We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot, excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Foxcroft Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Haverigg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Booked this place as an overnight stop on the way to Scotland. It's a really lovely house, set in beautiful gardens, and was wonderfully peaceful.

The room was huge, comfortable and quiet, and the bathroom was really nice too. The couple that own the place have clearly put a lot of work into making it feel clean, fresh and homely. The bed was comfortable and very clean, and we'd definitely return for another trip.

Breakfast was served downstairs in a dining room next to the conservatory and we chatted to some of the other guests who seemed very friendly. The food was amazing - one of the finest breakfasts I have had in a B&B - overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anglogermancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Me and my partner stayed 2 nights here, there is not a bad word I can say about the place! The room was lovely and had everything we needed including a shared fridge upstairs to keep our wine cool ;) breakfast both mornings was 5 stars and advice we was given about places to eat was spot on too! If your looking for somewhere off the beaten tracks of the lakes, stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaygingestedofro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

I booked in for 2 nights and am I glad I did, big spacious room with a nice ensuite bathroom, king bed and a little tv if you don't fancy one of the local restaurants for the evening! The grounds are beautiful and it's set in a lovely location, though Windermere is a good half hour drive, or more if you get caught behind caravans. The service and the quality of the b&b more than make up for the drive though, thank you Malcom, we hope to visit again soon! Room 1!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R3GAN0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

22nd March 2013 will allways be remembered by us, a weekend away for my birthday to the Lake District was halted by massive snowdrifts which resulted in us been rescued from the A565 by Mountain Rescue and taken to Millom Rescue Centre. We stayed at nearby Foxcroft B&B for the next 2 nights until we could get home. What a beautiful place, i just wish we could have got out to explore the area. We stayed in room 4 a beautiful, large room with a lovely view over the surrounding countryside, we saw deer 1 morning and an owl the next. The room had 2 comfy bentwood chairs, a large bath/shower room, really comfy bed, flat screen TV. It was spotless and had those little touches of biscuits on the tea tray & complimentary toiletries. The breakfast the next day was lovely, you can pre-order a full english or many other options and there was also a fruit platter, fresh juices, yoghurts, cereals, toast & really good coffee or tea. Malcolm and Shirley made us feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble, if you are travelling anywhere near this area stay here, we would recomend it to anyone. We are hoping to complete our originally planned trip sometime and hope to have the time to come back and spend some time again at this beautiful B&B

Room Tip: Room 4 has lovely views over the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onionmarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at Foxcroft. I have always stayed in hotels but my girlfriend stated that b and b is better value for money. This was certainly the case for Foxcroft. Clean spacious rooms. Great breakfasts and very friendly owners who make you feel welcome. Anyone who writes anything negative about this place are just nit picking!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark2778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Owned by a lovely couple. Very peaceful and beautiful house. I think you would struggle without a car as most places (including restaurants) are a drive away. We stayed 4 nights and found plenty to do. Would go back again :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peregrine_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stopped over weekend commencing 27th July 2012, really nice people would highly recommend this B & B as rooms are lovely & breakfast is excellent. Esp enjoyed the home made jams & thanks for you assistantance with map etc. See you again soon Caroline & Ray xx

Room Tip: Servant quarters are excellent :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Foxcroft Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxcroft Bed & Breakfast

Address: Haverigg, Millom LA18 4NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Millom > Haverigg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Haverigg
Price Range: £70 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Foxcroft Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Country house set in over four acres of woodland and mature gardens just on the outskirts of the coastal village of Haverigg. Three large and spacious bedrooms all with ensuite bathrooms with baths and one twin bedded room with ensuite shower room. Large breakfast room with doors to a conservatory which is available for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Foxcroft Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing