We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family stay! Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Au Petit Bled

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au Petit Bled
Ranked #1 of 1 Hermelinghen B&B and Inns
Rotherham, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent family stay! Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 3; myself, husband and 4 year old daughter stayed here for one night in February in the family room.
The place is faultless, couldn't have asked for more and we will definitely be returning!
The room was clean, well equipped, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom, whilst small was lovely, with an amazing shower!
What really sets Au Petit Bled apart though, are the welcoming and friendly hosts! Dennis and Christine couldn't do any more for us, and made us feel extremely welcome. The breakfast was superb, fresh and home-prepared.
My daughter (and I) fell in love with the beautiful resident cat, dog and chickens! She still talks about the cat and being allowed by the hosts to feed the chickens outside..... they made her holiday extra special.
That's not to say the animals are intrusive at all, we probably only had contact with them because we loved them!
The village of Hermelinghen is rural and small with not a lot there, however this B&B is an excellent base for exploring the beautiful surrounding area, or as a stop off on a longer journey due to its proximity to Calais ferry or eurotunnel.
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and can't wait to be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAndMrsShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for a long weekend over the May bank holiday in this beautiful 18th century B&B.
Wonderful English hosts gave us a very warm welcome on arrival.
We had a very relaxing weekend in a quiet location.
Our room was very comfortable, clean & beautifully decorated as was the whole house.
Breakfast was very tasty.
All in all we couldn't fault this wonderful B&B
10/10

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisasaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

It's a piece of Britain in the French countryside and I must say it is quite a gem!
The rooms are newly refurbished and offer you everything you need: good quality linen, comfy bed, good hot shower with shampoos and shower gels, WiFi, kettle and all the tea facilities plus a nice collection of books and board games.
The host, Denis, was very welcoming and we had a lovely chat during breakfast, which was amazing! Actually, I was surprised that breakfast was continental in such an English house :) An english breakfast would have looked very impressive, I believe. But as I read in other comments they do an english breakfast on demand.
The locations is beautiful and calm, unbeatable for those travelling from Britain by tunnel or ferry in a car. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidia989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Great welcome, clean and spacious rooms, quiet location, vast breakfast and great value. Exactly what you want from a B&B.
They have a family room and all rooms are located close to each other so perfect if your stating with children.
The nearby countryside will surprise you.
If you are keen cyclists, I'd highly recommend staying here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank plazar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

we only stayed one night on a birthday trip,we found the owners to be very welcoming and told us of local places to eat,unfortunately most were closed due to the time of year.
the room we had was lovely and clean and the bed was comfortable.breakfast was smashing, plenty to eat. we would recommend this place to all our friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1512-mj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here for a night driving back from the south of France before heading back to the UK in the morning. The owner was very welcoming and made suggestions for places for us to go and get dinner. Unfortunately, arriving relatively late, none of the restraunts were serving any more, and so when we got back the owners gave us some Plum Crumble (made with Plums from the garden) which had been recently made, which was extremely good of them (and very tasty).
The rooms are comfortable with all you need. They are spotless and nicely decorated. The bathroom is a little cramped but fine for what is needed.
The breakfast was very nice with fresh coffee, croissants, pan au chocolat and toast with cereals and juices.
I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

An excellent place to stay in a quiet village just outside Calais. I stayed with my nine year old daughter overnight after an evening tunnel crossing. We were made to feel very welcome and our host were very accommodating. The room was spotless and recently decorated, breakfast was great, and beds were comfortable. What a great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ta51tac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Au Petit Bled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Petit Bled

Property: Au Petit Bled
Address: 19 la place, 62132 Hermelinghen, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Hermelinghen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hermelinghen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au Petit Bled is an 18th century auberge with parts of the building dating back to 1786. Set in the peaceful village of Hermelinghen in the beautiful National Park Trois Pays, the village is a fantastic start point for the many signposted walking and bicycle routes and is the regional capital of mountain bikers.Situated just 20 mins from the Channel Tunnel and ports of Calais and Boulogne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Au Petit Bled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing