We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, historic home with loads of history and an exceptional hostess!”
Review of The Murphy House

The Murphy House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Murphy House
Ranked #2 of 5 Weston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Murphy House for our 3 year anniversary and absolutely loved it! Mary Jo was so warm, friendly, fun and a terrific hostess. The house was stunning, with heirloom furniture pieces and decorations everywhere. Everything was incredibly clean and tidy. We sat on the giant front porch all evening and enjoyed her company, as well as the other couple staying. In the morning we all gathered again with coffee and then enjoyed a delicious fresh breakfast cooked by Mary Jo. We HIGHLY recommend visiting for a weekend getaway - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrookeCroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

Two friends and I stayed in the three 2nd-floor bedrooms and thoroughly enjoyed our overnite stay. We were treated with excellent service and couldn't have felt more welcome. This is a beautifully maintained home with lovely perennial gardens. Our hostess served us wine, crackers and cheese shortly after we arrived and the next morning we enjoyed a delicious full breakfast with fresh fruit, scones, and omelets. I had a great night's sleep in a large and lovely, comfortable, very clean room. The bathrooms are especially nice as they are both remodeled with very lovely fixtures that look antique but function like new. We were close enough to walk to Main Street and enjoyed several meals in great local restaurants. There is a variety of shops with very friendly shopkeepers and lovely merchandise. The house is so comfortable with sitting rooms and a large porch, I would have been content to just relax and enjoy the experience of spending time in this beautiful early 20th century gem. I especially enjoyed learning about the history of the house and the town from our hostess.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We recently spent two nights at the Murphy House in the Rose Room. We are quite well traveled, but this was our first visit to a B&B and we weren't quite sure what to expect. The house was beautifully decorated and truly feels like a home. Everything was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the linens were high quality. There was even a soft and firm pillow option for each person, Mary Jo is very warm and welcoming, making you feel right at home. Breakfast was delicious - we particularly loved the banana bread. Many thanks to Mary Jo for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANSloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We booked a room at the Murphy House the weekend of the antique show in Weston and the surrounding areas. I have stayed at many B&B's over the years, and I can honestly say that the Murphy House is one of the best. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful---delicious and presented beautifully. We stayed in the Rose Room----it was spacious and spotless; as was the private bathroom. The home is beautiful, with a lovely shaded yard that features many perennials. Just a few blocks from Weston's main street, it was an easy walk to the shops and restaurants. Mary Jo is a wonderful hostess---she took the time to draw us a map of the various antique vendors in the surrounding area, and was knowledgeable about the restaurants in Weston, including having copies of the menus. We very much enjoyed visiting with her at breakfast, and learning about the history of the house. A much appreciated added touch was the availability of bottled water and snacks for late-night hunger attacks! I highly recommend staying at the Murphy House should you come to Weston to visit.....I know that we will be back to stay there on our return trips. Excellent, all around!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LPetersen20938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

My wife and I spent our Anniversary at the Murphy House which was our first time at a B&B. Our hostess (who happened to grow up in the house) was extremely professional and accomodating to guest needs. She had lots of local information on the town of Weston. Breakfast was amazing and the extras were refreshing compared to hotels: free bottled water and snacks for late night craving. The house was well cared for over the years and was stocked with top notch antiques. The porch swing and gardens really were the izing on the cake. I think this is a great value and would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nojodadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

My husband & I enjoyed our long weekend w/ friends in Weston at the Murphy House, a great B & B with a delightful hostess & her two dogs. The breakfasts were absolutely wonderful. The B & B is beautifully decorated (NOT cheesy) and ultra clean. It's great that there are two rooms, each w/ a bath (& a 3rd bedroom if needed), so we had the entire upstairs, and the front living room & dining area, to ourselves. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSCatLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable weekend at the Murphy House in historic Weston MO. This is a bed and breakfast to be savored and enjoyed.

Guests are greated by a lovely shade garden and large wrap around porch with pillow festoned furniture--which was just perfect for curling up with our books and watching the thunderstorms roll through town.

Being just a few blocks from the town, we were able to walk to dinner and shops--thereby taking in more of the towns historic homes and well appointed gardens.

The nights were restful in our sumptuosly comfortable antique walnut bed. The feel of the house is the feel of home and hospitality--right down to the furnished robes, sangria and appetizers, custom savory breakfasts, cheerful well-behaved little dog and charming innkeeper.

The Murphy House is a great place to spend the weekend and a lovely launching place to see other wonderful KC area sites like the acclaimed Nelson-Atkins Museum, The Vaille Mansion and Truman sites or a day trip to Atchison to visit Nell Hills.

The Murphy House is a quiet oasis.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank getawayinsights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Murphy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Murphy House

Address: 926 Spring St, Weston, MO 64098-1120
Region: United States > Missouri > Weston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Weston
Price Range: £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murphy House Bed and Breakfast exemplifies the grandeur and elegance of the Victorian Era with its romantic antique furnishings, accented by family heirlooms and exquisite floral arrangements. The large, three-story home, with its distinctive round turret, features a large wrap around porch with wicker furniture and a porch swing, perfect for sipping coffee in the morning and admiring the surrounding gardens and views of Weston. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing