We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ulu Ulu National Park Resort
Nearby Hotels
Purnama Hotel(Limbang)
US$26
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apek Utama Hotel(Bandar Seri Begawan)
US$31
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Brunei Hotel(Bandar Seri Begawan)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jubilee Hotel(Bandar Seri Begawan)
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Capital Residence Suites(Bandar Seri Begawan)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abdul Razak Apartments(Bandar Seri Begawan)
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
LeGallery Suites Hotel(Bandar Seri Begawan)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam(Bandar Seri Begawan)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoneville Hotel Sdn Bhd(Ulu Temburong National Park)
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
76
32
4
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
32
4
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanopy walkulu uluthe rivernight walkfish spalong boatyour feetboat rideday tripair conditioningour tour guidelittle bitan adventurea lot of funamazing experiencesun risingfear of heights
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Ulu, Ula I believe means far far way, which is an apt description as you have to take a boat up a river to get to this resort. For National Park accommodation the rooms were pretty good, ample space, reasonable beds and fans and air conditioning.

For exploration of rain forest the location is close to unrivalled. We went on a 1 night, 2 day package which included a park guide and travel from BSB.

Do not expect hotel comfort, this is an isolated resort for exploring rainforest trails. If you want some adventure and the chance to see bugs and beasts this is for you.

Room Tip: Must do's are the canopy walk, floating down the river in a rubber ring and the natural fish spa. Look out for crocodiles basking on the river banks on the way to the resort
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthonyhkchieng, General Manager at Ulu Ulu National Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear CGtree,
Thank you for your time and effort to post a review as all reviews are important to us.Me and my team appreciates them and will continue to work on continious improvment in Ulu Ulu Resort.
Your Sincerely
Anthony Chieng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

IF YOU WANT TO SEE WILD ANIMALS, GO TO SUKAU, SABAH.

The resort is big and take up a lot of space along the riverside. Because the resort is so big and can be very loud. This makes the resort have a big impact on the surrounding rainforest, making it difficult to see wildlife nearby. You are also limited for things to do at the resort, especially when you are forced to stay in due to torrential rains that happen frequently in the rainforest. They only seemed to keep the rooms and the kitchen area clean and the is a big problem with ants. Also, there are no mosquito nets/screens on the doors or windows. Our guide seemed very uninterested at times and often rushed ahead of the guests who were struggling with the rainforest terrain.

Now for the good feedback... The rooms were very nice and spacious and food was good too. The surrounding rainforest is peaceful and very scenic. The river cruise from the local town to get to the resort was fun too.

In summary, if you want to go to the rainforest and simply admire the forest, this is a great location. If you want to go animal watching, go to the sukau rainforest lodge in Sabah, Borneo.

Room Tip: Spray insect repellent around the door frame and you should have an insect free nights sleep. All bedrooms have air conditioning
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnC1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthonyhkchieng, General Manager at Ulu Ulu National Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear John,
Thank you for your comments as we are always learning and improving ourself everyday.For your information,the resort was built on a flat terrain next to the river that has the most minimal impact on the general area.On the first 2 phase of the development,every material was brought up on the long boats that transported you to the resort.Yes,it took a while to construct those buildings.We always recommend quest to stay 2-3 nights in case it rains as we cannot control the weather but the night walk is of the most recommended activity.Our rainforest is 100% pristine and therefore it is with patience and a longer stay to see wild animals.I always infrom my friends that to experience the rainforest,you do not go looking and trekking to seek or search...you just walk into the forest and find a spot and let the forest come alive by just watching quietly.
Noted on the screens for insect(our resort has virtually no mosquitos but some tourists do get a bite or two,but generally most visitors dont expereince mosquito bites),but be reminded that Ulu Temburong rainforest has one of the highest diversity of flora and fauna per square mile in the world,so there are always plenty of insects around.Scientist from all over the world come to Ulu temburong national park to do research on plants,insects,amphibians and other smaller animals as there is a field research study centre just 5 mins away from our resort.
We are in the national park,so all the areas are maintain clean but we do not clean up the spider webs if it is not in the way as they are home to the spiders for example.We try to be aware that we are the visitors in this jungle.
Once again,thank you and hope you can come back again in the future and experience our improvements.
Yours Sincerely,
Anthony Chieng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you want a exciting family friendly way to experience the jungle this is an amazing place and well worth every penny. Staff are friendly , informative and helpful. The accommodation comfortable and situated in such a beautiful setting. Hammocks and day beds available to rest in while watching the afternoon rains teem down, while you are sheltered. The food was lovely and plentiful, activities included early morning sun rise over the canopy after climbing a thousand steps. So worth the view at the top and hearing the sounds of the waking wild life in the rain forest. Night time torch adventure up the water way to seek out creatures, hiding amongst the under growth, and tubing down the mini rapids after kayaking in the late morning sunshine. A truly wonderful experience which memories are made of.

Room Tip: We had the family suit which comprised of one double bed and two single with an on-suit. Plenty of space for my two teen aged daughters and I. We had a clear view of the river from our balcony where you could spend time resting on the day bed just soaking in the atmosphere.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anthonyhkchieng, General Manager at Ulu Ulu National Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Karry,
Thank you for your comments.Me and my team appreciate your time and effort to review us.We are only a small resort but we like to make sure the experience we provide will bring awareness to visitors how important a pristine natural enviroment is ,as it relaxes and rejuvenates.We have no internet connection or TV so families staying can connect with each other without electronic distractions.Do tell your friends about us .HAve a great day!
Yours Sincerely,
Anthony Chieng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Our expectations for this resort was not that high due to knowing the typical upkeep and maintenance of most our local touris spots and also having been to places such as Phuket, Bali and Kudat.
The typical boat ride from the jetty to temburong was normal. The smell of river, diesel engine and the occasional bumps were nothing to get excited about. From the temburong and batang duri jetty was another 20 mins car ride.
Once we reached the jetty and got into the long boat, the journey started to unfold. The lush mangrove began to change to a more River forest. River rapids begins to emerge. It created the ambiance that we're moving away from civilization. The smell of true rainforest perfumed the whole 30 mins journey to the resort.
What a mighty sight of the resort! Welcoming refreshing drinks from the 3 hour journey. We were escorted to our room. We'd the family room and it was more than we expected from the website. Clean, spacious and non existence of mozzies. We're in the middle of nowhere! Aircon was working. The bed linen was washed and no sight of dust. Toilet was working from the flushes to the wash basin. Indeed a resort in the jungle.
The food experience was more than accommodating for one to expect. Dinner was served Western ala-carte. Lamb, chicken and beef with side of vegetables on the grill. The night ended with a night trail and we were fascinated and yet surprised to see a non venomous snake and the mighty River python.
The resort is quite huge about nearly less than a kilometre stretch on the river front. It's quiet but that's the point with the music been orchestrated by the jungle animals, insects and the river rapids. There's a tv with selective dvds and lots of magazines and books for one to leisure into at the common room. But who needs those when you've nature to entertain you from the trail walks, kayaking, swimming or just lay around the hammock and thinking how tranquil the place is. In conclusion, for me as a skeptic local to be amazed with this resort is not purely coincidentally but more than enough to recommend this resort to all us Bruneians that green is here and here to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rizan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomchongtt, Guest Relations Manager at Ulu Ulu National Park Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Rizan L,

We are thankful and appreciative to see your comments. YES! We agree and hope that more local Bruneians will come to our resort and enjoy our fully inclusive packages and leave it with magical memories and deep appreciation for our pristine rainforest.

Do help us spread the word to the Brunei community that there is a great rainforest resort in Brunei, no need to fly overseas! Your comments as a local Bruneian tourist are important as your words will convince other local Bruneians.

See you again at Ulu Ulu Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

A combination of Amazing Experiences over the 3 days and 2 nights. Friendly guides. Very interesting speed boat ferry trip to Temburong.
A short drive out of town took us past some great sites which our guides chatted about.
The Long-boat trip to the lodge was fantastic. The guys are very skilled in getting you up river and over small rocky rapids. Arriving at the Ulu Resort deep in the Jungle was such a beautiful site and we were warmly welcomed.
Activities included kayaking, tubing, day and night walks to waterfalls and the best of all... the amazing canopy walk. Definitely do the early morning one to see the sunrise and hear the sounds of the Jungle.
Rooms are Stunning and way more equipped then one would expect to find in the Jungle.
Meals were superb and tasty. A great variety over the 3 days.
The best part of being out there is the Peace. No cell phone signal (fantastic).
Do expect to see Hectic rain! It is after-all the Rain Forrest.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews