We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a 5-star experience, but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brick Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Washington B&B and Inns
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This is a 5-star experience, but ...”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I cannot add to the wonderful reviews about Brick Inn. We stayed there 3-4 years ago and always planned to come back. Kathy and Art are great.

BUT, we will never stay there again. It is a safety issue. I was sitting down in a chair in our room to use my computer. As I looked to my right, I say a plugin. However, it was a plain, home-use extension cord nailed to a window sill. I looked around the room and saw numerous such cords. I realize old homes are short on electric outlets. However, it appeared to me there are no updated outlets. That makes me wonder about the wiring throughout the house. And that makes me wonder about local and/or state safety regulations for bed and breakfasts. When my wife and I stay somewhere, I want a place that is safe, and the only initial way I can make that judgment is with my eyes. I have now made that judgment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gramps45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1916chevy, Owner at Brick Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
The two extension cords mentioned are mounted at the head of the bed for sleep apnea machines that an occasional guest would bring. There are three other regular receptacles in the room for cell phone chargers, computers, and the like. One regular receptacle is mounted 18 inches off the floor right at the computer desk. This is acceptable to our electrician who has installed our outlets.
We thank the reviewer for their input in rating us high on value, location, sleep quality, cleanliness, and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    4
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Springs, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Beautiful house with a wonderful family history. Beds very comfortable and clean and beautifully decorated home. Art and Kathy were very helpful and accomodating. Delicious breakfast. Loved talking with Art about old cars and meeting his dog. Backyard very welcoming in warmer weather.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SloaneD25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We were in the area for a wedding and chose the Brick Inn because of other traveller reviews and were not disappointed. The house is beautiful and well-kept, the rooms were clean, nicely furnished with antiques, and the beds were VERY comfy. Our hosts, Art and Kathy, were delightful, accommodating to dietary needs, and respected our privacy. Art gave me a tour of the town in the old 1916 Chevy and as we went down the street everyone waved at us. Breakfast in the morning was incredible, especially the French Toast Cassrole. You also know you're in the right place when the coffee is superb! The town is great for walking (many old, historic buildings and homes) and there is a path that runs right along the Missouri River. I need to mention the abandoned shoe factory that is 3 blocks away from the Inn. It has an interesting history and can be read about in the historical guide in the front entryway. Will stay here again if we have the opportunity but, alas, the newlyweds are moving away from the area.

Room Tip: I stayed in the "Queen" room which was very comfortable, quiet, and has a bathtub in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosebud59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

One only has to spend a few moments with Art and Kathy to see that this place has been a labor of love for them. What a charming house in a charming town.
We were picked up on the Katy Trail after our bike broke down and was given an elaborate tour of the city and its sites. You can feel the pride Art had for this place resonate in his voice. When we arrived at the brick house, he introduced us to the big swings under the oak tree in the back. After six hours of riding on bikes, it felt like floating on clouds. The place was so beautifully landscaped. And to find out that Art grew up on the very street adds so much to the story of how he made a full circle back to his hometown after so many years teaching in inner city St Louis.
Inside the place was immaculate. And the accommodations beyond the caliber of any other places we'd encountered during our time in wine country.
We had such a great time and are very grateful to Art for driving us to the bike shop to get our bike worked on and to Kathy for the laundry service and delicious breakfast. An excellent overall experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We just spent a wonderfuld weekend at the Brick Inn at Washington, MO. We rented the entire house for an adult family get away. All the rooms were nicely furnished and very comfortable. Art and Kathy prepared and served a delicious breakfast each morning. Days were spent enjoying the nearby wineries and the evenings were spent visiting around the fire pit. Art and Kathy made suggestions on local events which we really enjoyed. Our family had a great time and we are already booked for next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The accommodations and warm friendliness made our experience a memorable one. The service was wonderful and much appreciated. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the HDTV’s made the DVD’s provided come alive. The well kept brick home and the grounds with flowers are lovely. It is only a 7 min walk to downtown Washington which has lots of charming small town shops. The breakfast of egg blossoms and French toast was to die for.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StLouisWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Our family reunion in a neighboring town brought us to Washington, MO. Because we see each other less than once a year, our immediate family group of 6 was looking to stay together. Our father is 83 and we wanted him to be very comfortable; we are all at least 6' and need king size beds. A "tall" order at most hotels in this area. I happened upon the Brick Inn while looking for appropriate lodging and can speak for my family when I say, we were treated with professional respect and the quality of care we experienced was unparalleled. We rented the entire Inn- all 4 beautiful and comfortable rooms. In addition to the rooms, the 'living room' (actually the sitting room of the main floor suite) was spacious and allowed us to begin and end our days sitting and talking. The Innkeepers treated us like long-standing friends with delicious, healthy breakfasts served on the patio, ideas for outings, bits of local history (dad's favorite because he grew up in the area), and best of all, they guarded our privacy as though we were famous. The Inn was ours for the weekend and it felt like home- only better, with cooks and housekeepers! Another stay at the Brick Inn will be in our future.

Room Tip: The main floor suite is huge; upstairs rooms are quiet and luxurious; private baths are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi3640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Washington Hotel
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Washington
Super 8 Washington
#2 of 3 in Washington
298 reviews
13.2 mi away
Cedar Creek
Cedar Creek
#1 of 1 in New Haven
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Super 8 Union
Super 8 Union
#1 of 1 in Union
228 reviews
14.1 mi away
Budget Lodging
Budget Lodging
#1 of 2 in Saint Clair
277 reviews
15.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Six Flags St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brick Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brick Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Brick Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 516 W 3rd St, Washington, MO 63090-2204
Region: United States > Missouri > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Brick Inn Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come romance and/or relax in one of our four rooms with private baths and KING beds. One room is a suite with a living room and a bedroom. ONSITE innkeepers offer FULL SERVICE gourmet breakfasts. Location to the MO River and Downtown is three blocks. A hot tub, fire pit, classic car display, 200 year old pecan trees, off street parking, spacious patio, are features of the 1911 ancestral home. WI Fi is in all rooms. Recently all rooms have added a 32" Flat Screen TV. We provide free shuttle service to the Katy Trail and Amtrak and a free 9 minute concierge tour is made in one of our cars upon check in. We are especially suited to serve Girlfriend Weekends and Whole House Rentals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing