We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience at this hotel”
Review of T & J Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
T & J Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flimwell
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at t & J motel for one night, very nice room all amenities and good breakfast delivered to room, friendly helpful staff. Stayed here after a friends wedding as many of the other reviewers. Only thing I would advise is that there are not many taxi services in the area and if going to a wedding and staying at the motel, do your research and book a reasonably priced cab beforehand

Room Tip: camping also available next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocokaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed here in Sept 2013: excellent; spacious room with desk, television and wireless internet; kitchen area with microwave, fridge, kettle, complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits; bathroom had good shower; clean throughout and good quality linen; friendly staff; less expensive than motel chains, and so very good value.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Waldo231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this motel on the 19th October (along with quite a few other family members) after attending a local family wedding.

The Room we had was suitable for disabled as it was on the ground floor and had great wheelchair access. The rooms are modern and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities.
It was one of the best nights sleep I have had due to the wonderful thick mattress on the bed.

The staff are extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble - special thanks to Christine and Colin who manage the motel.

We would definitely return to this motel if another occasion presented itself.

The Motel also welcomes campers and although we did not make use of the facilities on offer I would love to go back with a caravan in tow.

All in all a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a great quality but choose the disabled room if you have walking difficulties
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My partner and i stayed overnight at T&J Motel in July whilst in the area for a friend's wedding. It was the cheapest option we could find in the area but we were very pleased with our room which was spotlessly clean, spacious and had tea coffee etc, a TV , a comfy bed, nice shower, - everything we needed. In the morning my partner went down to reception to ask them to call for a taxi so he could pick the car up from where we had left it the night before but they insisted on driving him the 5 miles to go and get it.
If we needed a place to stay in this area again we would definitely be back. There is also the option to camp in the adjacent field, where you're allowed to have a campfire. It's a lovely area with lots to do nearby.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovelyveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2008

I found myself unexpectedly needing a bed for the night in the Hastings/Tonbridge area when plans fell apart. I was driving up the A21, getting increasingly worried, when I spotted the sign for this motel.

It is eccentric (has an American theme, which includes large figures of characters such as a US motorcycle cop around the grounds) but the exterior looked neat and tidy. The proprietor arrived at reception promptly after I rang the bell and was sympathetic with my predicament. I paid £36 for a single room in the main block. No lift, but only one flight of stairs.

The room was a very large double - huge amounts of space for bags etc. Well-used (but not scruffy) , fairly minimal but clean and warm. Small TV with digibox: slightly fuzzy picture. In the corner was a kitchenette, with kettle, sink, cutlery and crockery for two - more useful than the usual kettle on a tray. Tea and coffee provided. The bed was good enough for a reasonable night's sleep. No breakfast - hence the kitchenette, I suppose.

The downside was the en-suite shower-room. Again, clean and reasonably well-equipped (facecloths, little soaps, shampoo etc) for the price. But the shower unit was old and leaky (had to leave the bath mat to soak it up) and produced a pathetic squirt of (admittedly) hot water.

In the light of day I could see that there was a good children's play area and apparently they also offering camping in the summer.

Decent value for money and, apart from the shower, as good as some other hotels I've paid twice the price for. Not a place for a honeymoon or a week's holiday, maybe, but all you need when you're passing through.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandyLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flimwell
3.2 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
150 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
5.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
8.5 mi away
Smart and Simple Hotel
Smart and Simple Hotel
#10 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
227 reviews
11.4 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T & J Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T & J Motel

Address: Hastings Road, Flimwell TN5 7PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Flimwell
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flimwell
Price Range: £68 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT!Welcome to our recently refurbished family run Country Motel and Camping Park on the Kent and Sussex borders.It is set in 26 acres of rural countryside with wonderful views across Goudhurst and Kilndown. The Motel is situated on the A21 3 miles from Ticehurst, 6 miles from Wadhurst.Both Bedgebury National Pinetum and Bewl Water are within walking distance. We can accommodate for single, double or party bookings.Our campsite accommodates tents and motorhomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your T & J Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing