We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best one we have stayed at”
Review of The Murphy House

The Murphy House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Murphy House
Ranked #3 of 5 Weston B&B and Inns
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best one we have stayed at”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have been going to Weston and staying for many years and until this weekend had always stayed at one of two B&Bs. They were both nice so we were disappointed when neither was available for this trip, Fortunately, we were able to get rooms at the Murphy House which were not familiar with. Wow, how lucky for us because this was the nicest one yet. This house has been in the same family for four generations. It is in emaculate conditon with beautiful woodwork and contains much of the family's original furniture and our bathroom was modern and clean. It is located a couple of blocks from Main street and is among other large homes on a quiet historic steet. The innkeeper, who grew up in the house and who's great grandparents purchased the home in 1918 is delightful and able to provide considerable detail about the history of Weston. She is also a great cook. Need I say more. We will be bookiing here for future trips to Weston.

Room Tip: front room has curved glass windows-very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cchapin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Murphy House for our 3 year anniversary and absolutely loved it! Mary Jo was so warm, friendly, fun and a terrific hostess. The house was stunning, with heirloom furniture pieces and decorations everywhere. Everything was incredibly clean and tidy. We sat on the giant front porch all evening and enjoyed her company, as well as the other couple staying. In the morning we all gathered again with coffee and then enjoyed a delicious fresh breakfast cooked by Mary Jo. We HIGHLY recommend visiting for a weekend getaway - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrookeCroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Two friends and I stayed in the three 2nd-floor bedrooms and thoroughly enjoyed our overnite stay. We were treated with excellent service and couldn't have felt more welcome. This is a beautifully maintained home with lovely perennial gardens. Our hostess served us wine, crackers and cheese shortly after we arrived and the next morning we enjoyed a delicious full breakfast with fresh fruit, scones, and omelets. I had a great night's sleep in a large and lovely, comfortable, very clean room. The bathrooms are especially nice as they are both remodeled with very lovely fixtures that look antique but function like new. We were close enough to walk to Main Street and enjoyed several meals in great local restaurants. There is a variety of shops with very friendly shopkeepers and lovely merchandise. The house is so comfortable with sitting rooms and a large porch, I would have been content to just relax and enjoy the experience of spending time in this beautiful early 20th century gem. I especially enjoyed learning about the history of the house and the town from our hostess.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We recently spent two nights at the Murphy House in the Rose Room. We are quite well traveled, but this was our first visit to a B&B and we weren't quite sure what to expect. The house was beautifully decorated and truly feels like a home. Everything was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the linens were high quality. There was even a soft and firm pillow option for each person, Mary Jo is very warm and welcoming, making you feel right at home. Breakfast was delicious - we particularly loved the banana bread. Many thanks to Mary Jo for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANSloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We booked a room at the Murphy House the weekend of the antique show in Weston and the surrounding areas. I have stayed at many B&B's over the years, and I can honestly say that the Murphy House is one of the best. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful---delicious and presented beautifully. We stayed in the Rose Room----it was spacious and spotless; as was the private bathroom. The home is beautiful, with a lovely shaded yard that features many perennials. Just a few blocks from Weston's main street, it was an easy walk to the shops and restaurants. Mary Jo is a wonderful hostess---she took the time to draw us a map of the various antique vendors in the surrounding area, and was knowledgeable about the restaurants in Weston, including having copies of the menus. We very much enjoyed visiting with her at breakfast, and learning about the history of the house. A much appreciated added touch was the availability of bottled water and snacks for late-night hunger attacks! I highly recommend staying at the Murphy House should you come to Weston to visit.....I know that we will be back to stay there on our return trips. Excellent, all around!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LPetersen20938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrensburg, Missouri, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2010

My wife and I spent our Anniversary at the Murphy House which was our first time at a B&B. Our hostess (who happened to grow up in the house) was extremely professional and accomodating to guest needs. She had lots of local information on the town of Weston. Breakfast was amazing and the extras were refreshing compared to hotels: free bottled water and snacks for late night craving. The house was well cared for over the years and was stocked with top notch antiques. The porch swing and gardens really were the izing on the cake. I think this is a great value and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nojodadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

My husband & I enjoyed our long weekend w/ friends in Weston at the Murphy House, a great B & B with a delightful hostess & her two dogs. The breakfasts were absolutely wonderful. The B & B is beautifully decorated (NOT cheesy) and ultra clean. It's great that there are two rooms, each w/ a bath (& a 3rd bedroom if needed), so we had the entire upstairs, and the front living room & dining area, to ourselves. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSCatLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Leavenworth
Hampton Inn Leavenworth
#1 of 4 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
7.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport North
8.8 mi away
Ramada Platte City Kci Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Atchison
16.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#4 of 109 in Kansas City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
13.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Murphy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Murphy House

Property: The Murphy House
Address: 926 Spring St, Weston, MO 64098-1120
Region: United States > Missouri > Weston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murphy House Bed and Breakfast exemplifies the grandeur and elegance of the Victorian Era with its romantic antique furnishings, accented by family heirlooms and exquisite floral arrangements. The large, three-story home, with its distinctive round turret, features a large wrap around porch with wicker furniture and a porch swing, perfect for sipping coffee in the morning and admiring the surrounding gardens and views of Weston. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing