We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best holiday ever.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carbonesca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Pian Di Cascina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carbonesca
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful two week family holiday at Pian Di Cascina. Everyone came back relaxed and happy, which is not an easy job with 15 and 13 year old children to please.

Pian Di Cascina is simply the most perfectly relaxing and beautiful of places for a holiday. The surrounding scenery is the best antidote to a hectic and busy lifestyle - it invites you to just stop and chill out. Which is precisely what we did.

That said we did plenty of sightseeing too, Gubbio, Assisi, Perugia and Orvieto are all worth a visit as are the caves at Frassassi and on hot days take a trip up Monte Cucco to the woods for a cool picnic. All of these trips were made easier thanks to the comprehensive information supplied by Paul and Isabel in each apartment.

The accommodation was spotlessly clean and well equipped with everything that you might need during your stay. The large swimming pool (again spotless) was well used by us all at different times of the day and never felt crowded or too noisy.

Take advantage of booking a lasagne for your arrival and have delicious bread and croissants delivered fresh for breakfast each morning, a real treat. However, our number one recommendation if you stay here is to eat at La Tavernatta. Isabel's cooking really is amazing and was the best food we had during our holiday. Its the reason we've booked to go back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kernow71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

As a family we have stayed in a number of similar types of property and I have to say that this was absolutely the best by far. The whole experience was 5 star and the food deserves a Michelin rating. During our week in Umbria we certainly did a lot of eating and drinking however the food and wine we had "back at base" was far and away the best...with the added bonus that it was just a small stumble in to bed!

The house was spotlessly clean (and for someone with a touch of OCD that is high praise!) Paul and Isabel are wonderful hosts and they made our family feel most welcome. I would definitely recommend Pian di Cascina for those with small kids as there is plenty to keep them occupied and they are not made to feel a nuisance to other guests. 5/5!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raggybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived late on Saturday night after a delayed flight into Rome. It was easy to find with a sat nav and the supplied directions.

We had a great nights sleep in the thick walled 4 bedroomed house. huge bathrooms.. 1 per bedroom. The house was spotless and robust.. something you appreciate with 2 children under 6.

Our children were keen to use the Large pool the next morning and with a handfull of other familys with young kids saying good morning and hi the whole place was very very safe and friendly.  our 2 year old loved the corner spash pool and outdoor shower.

High quality food in the restaurant on site was the finest we experienced all week. The truffle lasagnia is the best thing ive ever eaten !  

At the end of the holiday our Children said they loved the pool, the play area and the cable car in Gubbio. We loved the safe, high quality accommodation and outstanding hosts.  

I must also mention we picked up a slow flat in our hire car on the journey over. Paul arranged a foot pump then a local mechanic to have it fixed in less than an hour the next morning.. People like this can make your holiday. I would recomend a stay here to anyone wanting an amazing holiday in Italy.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jez999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We thought Pian di Cascina was lovely for a family holiday - even though our holiday didn't quite go as planned owing to my wife spending a week in the local hospital where she had her appendix removed!

In the (hopefully) unlikely event that future guests need to use the local hospital then we found Paul and Isabel very helpful and reassuring and the medical facilities at Branca hospital were very good. Pian di Cascina is the perfect place for rest and relaxation - whether in normal circumstances or when recovering from unexpected major surgery!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed in the Assisi, which is a two bedroom two bathroom house in a terrace of three other similar properties. The house was perfect for a family of four. It was clean and well equipped with a wonderful view of the Umbrian countryside from the terrace. The pool was cool and clean and within easy access of the houses. The location felt remote while at the same time safe and secure. There is plenty to see and do in the surrounding area. We had a lovely holiday and I would happily recommend Villa Pian di Cascina to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeDa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Pian Di Cascina, extremely peaceful in wonderful surrounds. We struggled a little to find it but once we had, had no problems getting back each day. I might suggest providing a set of coordinates to plug into a sat nav to make the initial find easier. We would highly recommend staying to anyone travelling in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed in the Cantina villa which is a 1 bed apartment. It's beautifully set up with loads of space in the living area and a lovely terrace. We had loads of toys provided for our 10month old baby and all the baby gear we needed. Paul & Isobel were the perfect hosts. We would thoroughly recommend it & would return ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DraperClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbonesca
3.3 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
558 reviews
10.3 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
9.8 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#3 of 23 in Gubbio
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 23 in Gubbio
592 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Montegranelli
9.8 mi away
Hotel Bosone Palace
Hotel Bosone Palace
#7 of 23 in Gubbio
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pian Di Cascina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pian Di Cascina

Address: Frazione Caresto 11, 06024 Carbonesca, Gubbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio > Carbonesca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carbonesca
Price Range: £45 - £715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing