We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Home & Wonderful Host”
Review of The Murphy House

The Murphy House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Murphy House
Ranked #3 of 5 Weston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My husband and I spent an evening at The Murphy House. The home is absolutely pristine! Mary Jo has paid careful attention to every detail in the home. The era furniture and furnishings are interesting and beautiful. She has thought of everything, from wine and cheese to wonderful company. We enjoyed breakfast with another couple and we were all in agreement, the french toast was delicious. The home is close to many wineries, the brewery, antique stores, etc. Cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rose room...simply beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenschinderling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for a night and loved every bit of it. The house was in terrific shape and Mary Jo was a fantastic hostess and a great cook too! Her two dogs may bark a little but the little noise they made was no distraction or annoyance to us. I'd recommend staying here if you plan on visiting the little town of Weston, it will make your trip much more enjoyable!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adkinstech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

While my husband and I have visited The Murphy House twice thus far, this time was for a girls mini weekend getaway. We had such a blast! As always, Mary Jo was a wonderful hostess and the other gals, who had not been there, thoroughly enjoyed learning more about the house, the history and getting to know Mary Jo. The beds were super comfortable and the morning coffee and breakfast was exceptional! She makes a wonderful baked french toast with fresh fruit. Yum! Will be back again with my husband, and of course for another girls weekend soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrookeCroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have been going to Weston and staying for many years and until this weekend had always stayed at one of two B&Bs. They were both nice so we were disappointed when neither was available for this trip, Fortunately, we were able to get rooms at the Murphy House which were not familiar with. Wow, how lucky for us because this was the nicest one yet. This house has been in the same family for four generations. It is in emaculate conditon with beautiful woodwork and contains much of the family's original furniture and our bathroom was modern and clean. It is located a couple of blocks from Main street and is among other large homes on a quiet historic steet. The innkeeper, who grew up in the house and who's great grandparents purchased the home in 1918 is delightful and able to provide considerable detail about the history of Weston. She is also a great cook. Need I say more. We will be bookiing here for future trips to Weston.

Room Tip: front room has curved glass windows-very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cchapin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Murphy House for our 3 year anniversary and absolutely loved it! Mary Jo was so warm, friendly, fun and a terrific hostess. The house was stunning, with heirloom furniture pieces and decorations everywhere. Everything was incredibly clean and tidy. We sat on the giant front porch all evening and enjoyed her company, as well as the other couple staying. In the morning we all gathered again with coffee and then enjoyed a delicious fresh breakfast cooked by Mary Jo. We HIGHLY recommend visiting for a weekend getaway - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrookeCroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Two friends and I stayed in the three 2nd-floor bedrooms and thoroughly enjoyed our overnite stay. We were treated with excellent service and couldn't have felt more welcome. This is a beautifully maintained home with lovely perennial gardens. Our hostess served us wine, crackers and cheese shortly after we arrived and the next morning we enjoyed a delicious full breakfast with fresh fruit, scones, and omelets. I had a great night's sleep in a large and lovely, comfortable, very clean room. The bathrooms are especially nice as they are both remodeled with very lovely fixtures that look antique but function like new. We were close enough to walk to Main Street and enjoyed several meals in great local restaurants. There is a variety of shops with very friendly shopkeepers and lovely merchandise. The house is so comfortable with sitting rooms and a large porch, I would have been content to just relax and enjoy the experience of spending time in this beautiful early 20th century gem. I especially enjoyed learning about the history of the house and the town from our hostess.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We recently spent two nights at the Murphy House in the Rose Room. We are quite well traveled, but this was our first visit to a B&B and we weren't quite sure what to expect. The house was beautifully decorated and truly feels like a home. Everything was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the linens were high quality. There was even a soft and firm pillow option for each person, Mary Jo is very warm and welcoming, making you feel right at home. Breakfast was delicious - we particularly loved the banana bread. Many thanks to Mary Jo for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANSloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
7.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Kansas City Airport North
8.8 mi away
Ramada Platte City Kci Airport
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Leavenworth
Hampton Inn Leavenworth
#1 of 5 in Leavenworth
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Kansas City Airport Marriott
Kansas City Airport Marriott
#59 of 109 in Kansas City
482 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hilton Kansas City Airport
Hilton Kansas City Airport
#13 of 109 in Kansas City
593 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#4 of 109 in Kansas City
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Murphy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Murphy House

Address: 926 Spring St, Weston, MO 64098-1120
Region: United States > Missouri > Weston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Weston
Price Range: £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Murphy House Bed and Breakfast exemplifies the grandeur and elegance of the Victorian Era with its romantic antique furnishings, accented by family heirlooms and exquisite floral arrangements. The large, three-story home, with its distinctive round turret, features a large wrap around porch with wicker furniture and a porch swing, perfect for sipping coffee in the morning and admiring the surrounding gardens and views of Weston. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing