We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very adequate”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Babb
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thronson's General Store and Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Babb
VADNAIS HEIGHTS
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very adequate”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The motel met our needs and was a lot cheaper than staying in St. Mary. The TV only has one channel but they have a limited number of DVD's for free to watch. The carpet could have been cleaner but the rest of the room and bath were very clean. The restaurant across the street is owned by the same people and is an excellent place to eat, especially their huge breakfast omelet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOAN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    43
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
26
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
318 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 712 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I didn't stay at the Inn, we were at The Brown House in East Glacier Park, but we did stop in this little store and picked up some drinks and things. Babb is pretty much in the middle of NOWHERE, right south of the Canadian border, so the expectations are slim in this area. The store was as well stocked as it could be, with the shelves behind the register area, a nice nostalgic touch. All of the essentials are here, even the Ice Drinks which we were surprised to find. There is a very small selection of produce, meats and dairy products.

Note: If you need a room, you check in here at the store.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goatesians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed there for a couple of nights while we visited Glacier. We had stayed there before so we knew what to expect. The price had almost doubled since we stayed there 6 years ago or so but then so has everything else in the world. They have done some improvements like new flooring, paint and the like. Desparately need to replace the old stall shower although the water pressure was good. Bed was okay. Room was clean except for the onslaught of flies every night... don't know what was up with that. Staff was friendly and helpful. Love the old general store and the second hand/antique shop next door.

Room Tip: Upstairs on either end of the motel. We have stayed in both and they are spacious rooms with lots o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigSkyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

There were dead and dying flies on the floor of the bathroom and the carpet of the room. I was unclear on whether there was poison somewhere causing this. The shower stall seems to be makeshift, the water in the bathroom sink doesn't drain, and the room is incredibly bare - 99 plus tax is a lot of money for such poor quality and sometimes repulsive lodgings.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Shipra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Motel has all you need if you came to enjoy the outside and use the room just to refresh and sleep. Be aware no reception at all and one TV channel.. I think that is bliss!!! Also we had to get rid of at least 30 flies before we could settle in... but they provide a fly swatter in one of the drawers :) .... the store and dinner across the road is good and plentiful too. I also recommend to venture out to the restaurant ' Two sisters' and ' Johnsons' for dinner. We did not eat at the steak restaurant down the road, just had a night cap .. seemed a little pretentious, grand and hence sad to us. Hence we did not go for dinner there.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZwarteGoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We ended up here because our original plan to stay at the KOA in St Mary didn't work out as planned. I'm so glad we did. Unfortunately, there are not very many rooms available on the east side of Glacier, and prices tend to be higher due to that. We found this place through Trip Advisor, called and the only room they had available was a new cabin they built last year. It had two bedrooms, a full kitchen, living room with satellite TV, and washer and dryer. Much more than we needed for two of us, but the price was good for the area ($250) and it was getting late in the evening so we took it. The kids in the store that checked us in couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The cabin was located down the road a little bit about 200 yards behind the motel. We were very skeptical initially, but when we arrived and opened the door our jaws dropped simultaneously. Everything was new and modern, but still had that "log cabin feel". Being able to use the kitchen and washer and dryer was a welcome change on our long road trip. Would definitely recommend staying here, would be a great deal to split between 4 or 5 people. That is our plan for next summer!!

Room Tip: Stay in the new cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil and Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Thronson's motel was functional but nothing to write home about. The room was clean but looked pretty dated- and certainly not cute like some of the other motels we stayed in. TV says it gets one channel (though we didn't try it). The one positive surprise was that the room had a mini fridge in it. So... don't expect anything great, but it's close to the park and cheaper than many of the other options.

Room Tip: If you have heavy bags ask for a room on the first floor, since there's no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KW1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Babb
0.0 mi away
Dancing Bears Inn
Dancing Bears Inn
#2 of 6 in East Glacier Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Half Way Hotel
Half Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Essex
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Montana's Duck Lake Lodge
0.0 mi away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sears Motel and Campground
Sears Motel and Campground
#5 of 6 in East Glacier Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thronson's General Store and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thronson's General Store and Motel

Property: Thronson's General Store and Motel
Address: 89, Babb, MT 59411
Region: United States > Montana > Babb
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Babb
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Thronson`s General Store Hotel Babb
Thronson's General Store And Motel Babb, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing