreciate all feedback received and take on board our guests comments to constantly strive to make their experience as enjoyable as possible.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments on our friendly staff.

As you may already be aware, in 2013 we took on a massive refurbishment of the rooms, which has made a huge improvement to the standard of the accommodation we offer our guests. The feedback we have received on these new rooms has been fantastic and we hope that in 2014 we will be able to bring all the remaining rooms up to the same very high standard. Our prices still remain extremely competitive and allow our guests to achieve a real sense of value for money when staying with us.

Whilst this work takes place in the background, it is still business as usual, and as many of our locals and regulars have come to know and expect from us, an excellent standard of customer service is delivered by all our staff.

We would like to close by thanking you for choosing to stay at the Pitfirrane and hope that in the future, should you decide to return, you will see the results of all our hard work.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed as 13 golfers on our annual outing rooms were clean and bathrooms ranged in size from bijou to large all our party were happy with the accomodation .the breakfasts and the bar area .We would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: various sizes of twin rooms when booking request what suits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Pitfirrane, Manager at The Adamson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Hi Bluescotland

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us feedback following your golfing outing.

We are pleased to hear that your group enjoyed their stay with us. As a family run business we understand the importance of customer satisfaction, and endeavour to make sure every detail is perfect for our guests.

We hope that when organising future trips you would consider us once more, as we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crossford
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
382 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#3 of 12 in Dunfermline
498 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Dunfermline
Travelodge Dunfermline
#6 of 12 in Dunfermline
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Adamson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Adamson Hotel

Property: The Adamson Hotel
Address: 27 Main Street, Crossford, Dunfermline KY12 8NJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline > Crossford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crossford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Adamson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adamson Hotel, based in Crossford, Fife is a family run hotel, which was fully refurbished to a high standard and re-launched in May 2016. We place a big emphasis on the importance of customer satisfaction and strive to offer the best possible experience to our guests whilst still keeping our prices very competitive. Our guests can expect comfortable and modern, light, bright rooms, with en-suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs. Our team of staff are all trained to the highest standard and enjoy offering our guests great customer service. With our all new restaurant and bar on site you are sure to find everything you need for a relaxing and enjoyable stay in Fife. We have excellent transport links to Edinburgh and through out Fife, with the convenience of a bus stop right outside our front door so what ever the purpose of your visit you have it all at the Adamson Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Adamson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing