We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, well equipped cottage in beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of ROW FARM COTTAGE

wasdale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
wasdale
Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
wasdale
Kitchen
Sitting area
Twin bedroom
Main bedroom
Outside seating area in garden
Barbque seating next to cottage
Garden
La Ratty miniature railway
Muncaster Castle
Scarfell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waberthwaite, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Andrewmur...
Coltishall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ruined Holiday”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I really feel the need to review this cottage so that other people are not as disappointed as we were. This was not an expensive cottage to start with so we were not expecting too much, however we were expecting a certain amount of peace and quiet.
The farm is not particularly hard to find, but the postcode only gets you close, not actually to the farm, and the mobile phone signal in this area is so poor that you cannot call the owner easily for directions.
The drive down to the farm is a bit steep and twisty, but no problem really.
We turned up and I guess the owner came out and showed us into the cottage, basically opening the door and letting us get on with it, I tried to make conversation with him, but he had no interest in talking back.
The cottage was just warm enough and the heating had obviously not been on for too long.
I must say at this point that the cottage was very clean and had all the basic essentials that were required.
We moved our stuff in, turned the heating up and went to the local pub for some food.
On our return we discovered that there is a link door between the cottage and the farmhouse, partially obscured by three quarters of a dresser and a curtain, this door was unlocked, and the farmer obviously had visitors in the room adjoining us as we could hear every word that they were saying, along with the continuous barking of the farmers dog !!
We decided to watch a dvd (supplied by the owner) to try to block out some of the noise which it partially did, then we turned in for the night. My step daughters room was accessed through the main bedroom.
The beds had clean linen on them, but unfortunately the beds are in dire need of new mattresses as there were springs sticking through them, so sleeping was tricky to say the least, so much so that my wife spent part of the night downstairs on the sofa, eventually returning about 2.30 am
All three of us were rudely awakened at approximately 4am by the farmers cockerels which continued to crow until well after day light when the dog started barking again.
If you are after peace and quiet this is certainly not the place to go.
We all got up very early as the noise was just too much, we used the very basic shower which was no more than adequate and packed up our stuff and left, enough is enough.
The linformation on this cottage also states that there is free internet, however we could only find access to the very expensive pay as you go BT service.
We did quite a lot of research before we chose this cottage, the reviews on trip advisor made us feel confident on our choice, oh how wrong we were !!
Stephen the owner had my mobile phone number, yet he has made no effort to contact me since our departure to see why we left or whether he could do anything for us.
I find just under £300 very expensive for one nights stay, I then had to pay for alternative accommodation for the rest of the week.
I am a farmer and have lived on farms for nearly 50 years, I have never come across noise like this!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2018
Very sorry to receive such a poor review, How everyone as a right to review the property, I only wish that the guest hard approached me the following morning so that matters could have been resolved and if so dissatisfied a refund paid. This review does not reflect our previous reviews in 18 years of been in business
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley N
1 review
“Cosy, well equipped cottage in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 19 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed here over Christmas whilst visiting family in the area. On arrival the cottage was warm and cosy and the owners had put up a Christmas tree and decorations which was a lovely touch. The cottage is attached to a working farmhouse and the owners were friendly and welcoming. The track down to the cottage from the main road was rather steep and winding, but easy enough to negotiate with care. In nearby Bootle there is a lovely tea room called 'The Byre' and 'The Ratty Arms' in Ravenglass serves yummy lunches in charming surroundings.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2018
Thank you for the review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jan 2018
Thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Megan M
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great cottage in need of some Cosmetic TLC”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Quaint rustic traditional little farm cottage which is ideally situated close to attractions and Lakes. Very well equipped and great for our short break but kitchen and bathroom could do with some cosmetic TLC.
Also needs warning that rally driving experience, to get up long steep drive, would be an advantage as I guess some cars may struggle Had a great time though and will certainly stay again if in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison M
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely little place to stay with easy reach of some great walks and other attractions. Just beware that the drive is very steep but once you master it it is no problem! Very friendly owner who made us very welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Thank you Alison,
Pleased that you and the family had a pleasant holiday staying at Row farm, once you learn to drive the Cumbrian rural way the drives no problem. Thank you once again for your review Regards Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeeJayEmm
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in good location”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Row Farm Cottage as the owner, Stephen was very friendly and helpful and the cottage itself was one of the best equipped of those we have ever rented. We liked the fact that it was close to the coast - we enjoyed walking the sand dunes at Haverigg and along the beach at Seascale - but was also within easy driving distance of most of the lakes. Our favourite was Wast Water, which was around 30 minutes away.
We would definitely stay here again if we return to the Lake District.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review, very pleased you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Y
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was very lucky with the weather but even without it, this would have been an unforgettable place to stay. Was everything I wanted and more. Great base to tour the western lakes from. Too much to recommend to list here but highlight would be the beautiful drive up to Wasdale Head and hike up to Scafell Pike. Friendly hosts and a well equipped, clean and tidy cottage. Thank you! I had a great time and wish I'd booked the whole week now!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Thank you for the review and your time in doing so
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing