We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slower than slow service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Desert Rose

Desert Rose
Ranked #9 of 47 Restaurants in Belgrade
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
726 reviews
496 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Slower than slow service!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We went here today for lunch. We realized it had been 2 years since our last visit. We had friends in town and went for lunch there and had not been back.
The food has been good when we finally get it. We have ordered a few different things and all have been tasty.
However the server, Willy is disorganized and slower then slow. She is the only one there and has mush to do all by her self. The cook was alone by the grill doing his thing.

One thing we noticed is that the way the burgers were cooked on an ever slow process was b/c the cook doesn't use any type of cover to help keep the heat in or add a touch of water and cover to produce a steamy sizzling burger. Any TV chef can or Youtube can show the process. It would sped things up and the food would still be good. I was a working chef for 20+ yrs.

We decided that even though the new location is nicer and much more user friendly it is still not somewhere we will return to anytime soon due to the consistency of the slow service.
If someone was on a limited time frame for lunch there time would be up before they got served!

Sorry Desert Rose, we like what you stand for but food is only part of the equation when dining out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Akershus, Norway
Level Contributor
193 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice little local place”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Tired and hungry we wandered into the Desert Rose... it ended up to be pretty good. Nothing fancy about the food, just simple. I had the stir fry veggie pasta and my husband had the bratwurst lamb burger which he report to be interesting and different. They also had a local musician who just played guitar which was nice and not too loud, just enjoyable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeliMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo,Fl
Level Contributor
137 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good foood ,great service.”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We asked our Motel manager what was the best Restaurant was near the Bozeman(Belgrade)MT Airport and their recommendation was the Dessert Rose . The Restaurants new locations had a very charming spacious rustic interior . We arrived just before the start of service for the evening meal a so we ordered their burger. It was outstanding. In fact the burger was one of the best we have ever had. The meat was excellent and it was cooked to perfection. Service was friendly and quick. We will have to return for an evening meal

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BunsenBurner40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great local food and owner makes bio-diesel!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Whenever I want an amazing local burger, whether it's a buffalo or regular one, I come to Desert Rose. I really like the owner, the staff, the environment, and the made-to-order food. I just read that the owner has been making bio-diesel and has been one of the largest suppliers of it in the Gallatin Valley for several years now. I believe he runs his restaurant heaters with bio-fuel for the winters as well. I highly recommend going here and supporting a local business and eating some awesome food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Homemade food and healthy options”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Food is very good and was nicely surprised when ordering chicken "nuggets" for small child that it came baked not breaded and fried and frest veggies with it. Lots of room and pleasant staff and cute decor

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonnieg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Desert Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing