We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect mix of relaxation and activity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lone Mountain Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lone Mountain Ranch
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect mix of relaxation and activity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

The cabins were warm and luxurious. The meals were fit for a foodie. And I learned to cross-country ski! A wonderful teacher - Martha - gave us a semi-private lesson and then we were able to ski around the property getting some exercise - and then lunch was so good... I had to ski some more, haha. We did the sleigh ride dinner which was amazing - the food, the entertainment and the stars showing brilliantly through the dark forest were unforgettable. They are willing to set you up with anything you want to do - back country snowshoeing, skiing, tours of Yellowstone and our guide (Andrea) was so knowledgeable and fun. I really hope to go back here again.

Room Tip: If you can get the 2 bedroom cabin its the best - separated from other cabins, has a cool fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7abitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    15
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
94
39
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

The sleigh ride dinner is a must do at Big Sky. Larry and Curly took us through snowy woods under a full moon to a beautiful candle lit cabin. The food was amazing and, by far, the best meal we had during our stay. Very romantic and a very special night. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLS10905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Truly enjoyed the dinner sleigh ride.
We brought our Granddaughters & made great memories. Your staff was friendly & fun! First Class! The facilities were clean & everyone was efficient & so nice. Enjoyed chatting with everyone, from the family atmosphere saloon, the guest check in, the hostess, the chef, the entertainment, The Cowboy Singer...
A perfect outing!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Grammy44_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

I give LMR 5 stars, but note that this is not a Four Seasons-type resort with highly luxurious rooms. It's a perfect place for those who love winter activities and want a warm and comfortable cabin. For the summer, we like Flat Creek Ranch near Jackson, WY because it's more isolated/smaller. We stayed in the Coyote cabin for our New Year's week visit, when the temps rarely topped 10 degrees. The only minor complaint is that the bathroom floor and tub was cold - a bath rug would be a great addition). Lots of windows, a nice wood burning stove, a comfortable living room and couch... Perfect.

If you come here in the winter, you are coming to be outdoors, and there are many groomed nordic ski trails for all levels, including advanced (want to ski up hill for 2 hours and then down for 45 minutes? You can do it here.) Wonderful groomed snowshoe trails too. We used the rental equipment and traded our skis for snowshoes and vice versa - a really nice touch that you can do that.

The outdoor center staff offers lessons (for a reasonable fee) and they are excellent teachers. You can also arrange backcountry ski or snowshoe trips in Yellowstone (a short drive). We also did the ranch arranged snow coach tour of Yellowstone - snowshoeing by Old Faithful and then through the park. Yellowstone in winter is worth the visit, even if you've seen it in the summer. Fewer people, more wildlife, and the snow highlights everything except the geysers.

Also recommended - the winter sleigh ride dinner on the ranch; dog sledding with Spirit of the North (about 30 minutes away in Moonlight Basin and LMR will give you a ride). If you downhill ski, the free bus comes to the ranch every hour and takes you to Big Sky or Moonlight Basin.

Food - buffet for breakfast and lunch, with sandwiches also available at lunch. Above average food. We are vegetarians and one is gluten free and the chef did an excellent job meeting these unique tastes. Small but warm saloon, although often not busy. They have live music some nights. Wine list is good and reasonably priced.

Cabins - I agree with other reviewers -pick yours based on the view and privacy you want. Also, some are a 5 minute walk from the lodge (and a few up a number of stairs). We stayed in Coyote and loved the privacy in the woods and the proximity to the trails. Big Horn looks great, right on the stream. Douglas Fir would have a great view but I'd rather stay there in the summer, not winter.... It's a hike. A few are kind of in the middle of everything - unless I wanted a shorter walk, they wouldn't have the privacy I'd want. A few are older... So, look at the map and talk with Elaine when you book. We got a 2 bedroom for 2 people and liked having the extra room for our stuff.

A few closing thoughts - it's a casual place in the winter. You just need your snow boots, no fancy shoes. In fact, you can't walk in the snow in anything but snow boots, so don't bother with the cowboy boots.... Don't look for TV - there aren't any (which is good in my book).

Get a massage from Nicki - she's been there over 20 years and is as good as anyone at any spa anywhere.

The wi fi is decent - not super fast but it works better than in the past, apparently.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Sky, Montana, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Lone Mountain Ranch is by far-the most incredible experience anyone could ever have! Beautiful landscaping, lodging, flyfishing, hiking, horseback guided trips, white water rafting, mountain biking, etc... You will have the most incredible dining experience ever! And the staff at Lone Mountain Ranch ROCKS!!!! I love you all!! Thank You!! Chef Johnny

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Fl
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Obviously the scenery is unbelievable. Really and totally spectacular. The staff is equal to the scenery. The wine list is notable, a broad selection of first class wines. The food is gourmet, and the staff willing to accommodate special dietary needs. The activity staff was superb, knowledgeable, accommodating and very caring. The Wranglers in particular were first class.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Coyote. It was wonderful. There is no TV, and poor cellular reception.But we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGPatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Central Indiana
Level Contributor
262 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We visited Lone Mountain Ranch. This was our 2nd dude ranch vacation. We enjoyed the location immensely. There are so many activities: horse back riding, fly fishing, white water rafting, hiking, mountain biking, etc. The food was always very good. But we are always comparing this to our visit dude ranch: Lost Valley. Perhaps we were a bit spoiled by our first experience. If this is your first dude ranch trip, you'll love it. But we preferred the treatment and the relationship we had with the staff at Lost Valley in Colorado. Good news: the new General Manager is the former GM of Lost Valley, so we're expecting great things from Bob in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoosierDady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
3.8 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
4.1 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.8 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
3.9 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Mountain Ranch

Property: Lone Mountain Ranch
Address: 750 Lone Mountain Ranch Road, Big Sky, MT 59716
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lone Mountain Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lone Mountain Ranch (LMR), situated on 148 acres in beautiful Big Sky, Montana, was first homesteaded in 1915 and has long been recognized as one of the premier guest ranch resorts in the country. The property consists of 30 rooms located within 24 unique cabins as well as a restaurant and saloon, pavilion, retail shop, equestrian facilities, and meeting spaces. Listed on the National Registry of the Historic Places, a member of the Dude Rancher's Association, an Orvis Endorsed Fly Fishing Lodge, a National Geographic Unique Lodge of the World, and once voted the #1 Nordic ski area in North America, LMR offers authentic accommodations, genuine Montana cuisine, exceptional service, and a stunning array of outdoor activities. Combine these attributes with close proximity to Yellowstone National Park, Big Sky Resort, as well as Bozeman Airport, and we believe the LMR guest experience is unlike any other in the American West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lone Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Mountain Guest Ranch Hotel Big Sky
Lone Mountain Ranch Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing